We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess a reasonable option if you're going to Niagara on The Lake.”
Review of Queen's Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for a friend's wedding, but other than that, Niagara on The Lake didn't have a lot of draw for us...VERY touristy, and I guess that fact makes the price tag of the hotel harder to swallow. That being said, I think everything's probably overpriced in the city. The hotel is very nice, rooms well appointed, sheets VERY comfortable, as were the beds. I had thought, for some reason, there might be something to the grounds, location, proximity to the water, etc, but really there wasn't. Service was excellent, though, they were able to get us into our room earlier than we expected, which made getting ready for the wedding much less of an ordeal, which was very much appreciated.

If the price is competitive with other options when you're planning on coming here, it's probably one of the better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soap_In_The_Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I decided to make it a trip to have fun. With the two bikes in the car we stayed at the Queen's Landing. Close to bike roads and trails and the major wineries, we went adventuring across the Niagara country side. The hotel people catered to our every wish. The service was impeccable and the room excellent. We also enjoyed the breakfast, lunch and supper atmosphere while there. We even managed to take in a play at the Shaw Festival. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had made reservations at Queens Landing in August of 2011 because we were going to the Shaw Festival in June of this year to see plays and to celebrate the anniversary of the friends we were travelling with. A week before we arrived we called Queens Landing to confirm and to say we didn't want a breakfast plan. Imagine our surprise when we tried to check in after a long drive and we were told that a large group was coming in and there was no room for us. They offered us an "upgrade" to the Prince of Wales, with free breakfasts thrown in. My husband jumped at the offer without consulting me. The "upgrade" consisted of a small room with a torn window shade, poor air conditioning that was intermittant and a badly leaking bath faucet. It did have a fireplace, perfect for the 95 + degree temperture we were experiencing that week. It was a long walk to the main building from our room and the key cards worked on and off so that we had to keep walking back to the main building to get working cards. There were no Internet nor exercise facilities at the Prince of Wales. We were told we could use these facilities at Queens Landing, but the week we were there the Internet room was reserved for the group that bumped us. The staff at Prince of Wales was friendly and Mike, the engineer, was especially helpful. We needed him because of the air conditioner and faulty key card problems. My husband did enjoy the breakfasts at the Prince of Wales. We had planned to car pool with our friends who were staying at Queens Landing to go to plays and restaurants. Being in separate places made this inconvenient. When we returned home, we complained to the staff at Queens Landing about how we had been treated. We were told that at the time of booking we should have said we were travelling with another couple and we wouldn't have been bumped. Both Lily Kszan and Kathie Youdale, the general manager and executive assistant, respectively, at Queens Landing, have been extremely apologetic and have tried hard to make amends. We were offered a voucher and an upgrade for a future stay. We plan to take them up on their offers. The moral is, when you make your reservations, give as much detail as possible and make sure you know what you are in for if you get bumped.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent four nights at Queen's Landing, and enjoyed every one of them. The service from staff is exceptional, including prompt check-in, friendly greetings when you go in and out of the lobby, someone to open the door for you, and offers to drive you to local venues.

Our room, a suite, was beautiful and spacious. It had a step-in shower, which I had requested because of my hip replacement, and the bathroom had granite countertops with double sinks. Although the hotel became crowded late in our stay, due to the arrival of a large group, we never heard a sound from our room and slept well. When we had a few small requests, the staff responded quickly and pleasantly. We had one issue of concern and the management was very responsive.

The decor has been updated since we first came here with a group a few years ago. Rooms are very tastefully decorated, with a slightly more modern touch than in the past. Breakfast is served in the beautiful Tiara dining room, with pleasant views of flowers and water, and lots of light. All week, the various waiters were both friendly and prompt in their service. Even after the large group arrived, we were made to feel like welcome guests. We have stayed in several different hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake, including the Prince of Wales, and this one goes to the top of our list, especially because of the service and the attractive ambiance. Parking is free, and the hotel is an easy walk from the Festival Theater. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Hello June - I was simply delighted to see your 5 star review of Queen's Landing from a contributor who has reviewed hotels in 11 different cities! I can appreciate that you have seen various levels of services and accommodations and we are so pleased to see that we exceeded your high expectations. While we are a busy conference hotel, our pleasure travelers are an extremely important part of our business. We are pleased that you felt well taken care of!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

In June 2012, my husband and I took a three-day time-out to take in five plays at the Shaw Festival and visit Niagara-on-the-Lake wineries. We stayed at Queen's Landing. We'd booked a Standard Room but, on arrival, were upgraded to a Suite in a separate, 4-unit historical building. It was charming, quiet, comfortable, well-supplied, and well-looked-after. We found it the ideal base for what we wanted to do--very easy and pleasant walking distance to all of the Shaw Festival theatres and easy access to the wineries. All staff encounters were very pleasant and helpful. We felt comfortable and at ease and will put Queen's Landing on our list for future visits.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Hello Marion - I was so pleased to be see that we were your first review on TripAdvisor after your three day stay at Queen's Landing. The Dockmaster Suites are my favorite accommodations here at the hotel as they provide privacy and a view of the Niagara river in a unique historic building. Good for you that you took in five shows! Hopefully you can make it a summer tradition to come and see us again for the 2013 Shaw season.

Yours in hospitality,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Every month I travel to St. Catharines Ontario to visit my 90 year old mother. One of our "must go" places is the dining room at Queen's Landing in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We can sit and enjoy the wonderful scenery while enjoying a glass of wine and delicious food. There is nothing better than a quiet conversation, a glass of wine, beautiful scenery and wonderful service and excellent food. Our frequent server, Gerardo, is just a gem. We are treating royally with many little extras. On her birthday visit, mom was presented with a rose at the end of lunch. We are never rushed and are treated like family. I wouldn't miss a chance to dine at Queen's Landing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Hello Donna: I wanted to thank you for sharing the special time that you enjoy with your mother here at Queen's Landing. We are so pleased that we are a part of your relaxing time together. Gerardo is one of our long service team members who genuinely enjoys taking care of our VIP guests - I'm so pleased that he helped make us one of your favorite places!

We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back again soon.

Enjoy your summer,

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We enlisted the staff at Queen's Landing to cater our major 1812 Bicentennial event which was held outside at Fort George. Peggy Cernick was so accommodating and easy to work with. She and Chef Randy Dupuis helped us create an 1812-inspired menu and were able to adjust the regular service of the event to make it more authentic to the period - this included removing tablecloths between certain courses, servers acting as hosts of the tables, resizing potions of food, altering the table settings, and many more details. Josh Remple and his team ran back and forth between our tent, the officer's quarters at the Fort and their kitchen so many times they must have been exhausted by the end of the 5 hour dinner! We truly appreciated the effort that went into making this fundraiser a success and all our guests commented on how wonderful the night was and how delicious the food was! One of the desserts was taken right from an 1812 resource and the chefs had very few instructions on how to make it, but it was amazing! . A huge thank you to everyone involved and a job well done. We know that this wasn't a typical service for the team, but you performed like pros!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Hello Amy - I was simply delighted to read your review and hear what a success this event was! I must congratulate you and your planning committee on creating the framework for such an important event in our town. Peggy reported that it was a delight working with you and the ladies, all who had great input and joint vision to make this event happen!

Our culinary team loves a challenge and they certainly rose to the occasion! I had the pleasure of seeing the amazing dessert that you mentioned in your review and am proud of all the contributions of Chef Randy Dupuis and his team! Josh is most certainly a leader who inspired his team to preform their best! This event was one that was very rewarding for everyone!

Amy - thank you for trusting Queen`s Landing catering team with this important event for the Bicentennial festivities here in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Have a great summer and hope you see you soon!

Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Landing

Address: 155 Byron Street | P.O. Box 1180, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $193 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Georgian-style mansion overlooking the scenic Niagara River and Lake Ontario. #1 hotel in Ontario on Conde Nast Gold List 2010 and CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award for dining and accommodations. Conveniently located just a short walk from the town's main street and Shaw Festival. 140 elegant guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Landing Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Queens Landing Niagara Lake
Queens Landing Hotel
Hotel Queens Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing