We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY NEW YEARS EVE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MY NEW YEARS EVE”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been going to Pillar & Post for quite some time, my opinion regarding the Hotel, service,
rooms (the beds are excelent) but what I have been finding from year to year is the dinner use to be much better. until now this has not made me not to go but a change would make the the night perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EULALIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Happy New Year! Thank you for your candid review. We will definately Look at our menu for next New Years and take your comments into consideration. We will do every thing possible to add variety and assure quality for all our repeat guests and those visiting us for the first time.
All the best for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    443
    183
    75
    39
See reviews for
306
1,154
23
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great time in our cozy fireplace room. We checked in and then walked to the other Vintage Hotel for tea! Although the pilot light in the fireplace needed to be relit by staff we were happy that the situation received quick attention and we had a nice fire for the entire evening. We enjoyed the outdoor hot springs and then loved watching a movie and ordering room service. The customer service and historical ambiance are amazing - We will be back again within the year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, would have given 5 stars if not for a few little things. Beautiful property for those who appreciate a little history as it was a cannery in its hay day that has been converted to an inn. Queen E 2 has also been a guest here. Room, food at the Cannery restaurant, and amenities such as heated saltwater pool, gym and outdoor hot springs were excellent. This was our first time in a hot spring, which was especially enjoyable in winter conditions. The complimentary shuttle to the main shopping street was a nice touch. We got the queen room with fireplace. It was comfortable and quite large as compared to an average hotel room. Will definitely visit here again or one of the other Vintage inns.

Room Tip: Rooms with a fireplace are very cozy with one disadvantage. Pilot flame is quite bright, and may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This INN claims to be 5 star but I won't give them even 3 star!!!
My husband booked this hotel for a surprise anniversary weekend in July 2012 and unfortunately his surprise trip totally wrong. He got a wine tour weekend deal and chose this hotel as he thought it would be a romantic cozy hotel with character. Well, we entered the lobby and my first impression was that decoration is outdated but charming. When we entered the room, it was so outdated, dark and damp looking that I couldn't hide my disappointment from my poor husband, who had pre-ordered champagne and choccolate covered fruit! I asked him how much he has paid and when he told me the price I was shocked (just a bit shy of 500 dollars for two nights!!!) I picked up the phone and demanded to talk to the manager and expressed what I think of the room and how unacceptable the room is. The bathroom hasn't been touched since 1970s. The bed mattress was from those years as well. The decoration was old and shabby. By no means this was a 5 star room not even for an INN!! They upgraded us to another room, supposedly better and but still not even close to what we usually get with the same amount of money in Canada!! The only difference was that this old outdated room had windows facing the pool and had some more natural light coming in. However, we had to put up with kids screaming in pool and at night the music blarring through our window from a wedding that was held there. There was nothing romantic about this hotel and it badly needs renovation! The pool was absolutely average and so crowded that we decided to not bother with it. The indoor pool was out due to renovations! The hotel was stuffy and dark. The location is 15 mins walk to the main street in Niagara on the Lake. We were disappointed to the point that we didn't really enjoy our trip. The only good thing was the breakfast, which was served in a german looking room and the buffet spread was very nice and the staff were accomodating. II would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeryPickyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thankyou for your candid review. Please be assured that since your stay in July we have had many updates to our property. I am truly sorry that your stay did not live up to your expecations. I am happy to update our guests that since your stay we have completed the renovation and upgrade of 46 bathroom in our main wing and 32 bathroom room renovations in the Spa wing. Early this new season will see the final completion of the remaining 46 bathrooms. We have replaced all public hallway carpets and completed the replacement of all our bedroom mattresses mid season. Amongst many other projects I can assure you that 2013 will bring further proerty updates as we continually strive to improve. Thankyou so much for your honest feedback. It is critical to our future success.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed Dec 27 th for a much needed break, was highly recommended by friends. Upgraded to a larger room for our anniv ,booked spa txs and dinner pkg. Arrived at Cannery restaurant for our 8pm reservation,was informed table not avail for another 20 mins could we go to the bar for a drink. Told the gentleman fine we will go back to our room for a drink and how about you call us when you are ready.Sounded simple enough ? waited till 8.45 pm with no call so went back to the restaurant, oh sorry its still going to be 10 more mins we were informed !! Finally 9.10pm we were seated and asked by our server at 9.20pm would we like a drink , 1.5 hrs after our original reservation !!! Finally got our meals ,husbands was delicious, mine was seafood covered in a bland sauce which our server told us they always get the sauce on the side as its not the greatest ,so needless to say i didnt finish my meal. Finally our bill arrived and my husband was charged $21 for his glass of wine when he had ordered a house glass for approx $7 ( we had been drinking wine all day, purchased lots for our room) why would i spend that much on 1 glass, i would have purchased a bottle for that amount !! We said it was a mistake and she argued its what he ordered. We come to NOL several times a year for wine events so we know our wines , we were very disappointed that our anticipated special evening did not go as planned. We were the last couple to leave the restaurant ,did not receive an apology for the long delay for our table and surprised with our servers customer service. Paying close to $800 for the stay we really expected alot more from the Pillar and Post.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillypod23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

For the most part the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar was under-staffed both times we were in (30th & 31st). The staff were hurried and hence could not provide relaxed service. Our room was clean and spacious. We did find it very hot. I ended up putting the air conditioning on and opening the window. Even then it was still quite warm. The indoor pool and spa area were very nice. Our New Years Eve Dinner at the Cannery was really nice. Food was great and all the staff we dealt width were excellent. We had breakfast at the Cannery on the 1st and again all the staff were very great. I booked on-line directly with Pillar and Post and was disappointed when finding out from other guests that they had booked through “travel websites” and had gotten room & dinner deals. I don’t recall every having that option when booking through the P&P website. The outdoor hot tub is great. Wonderful atmosphere. P&P need to enforce the “no glass rule” more aggressively. When we were out there one guest had a wine glass and there were five empty glasses sitting off to the side. A maintenance staff member came outside to check on the hot tub but did not pick up the glasses ..... or say anything to anyone for that matter. The spa is a quality facility. Staff were friendly, efficient and professional.
The town and/or merchants need to be a little more conscientious about snow removal from the side-walks. The town is great to walk around and shop but very difficult to navigate when most side-walks are a mess.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wapp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPILLAR, General Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your honest and candid review. Thank you for your many kind comments about your service, food and our facility. I do agree about the no glass policy and we as a team will work harder to make sure this policy is enforced. Although New Years was so successsful and seemingly one of our busiest New Years Eve in a long time it seems there were some areas we could certainly improve. We will take the time to review your comments and our service during this time and make all the necessary adjustments for next year. Have a great 2013 and thank you again for your kind and candid review.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband surprised me with a short, two day getaway to niagara on the lake! I had only previously gone to niagara falls! It was such a nice change. Such a beatifully, romantic hotel! Our first day there we wore our bathrobes the entire day! We had an excellent couples massage! We spent hours in the salt water pool, relaxed in the hot springs that was just fabulous! We had a fire place in our room that added to the romantic ambiance. The next morning we decided to do a wine tour, even though it is winter time. Just our luck, we were the only two on the tour! We had the entire trolly to ourselves and a lovely tour guide who took us to three different wineries. All in all it was a wonderful hotel that is perfect for a romantic getaway! A must visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace if your there in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IshiINtheCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing