We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME BEDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great and quiet, classy and charming. Great staff - cater to your needs.
The rooms are great - fire place and comfortable cozy beds.
Sleep like a baby.
The TV and heat in winter are awesome - the fireplace adds a nice touch too.
Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your favorable review. It is great to see that our efforts to provide our guests with a wonderful guest experience have been achieved. We appreciate all feedback and it is always nice to see a guest has enjoyed their time with us! We do hope to see you again in the future. If you do return to the area please be sure to advise that you are a repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    437
    181
    73
    39
See reviews for
301
1,141
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson's Point, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We enjoyed our Spring visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake, as always....this Grand Dame of hotels still charms but is in need to some updating....I would keep the old bones for sure but bring in some modern touches here and there.....the front entrance should be modernized and updated..our room was comfortable and of a good size but we did not think it represented value for the sizeable overnight rate..I realize we are paying for location, location, location (not on the main strip in any event) but we have paid this much for much more luxurious outfits.....the room-service breakfast was first class! all of the staff were friendly and cheerful.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the room service and that you experienced wonderful and friendly customer service from our staff members. As for the decor, the Pillar and Post is known for its charm however, we are currently working on the appearance of the hotel and making several changes to be more appealing and better functioning for all of our guests. We very much appreciate all of your comments, we hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Put in Bay, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We attended a wedding at Pillar & Post Inn. We booked a room with an inside entrance and a fireplace. It was charming and wonderful. The hotel is very accommodating and the service is great. They have a hot spring that you enter through the spa. It was freezing outside, but the hot spring was so warm! The contrasting temperature was delightful. The inside pool was also quaint and comfortable. They have a workout room that is right next to the pool, the convenient location makes it very easy to work out in the morning. They have a free shuttle that will drop you off and pick you up anywhere. I would recommend this hotel to a friend or family member.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a fireplace suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We appreciate all your wonderful compliments about our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the hot springs and take advantage of some time away from the everyday. It is our goal to exceed all expectations, so to know that we were able to do that for you, means a great deal to our guest service team. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed on a promotion where you could book any room (or suite) for $119. What a deal! We reserved the room category one below the suite. We've stayed in a suite before, and I say this was just as good. The room was very comfortable, the pool and hot tub were fun, we had a drink in the bar next to the fireplace, etc. I really hate resort fees, which this property has, but hey can't complain when the room rate was $119. We had a fridgid walk to the Angel Inn for dinner, but it was nice to come back to a lit fireplace afterwards.

One bonus was, even though it was past new year's eve, the hotel was still decorated for the holidays -- they do a fantastic job making the property shine over the holidays. Kudos!

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost the standard rooms that have no external view (except into a hallway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Lovely entrance if a little dated in appearance. Check in was fine. Started with a room that had no heat. Maintenance came and fixed it but had to change into evening wear in 60degrees!!! Spa experience was excellent but bill got very confusing and had to go to main lobby to fix it - quite a hike in a robe! Went to brunch which was very good. Excellent service overall

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Newfiemd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Pillar and Post. As we are always striving for ways to improve and enhance the experience of our guests, we will be looking into the room you stayed in and checking the heating unit, to ensure this does not happen in the future. Please accept our apology for this, thank you again for your important feedback and we can't wait to welcome you back to the Pillar and Post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here mid-week so it was very quiet. Absolutely loved the decor, rooms, service and the hot springs were lovely. In the morning I went to use the pool but it was being used my a water-aerobics class, and the sauna wasn't working. So I called down to the front desk and they gave us a free breakfast to compensate. A bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and appreciation! We are thankful to have such a great team working with us who understand the importance of the little details for our loyal guests! I am so pleased that despite a few concerns you had, that our guest service team was able to change your experience. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our third time staying at this Vintage Hotel — loved our location in the newer Spa building rooms. Travelled with children and they also enjoyed the quieter pace and pool.
We loved the outdoor adult whirlpool in winter — peaceful, surreal with mist and enjoyable even with -15° temperatures! Very picturesque scenery! Self-serve hot tea available by poolside appreciated!! Access to spa washroom with amenities is appreciated.

Touches included Complimentary Chateau du Charme bottle of wine, cheese and cracker plate as well as freshly-baked cookie plate! Thank you!!

EXCELLENT bedding and comfort!! Extra large bathroom for sharing! Our in-room safe did not work. Serviced within minutes of calling; maintenance replaced the safe. Loved that windows open!! Stairwells with padded carpeting and well-lite to get around rather than always taking elevator. Very clean and maintained.

Room Tip: Room 352 in Spa Wing is very quiet; and stairwell takes you start to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing