We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel private, quiet rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lovely hotel private, quiet rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a nice relaxing stay here. The room was very quiet and dark allowing for an excellent rest. The bed was comfortable. My only complaint was the price of a standard room is quite high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    433
    181
    72
    39
See reviews for
297
1,122
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a great stay room was big a little an the dark side it was located on the wing above the spa there spa was great nice outdoor pool and the outdoor man made hots prings was nice to relax in after dinner. staff was great even got a shuttle to our dinner .
will go back room the hotel was better then the food !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Pillar and Post met our expectations and in some instances exceeded them. The rooms were beautiful and had lots of character. The Cannery Restaurant was excellent - our compliments to the chef and his staff for providing us with high quality meals! Our dinner was held at Reif Estates Winery, catered by P&P. We rode over by trolley and the driver (Bob) gave us a knowledgeable narrative of NOL. Once we arrived at Reif, we were greeted with hors d'oeuvres and white wine followed by a very informative tour of this lovely winery. Each food station was located in a different areas of the winery with appropriate wine samplings. A fabulous striploin beef dinner was served by candle light in the wine barrel cellar finished off with delicious ice wine and dessert. What a fantastic and memorable evening! Special thanks to George, his colleagues and P&P for a job well done!
The service at P&P was very good but I would recommend that when a group arrives, a bellman be outside holding the door open and have a few bellman ready to help with the luggage. Some areas could use paint touch ups and minor repairs but overall it's a very charming Inn which left our group favourably impressed...I highly recommend it!
Eva - Toronto

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We held our London Regional Cancer Program Conference at Pillar and Post on Friday, June 8th to Sunday, June 10th, 2012. What an absolutely incredible experience we received! From greeting us at the front main desk to our conference held in the Upper Canada Hall, it was perfection! We were so pleased with everything that we are returning next June. Vladimir, Conference Services Manager was very professional and took care of every last detail for us. In fact all of the staff were very professional and helpful. The conference room (Upper Canada Hall) was incredible. We cannot say enough about the food! Everything was fantastic! Their new Chef is also to be commended. What talent! The rooms are beautiful and clean. The rose on the bed is a very nice touch ... All those special details are what make the Pillar and Post such a perfect venue for our conference. The only item that was mentioned by others in our conference was the lack of Hi-Speed Internet/Wi-Fi in the Upper Canada Hall (conference room). Even in their rooms, the service was very slow and this was a bit of an issue. Otherwise, everything was perfection and we look forward to returning to Pillar and Post next June. Sincerely, Wendy Murphy, Conference Facilitator, LRCP

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise. All the rooms are very bright and beautifully decorated. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel looks beautiful. Polished stone floors and a beautiful entrance hall. The service and the rooms unfortunately are not quite so good. Considering the price paid for a room we were very disappointed. The room we had was on a dark corridor with windows that looked out onto the corridor. Not only that but all we could hear was a loud buzzing noise. I phoned reception and they said they would investigate. 20 minutes later I phoned reception after realising it was the ice machine and asked them why they hadn't got back to me and couldn't they turn it off. They offered a new room and said they couldn't turn off the machine as there wasn't a maintenance man in the hotel that night. (I didn't think it was that difficult to pull out a plug). We had already got ready for bed so had to pack everything up and sit and wait. After a further 20 minutes my partner went looking for someone and found a security man who gave us a key to an equally dark and unprepossessing room and said that he had told reception what the problem when we first rang but she had simply refused to tun it off. She didn't have the courtesy to get back to us and tell us that though and i had to call them twice. Not the service you expect at a hotel like this. In addition to this, coffee was given in the room but no tea and had to be bough from the bar. Not something I am used to in these hotel rooms. I have had better service in a Premier Inn. The following morning I was asked about our stay and when I explained they said sorry but they couldn't do anything about it as we had prepaid for the room; then proceeded to charge me the bar bill. They could have offered recompense from that so were clearly not that sorry. Very poor service indeed.

Room Tip: Try Stagecoach in Niagara on The Lake for a really good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaan6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The rooms were dark, there were loud people at the pool.
It was not romantic or 5 star inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erika1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We went here for our anniversary...it was nice (not long enough though). The room was nice and clean...adequate size...no issue. The Cannery restaurant was good - food was high quality.

My husband's steak was overcooked...he was honest about it and they took it back - no questions (no charge)...replaced with a new one. Service in the restaurant was really great actually.

Front desk was okay. I asked for a late check out (1pm instead of 11am) because my husband and I were going for a golf round first thing in the morning and thought it would be nice to come back and shower before departing. We were told "no". I would have liked a bit more flexibility on that, especially for the price we were paying. I can understand if the inn is fully booked for the next day but that wasn't the case (as I had inquired about an additional night and they had availability.

We booked spa appointments and the only thing I requested was a female therapist for my husband's massage. He ended up with a burly man! I asked how this could have happened (as they called the day before to confirm that he had a female)...they seemed clueless - said there was nothing written/noted on the account and made no concessions for us. Why ask what you prefer then???

I was a bit disappointed overall but I would like to go back...if it is the same a second time around...then they lost my business unfortunately...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_travels118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Property: The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing