We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dallavalle
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late at night with no reservation until the next day. The Gate House, which was in townn, had rooms available. No elevator, but staff did help us carry the bags upstairs, without us asking for help. The first room had curtain falling down and broken lamp. They were quick to move us to another room and extended our check-out until 1 pm. Funky decor, but immaculate, and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was served on white linen in beautiful dining room---very fresh fruit, croissant, cheese, and ham. Except for the cost, we felt we made a very wise last minute choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went here a couple of days ago with my husband. We paid roughly the same price as you would if you were to eat at a winery. In my opinion, go to the wineries! My husband ordered the gnocchi and beef which was okay, nothing special. I ordered the risotto and lamb shank. Oof! The risotto was okay and the veggies were good, but that lamb! Tough, bland and purple. It was so plain and awful that we didn't stay for dessert.

Our server was also...okay. He honestly did not care if we were there or not.

It was quite disappointing that nothing in their menu that highlighted local produce. Not even their wine was local and they are located in wine country.

To sum up, take an Italian restaurant that is "safe" for tourists, elderly theatre goers and that's what you get. Overpriced, bland food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Graca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

While the front of the location is nice looking and directly on Queens Street, once you get your room you may be disappointed as we were. The room is very old. Caulking is broken in the bathroom, furniture is old and outdated and frankly, ugly. The curtains in our room were broken and I asked the front desk if someone could come and try and fix the blinds. No one came. The front desk had so many different people working at different times, no one seemed to know what was happening. But the most important part of our problem was they made a pre-authorization on our credit card when we checked in and held our card's money. Then when we checked out they used put money on A DIFFERENT CARD and basically made an error. Long story made short, our credit card was not usable for at least 72 hours, therefore they locked up our card while we were on vacation. When we went back to the hotel to sort out the issue, the management figured out what had happened but did not even offer an apology, a dinner, nothing. It was ridiculous. I would never tell anyone to go here! Prices are way too high for the accommodation and the service. We had much better rooms and rates at other hotels in town. LOOK ELSEWHERE! Don't choose the Gate HOUSE!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely, lovely location and grounds. Problems in order of occurrence: (1) no one offers to help with luggage; (2) Wifi is non-functional. You might get lucky and be able to log onto their wifi, but I guarantee you won't be able to access FB, your email if there is anything past simple text, or heaven forbid Trip Advisor; (3) room was furnished in IKEA lite with an average mattress. In fairness, the bathroom was clean and updated. (4) I agree with the other reviewer about breakfast. It is generous, but does not vary one iota over multiple days. We did not eat lunch or dinner there so I cannot advise. Now, if this property were charging about half of what it does, I would forgive all but the wifi. But this is billed as a high end boutique hotel, and they don't begin to deliver. I would advise looking elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Linda1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with friends . We had booked a month or so prior and had to change the reservation from 2 rooms to one when we checked in. Staff made this adjustment and the only change in cost was for the 3rd person in the room. We found the room to be very comfortable, spacious, and quiet. Breakfast is included in the price, and was tasty and healthy and fresh consisting of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese and a lovely fresh croissant, orange juice and coffee. there is ample parking in their lot adjacent the building.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemima18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Meal was delicious, gnocchi with pork and as was the Ceasar salad
Stayed at York Rd. Hilton. Many bed and breakfast facilities. wineries were totally super and soooooo many. Will return! Thanks to Regent and his driver for our carriage ride.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank egallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of The Gate House Hotel can not be understated, in the midst of the main street in Niagara on the Lake, you are in the thick of the beautiful avenue of plants, manicured lawns, quaint shops and restaurants, smiling people, a block from the Lake, lovely.

When booking they take a $100 deposit - in this day and age when every other hotel I have stayed in over the last 30+ years have taken a card number to guarantee the booking - was a surprise. On check in the gentleman on reception was in a very stressed state, made us feel as if we had arrived at an inconvenient time! No offer of assistance with bags.

The room was good, very clean, good size, nice to see two comfortable easy chairs and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

The free Wifi was not working, we mentioned this to the duty receptionist (who double up as waiters with the phone on the tray they were serving you from) they said they would get it sorted, when asked again if it is working they had forgotten to do anything and said they would tell someone, I doubt if they actually have Wifi as they had no intention of sorting it out.

Breakfast was a plate of mixed items, no cereal, no toast, nothing cooked, but a very polite smiling waitress with a phone!

No tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The guest information book opens with a front page of a place called Bari in Italy - curious for an hotel in Canada! the information did offer dialling codes but no prices for phone calls, did offer tea and coffee from reception but no prices and really would you fancy wandering around an hotel in the middle of the night looking for tea in your PJ's - my husband is a nocturnal tea drinker.

The lack of service, lack of facilities, lack of Wifi, poor breakfast makes this Hotel at $220 per night a very expensive option.

Room Tip: check out the B&B's they may offer better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AMWBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,789 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dallavalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dallavalle

Address: 142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly The Gate House)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $171 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dallavalle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dallavalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
The Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing