We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I have gone to Pillar and Post a number of times over the past 10 years. Each time we are impressed by the beautiful inn and its staff. First, visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake is like stepping back in time to an English village. You feel your body and mind unwind as you drive into the quaint village. Then as we arrive at Pillar and Post we both get a grin as we know we are in for a lovely, relaxing stay. The flower-filled Tuscan style lobby and reception desk set the tone for the whole inn- elegant but not stuffy, formal but very friendly. The hotel and restaurant staff, rooms, 2 pools and 2 hot tub/spas (you will have to ask how to get to the secluded outdoor spa on your first visit or you will miss a wonderful experience), and five star restaurant, The Cannery, plus the lounge, where the food is as good as the Cannery but less expensive and pub style, are outstanding! The only facility we have not used is the spa. We have been told by several other guests that it is an excellent facility though. We have been to the inn as a couple but have seen and spoken to families and wedding guests at the inn who have said they were also impressed by every aspect of the inn. On this last visit, my husband found a loose electrical outlet in the bathroom. We reported it to the desk as we headed to the indoor pool. By the time we returned to our room 90 minutes later it had been repaired and the management had left a note apologizing for the inconvenience and a bottle of wine. That is an example of their outstanding service. We will most definitely be returning to the inn as often as possible!

Room Tip: The basic "traditional" rooms are lovely but an upgrade to one with a fireplace is great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat1956_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your favorable review. It is great to see that our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful guest experience have been achieved. We appreciate all feedback and it is always nice to see a guest has enjoyed their time with us and in Niagara. We do hope to see you again in the future. If you do return to the area please be sure to advise that you are a repeat guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Pillar and Post for 2 nights as an escape from the every day "bustling". I must say our experience was excellent. The ambiance was very delightful. Staff was exceptional. Food at cannery was wonderful. The room was fabulous. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. We also enjoyed the local winery tours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kareen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our guest rooms and the service that you had received from our staff during your stay. It is always our goal to exceed all expectations so to hear that we did means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just arrived home from a two night stay in Niagara on the Lake. This is our second time staying at the Pillar and Post and it could not have been lovelier. The beds are incredibly inviting and comfortable. We were upgraded to a room with a fireplace and couch. The staff went above and beyond to meet our every need...be it directions, a newspaper in the morning or milk for our coffee. Each staff member we encountered was courteous and friendly. Although we did not swim the pool looked inviting and we could have had our choice of either yoga or pool exercises. We will definitely stay with you again next time. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulightT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words! I am so happy to see that you enjoy and appreciate all of our little added touches. We are very thankful to have such a wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests and their needs. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our first visit to the Pillar and Post, but not our first visit to the Vintage Hotels chain. I choose this particular hotel because of its rating on Trip Advisor for a romantic getaway destination hotel. My wife and I were not disappointed either. Our room was spacious, romantic, clean and perfect. As per my request upon booking there was a dozen long stem roses and a box of hand made chocolates waiting in our room for my wife which she loved. The staff at this hotel are excellent and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is perfect. There really isn't anything bad about this hotel except that they need to monitor the pool area. We found that even though there were signs posted stating children under 16 years of age are not permitted in the jacuzzi/hot tube there were. Some parents sat in the jacuzzi/hot tube with their young children while others let their young children play in the jacuzzi/hot tube unsupervised. This is an accident waiting to happen.
Since that was the only negative thing about this hotel I would have to say that we will be back and we would recommend that you stay there as well.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff exactly what you are looking for in a room and they will be more than happy to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel by far exceeded our expectations. The staff made us feel like their friends. Was there at all times for us. Service in all areas were wonderful. The food was excellent. Was a very relaxing trip for us and will certainly return. The hotel is close to the town. Easy to walk to if so desired.

Room Tip: The traditional room second floor is the best in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are very flattered by your compliments and your recommendation! We are so pleased that you love the Pillar and Post, and that we were able to exceed your expectations!! We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Pillar and Post for three nights in Niagara on the lake. This is our fourth time staying at this hotel. We have always found this property well maintained, clean and very comfortable. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff (which by the way is the norm at this hotel). Our room was ready upon arrival and it was gorgeous. We have stayed twice in the regular rooms and twice in the suites. The regular rooms are very nice but the suites are wonderful. Large rooms, Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Every night we arrived back at our room to a rose left on my wife’s pillow. (nice touch) Rooms were clean and very comfortable as well. We had lunch in the lounge which was quite good, a touch pricey but it always is when you use the convenience of the hotel restaurants. The hotel offers shuttle service to just about anywhere you want to go which I find extremely convenient and we have used it many times to take us to various vineyards and restaurants and bars at night. I cant say anything bad about this hotel, rooms wonderful, staff really caring and food is very good. I will stay here again and again. Thanks to all the staff at the Pillar and Post for making our weekend so enjoyable. Special thanks to Adrian for getting us around and doing it with style.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your favorable review. It is great to see that our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful guest experience have been achieved. We appreciate all feedback and it is always nice to see a guest has enjoyed their time with us and in Niagara. We do hope to see you again in the future. If you do return to the area please be sure to advise that you are a repeat guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

4 of us spent two days (1 night) at Pillar and Post for a girl's get away. Service excellent! Room was very clean and up to date. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The food is really good and the Spa was amazing.
Overall, we spent 1 full day using the amenities and we loved it! We left feeling relaxed! A stay at Pillar and Post with spa time was a great way to spend weekend!

Visited April 12-13, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our hotel and that you were able to enjoy your girls weekend away and take advantage of some time away from the everyday. It is our goal to exceed all expectations, so to know that we were able to do that for you, means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,608 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $200 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing