We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dallavalle(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charles Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,213)
Filter reviews
2,214 results
Traveler rating
1,391
491
202
89
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
491
202
89
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscannery restaurantoutdoor poolprime ribget awaymy husband and iwine barshuttle servicevintage hotelsturn down servicecouples massagesteam roomdeluxe roomromantic getawaywedding anniversaryprince of walesgas fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,057 - 2,062 of 2,214 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This customer feedback will have the tale of two stories.

We attended the Pillar and Post to celebrate my girlfriends 30th birthday. A milestone that would not be forgotten regardless of the celebration but this one is guaranteed to stick with us.

We stayed at the Pillar and Post and had a wonderful evening. The room was great, the staff were exceptional and the 100 Fountain Spa was exactly what we needed. A little bit of peace and relaxation. Definitely on the list of recommendations.

And now on to story number two, the ugly child if you will.

We celebrated the birthday by going to the restaurant Escobeche at Pince of Wales, and this is where the serious let downs began.

The food was quite good and cooked to our liking but it was not good enough to overlook the awful customer service that unfortunately will linger in our minds.

We were seated at a table that was dripping water from the ceiling. After being splashed a couple of times, we were able to gain the attention of the sommelier. The sommelier then saw it fit to turn our table putting us in the middle of an aisle offering no apology or a pleasant message of any. We were putting him out by not wanting to sit indoors in nice clothing under a plaster filled water fall. He left leaving us with a table wet from ceiling water and the water he spilled from our glasses when he turned the table.

We eventually were able to gain the attention of the person whom I assume was in charge thinking , ok, this will be solved, not a huge problem, I was wrong. It was like we asked for the moon. After putting up a convincing argument of why we needed to be moved, (the restaurant was quite empty), we were shuffled over to a table that was on the seam of two separate rooms.

The table was like a see-saw rocking back and forth. The waitress who was quite lovely, noticed this and did her best to push it back and forth trying to find a flat spot. After giving up and once again leaving our dinner table soaking wet with spilt water from overfilled glass, we decided to ride out the storm and eat on our fingertips. Eating the steak was an absolute disaster.

The final straw that has caused this to be a memorable for the wrong reasons birthday meal, was the ruined atmosphere.

An overly obnoxious and intoxicated group of 6, who were still being served alcohol, decided the best was to communicate was to yell back and forth and the same table. For approximately 30min, they even had a guest at their table via a cell phone speaker phone, whom was able to talk to all of them as they yelled across the table into a phone. It was quite apparent to everyone in the restaurant, including the staff that this was truly unbelievable. There were multiple looks passed between the staff, however absolutely nothing was done.

It is truly unfortunate that after a great weekend at the Pillar and Post and the spa, it was ruined by this horrible dinner experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesInn, Guest Relations Manager at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Pillar and Post. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your girlfriend’s 30th birthday with us and that you were able to take advantage of our spa facilities.

In response to your dinner celebration at the Escabeche Restaurant, please accept our sincere apologies for the service experience your encountered. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and our service team at Escabeche has since been coached on the areas that you have mentioned as well as our Vintage Hotels’ service standards.

Thank you again for your comments, as they are essential in assisting us to ensure that we consistently meet and exceed the expectations of all of our guests. I truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to both the Pillar and Post and the Prince of Wales in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We were undecided as to where to celebrate our 25 anniversary and decided on Pillar and Post. Are we ever glad we did ! We booked the suite for Friday and Saturday evening and had decided upon dinner package for Saturday night. The front desk personnel at check in were very friendly and explained everything to us as this was our first time at The Pillar and Post. The Inn as well as our room were spotlessly clean. The rose in the room each evening was a great touch. We found the room to be impeccable. We decided to have breakfast both days in The Cannery and the Eggs Benedict were incredible. On Saturday evening before supper we had a drink in the Vintages Wine bar and the service and atmosphere were great. Our dinner package allowed us to choose anything off the menu and again the food and service were superb. On Sunday we had the buffet and again were amazed at the quality of food and service. For anyone deciding where to stay in NIagara On The Lake we would highly recommend The Pillar and Post. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This was an exceptional experience from the moment we checked in. We were up-graded to a better room as soon as we told the desk clerk we were celebrating our anniversary. Our supper meal was exraordinary. Our server" Kelli" went out of her way to explain the items on the menu and suggest an excellent local wine.
Our room was fantastic. While we were having supper someone came into our room and left a rose for my wife, and turned on some delightful music. The sleep experience was superb. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Our server "Pat" made sure we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFradkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Pillar and Post. My experience with the Vintage Inns over the years has surpassed many of my needs and expectations when travelling. My partner and I were pleasantly pleased with all the services available to us, the atmosphere and welcome by the staff was refreshing. Our room was beyond what we expected; so comfortable and relaxing. Dinner at the Cannery was lovely from the atmosphere to the professional pleasant service, to the wine selection; our meal was amazing and plentiful. Brunch the following morning was a relaxing Sunday morning with choices beyond our expectations. This vintage inn is truly a gem and I wish I had experienced it sooner. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: A room with pool courtyard view is recommended
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdlouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were two couples travelling to the area to catch a show in Niagara Falls and then dining at Hillebrand Winery for dinner. We had booked online and requested an early checkin so that we could get settled before heading into Niagara for our concert. When we arrived at noon, our rooms were ready to go and we quickly got settled.

My husband and I have been to the Pillar and Post a few times but it was years ago. Upon our return we found that nothing had been updated or renewed. The hotel still holds it’s cozyiness, which is it’s biggest appeal for me but it does need to be refreshed a bit. The carpets are badly worn and the rooms are a tad on the dull side. Doors and hallways need a bit of sprucing as well. Nothing to deter you from booking, just an observation.

What the rooms lack in luster is easily made up for in service. Our housekeeper was extremely pleasant and helped us get some additional wine glasses, promptly and with a smile. Our breakfast waitress was bubbly and very good at her job. The most notable team was the front desk. Check in was extremely pleasant. The evening staff was amazing.

We had requested a cab of our party to go the winery for dinner. The cabbie in turn told us that is was a flat rat and charged us $30 + tip for a 7 km ride. Not knowing the area, we paid him and enjoyed our dinner. He gave us his card to call him for a return trip. Instead, we asked the restaurant hostess to call a cab for us. The return trip was metered and came in at $18 + tip. This upset us to know that we were taken advantage of as guests of the hotel. When we got back to the hotel, we made a point to tell the front desk that their cab company is taking advantage of their guests. At first there was a lame description about where the cab originated from. We felt we had made our point and left it at that. Ten minutes later, Peter from the front desk team, called our friends room and informed him that he had spoken with the cab company and apologized for the incident. A few minutes later, an envelope with the difference (in cash) was placed under the door. Amazing! Great service and made all the difference in our opinion of the hotel.

Breakfast the next morning was good. We opted to not eat at the buffet and ordered off of the menu. The buffet looked good but we just would not eat enough to justify the cost.

The pool and hot tubs looked inviting but we were there too short of a time to enjoy them.
For the money, we will probably try another hotel in the area next time but we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Travel_With_Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews