We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel... but a few less-than-fabulous fellow guests”
Review of Queen's Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen's Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel... but a few less-than-fabulous fellow guests”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Queen’s Landing for a night over the Family-Day weekend, and found it to be a gorgeous, luxurious hotel that nonetheless felt charming. It is, however, VERY expensive, and we were very happy to be paying way-off-season rates. I'm not sure we would have loved our stay as much had we paid full price ($450/night)!

Our room (with two double beds) was very spacious and well-appointed, and absolutely spotless from top to bottom. The beds had pristine linens, tons of pillows and a plush, cozy comforter. There was a large desk with ergonomic desk chair, and another occasional chair with ottoman near a reading lamp in the corner. The room had a nice view of the marina and the Niagara River. There was a big flat-screen TV with a full channel line-up, and a CD player/clock radio with its own (bright) night light.

The bathroom was also spotless, with lots of handy extras like a hair dryer, magnifying mirror, scale (!) and more night lights mounted under the large vanity. There was a large soaker tub, which was great for hot baths after a day of sightseeing in the surprisingly cold and blustery weather. Plenty of towels and accessories (shampoo, soap, mouthwash, shower cap, etc.), and even terry bathrobes (which we didn't use).

We used the library/business centre (which has six computers for guest use) to check email and look up local info, and it was always pleasantly empty.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Tiara) the following morning and found the food pretty good, if pricey. But that's par for the course in any hotel dining room, really.

Our only complaint, and it’s relatively minor, is that the hotel doesn’t seem to enforce its non-smoking policy, or fully inform its guests that smoking is prohibited in/on the entire property.

We were happy to discover this policy when we checked in (we asked about it, the info was not offered up on its own), as secondhand cigarette smoke is always a pet peeve when we stay at hotels. We were told the entire hotel was a non-smoking property.

Unfortunately, in the evening of our stay, we could smell cigarette smoke very strongly in the second-floor hallway, and it was drifting in under/around our room door. We put a towel along the bottom of the door and notified the front desk, but the young man on staff seemed to think it was residual smoke from an incident the prior night. We knew it wasn’t and said as much, since we’d been in the hallway several times throughout the day and hadn't smelled any smoke at all previously.

It persisted through the evening. We completely understand it's difficult to locate exactly which room is responsible for the smoking, but perhaps if guests were informed, very clearly, of the non-smoking policy at check-in, and penalized (i.e., charged an extra fee) if caught smoking, it would serve as a deterrent and this wouldn’t happen. The fact that the front-desk clerk said they'd had a similar problem the night before indicates this wasn't an isolated incident.

Overall, though, we very much enjoyed our stay, found the hotel very quiet and conveniently located, and only wish some of our fellow guests were a little better at following the (admittedly not-well-publicized) rules.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    329
    101
    33
    21
See reviews for
213
719
14
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed at the Queen's Landing with my husband for a mini getaway. We were really happy with the accommodations. The staff was wonderful to us and since our room was ready, we were able to check in early. We did the trolley tour of the wineries. I highly recommend adding this to your trip. We ended up going to three wineries and the driver was great. The salt water pool and hot tub was really nice as well.

It is a short walk to the shops and the lake. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Niagara on the Lake in a frigid snowy January; remanents of the festive Christmas season still abound in decor, music; as if the entire resort town wishes to prolong the merriment and beauty of the holiday season in a near dormant by the lake/river resort town. Queens Landing represents a convenient, elegant and comfortable place to stay. I found, not shown on website, a useful fitness center with in ground basement pool, jacuzzi, and separate saunas in the mens and womens, as they say in Canada, change rooms, plus the modicum of exercize machines. Wi fi is not free but there is a library with free terminals for internet access and a real reading room. Strangely, it closes at 11 at night, reflecting perhaps the clientele of Niagara on the Lake being traditional early to bed types. Still, late night poker games are compatible with this location. Restaurants were elegant and exceptionally well served. Rooms, showing some recent upkeep and renovation, keep pace with modern amenities and conveniences (one difference is Wi Fi must be paid for) All in all an excellent property for a peaceful getaway to Niagara on the Lake. 3 blocks to the center of Niagara on the Lake, 2 blocks from Shaw Festival, adjacent a non emergency care hospital. Two blocks from the at this time of year ice choked Niagara River, disgorging the Great Lakes into an uncertain fate in Lake Ontario and beyond.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a very nice time here. The staff were uniformly excellent and friendly. The hotel decor is not really my taste but I can see how it would be popular and enjoyable.

The room service was unavailable at 10.15pm for some reason.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liammovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during this month, and found it to be a great experience. Staff were service-driven, always with a smile. Room was clean and very-well decorated. I loved the fitness centre and spa/swimming pools. They were great to use and not overwhelmed with other guests (may have been the season). The best part was the breakfast at the Tiara Lounge - one of the best breakfasts my wife and I have had (we travel frequently). Don't stay here and leave without breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpeace999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We must compliment the Queen's Landing Inn for making our stay in Niagara on the Lake most delightful. The public areas of the hotel were bright, clean and beautifully decorated for the holidays. Our accomadations were equally well appointed and very comfortable. The pool and fitness center were also excellent. All of that being as good as it was the real crown jewel of the hotel would have to be it's staff. From the first contact at the front door to the wait staff in the resturants, bartenders right down to the room maintenece people, absolutly superb. All made us feel right at home and we truly felt that they were happy to be there. We will definatly make it a point to return to this quaint little town and one of the main reasons is because of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

There was not one segment of the weekend we did not enjoy from accommodations, to the How to, to our meals. However, our dinner was delicious pear soup, and bib salad, bread and desert, however we both did not enjoy the beef tenderloin - it was overcooked and the marinade was not to our liking, the veggies were abit too el dente.
otherwise it was all great.
thanks again.
Please let us know when you are planning another weekend.
Regards,
Carolyn Wilde.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,202 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
575 reviews
6.3 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
75 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Landing

Property: Queen's Landing
Address: 155 Byron Street | P.O. Box 1180, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Georgian-style mansion overlooking the scenic Niagara River and Lake Ontario. #1 hotel in Ontario on Conde Nast Gold List 2010 and CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award for dining and accommodations. Conveniently located just a short walk from the town's main street and Shaw Festival. 140 elegant guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Landing Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Queens Landing Niagara Lake
Queens Landing Hotel
Hotel Queens Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing