We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Gataway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Pillar and Post to celebrate my partners birthday. I can not say enough. From the room to the service in the restaurant to the spa the experience was incredible.
It was his first visit to a spa and we are both looking forward to going back.
We purchased the dinner package and had dinner at the Queen's Landing. I can not say enough about the food or service. I would highly recommend adding their dinner package the value is incredible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,769 - 1,775 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I took advantage of a special offer including one room night (standard room had two large comfy beds beautifully dressed), dinner from special menu (and they subbed in a veggie meal for my vegetarian daughter, graciously), complimentary passes to wine tour... etc. We had a fabulous weekend and were impressed by the value of the deal. We discovered that The Winter Wine Festival was on too! I LOVE the historic building, however had to drive into town. This is not really a drawback however, as it is quieter than staying right in the village. I had not visited NOTL for many years and enjoyed rediscovering it. Also recommended is a visit to "Cheese Secrets" in town, where we had a cheese, olive oil and aged vinegar tasting, for $25.00 per person and included a $20 in-store coupon each, which we used to buy the best cheeses I have ever tasted. My daughter went on the ghost walk Saturday evening, also recommended. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited The Pillar and Post to celebrate a family wedding and I was more than pleased with our experience. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful from the get-go. Our room was clean and comfortable and the rose on the pillow each night was a nice touch. The pool is incredible....perfect temperature and very clean, as are the hot tub and sauna. We regret not having enough time to visit the hot springs because we were just too busy. Next time for sure! The only complaint I would have (and this is very nitpicky!) is that the hair dryer was very old and took about 4 times as long to dry my hair as a more recent dryer would have. This being said, I could not have asked for a nicer stay and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review. Please be assured that all comments are important to our success. We will look at our hair dryers and style as we look to replace them in the new season. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our facility. I will share your kind comments with the engineering team who maintain the pool quality and temperature earnestly through out the day and year. Thank you for choosing the Pillar & Post and we certainly cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is just for the restaurant in the bar/lounge as no listing for it.

Wife and I plus 2 friends had an excellent fish and chip special - $9.95 each. Unusually a tilapia as the fish but excellent. Batter light and crisp. Was busy but Larry the waiter did an excellent job.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mhharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having just returned from our two night stay at the Pillar & Post Inn where our daughter was married, we could not have asked for a more wonderful place. It's hard to believe that some previous guests have had such negative feedback from their stay. Our only negative comment would be that they charge more than $10/day for use of their internet in your room. They do offer internet service in another part of the Inn but it would be more convenient to use it in your own room.
Our king size bed was extremely comfortable and our bathroom was very nice and modern and not like something out of the 70's like a previous reviewer said. We had several family members who stayed at the Inn and they all loved their stay. Our daughter's room was huge with a separate sitting room with fireplace and the bathroom was amazing with a separate shower and a jacuzzi tub.

The wedding coordinator, Sandra could not have been more helpful and even helped us pop a cork on our champagne bottle on the morning of the wedding while all of us ladies were getting our hair and makeup done!! She went out of her way to make sure that the evening before and the day of the wedding went smoothly...and it did! Thank you Sandra!!

The set up for the Inn can be a little confusing at the beginning but once you got your bearings, it was easy to find your way around. The pool was a nice retreat prior to the rehearsal evening but the temperature of the pool could have been a smidge warmer.

The dinner at the wedding was wonderful and the staff were prompt and very courteous. The Brunch at the Cannery the next morning was very good with quite a few choices. Pricing was comparable to other places with similar choices.

Thank you Pillar & Post for providing a wonderful spot for our daughter's "special" day!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you so much for kind review. Congratulations to your daughter on her special day and I am so happy that we were able to make this special event memoreable for you, your family and guests. Thank you for choosing the Pillar & Post for this very special day and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is our second consecutive year of staying at The Pillar and Post Inn. We stayed for 3 nights as we really enjoy dining at all the restaurants the Vintage Inns have to offer (The Cannery, Tiara dining room and the Escabeche dining room). We thoroughly enjoy all our meals and the service is superb. The courtesy van is an added bonus to get around.
Niagara-on-the-lake is great place to relax after a busy holiday season, and the Pillar and Post is the ideal accommodation. We stayed in a Premium King room which is very spacious and comes complete with a fireplace which is great to cuddle up to after a day of cross-country skiing and share a great bottle of wine from one of the fine wineries in the area and some artisan cheese. The only reason I did not give a 5 star rating was our room was a little tired looking. Both the main area and the washroom could use a good coat of paint and sprucing up. The rose on the pillow was a nice touch each night even though my wife got perturb that it was not on her side of the bed :-).
My wife had a reflexology appointment at One Fountain Spa and raved about the treatment.
All in all a great time and we are for sure returning next year, if not to relax then to restock our wine supply!

Room Tip: Rooms above the Spa area are quieter with less traffic and provide quick access to indoor pool and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been going to Pillar & Post for quite some time, my opinion regarding the Hotel, service,
rooms (the beds are excelent) but what I have been finding from year to year is the dinner use to be much better. until now this has not made me not to go but a change would make the the night perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EULALIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Happy New Year! Thank you for your candid review. We will definately Look at our menu for next New Years and take your comments into consideration. We will do every thing possible to add variety and assure quality for all our repeat guests and those visiting us for the first time.
All the best for 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,608 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $200 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing