We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint water-front gem.”
Review of Queen's Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This smaller Vintage Hotel has a lot of charm. The rooms are a bit small, however, when the hotel was built, room size was not 'oversized'. The rooms are clean and quaint. The dining room is gorgeous, and if you're lucky enough to request a table by the window, the views are spectacular! My favourite thing to do at this hotel is eat on the terrace overlooking the water. It's wonderful to watch the boats and take in the fresh air and scenery. Breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vay-cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for Queen's Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,424 - 1,430 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

Our stay at Queens Landing for our Aniversary couldnt have been better from our arrival to our departure. Our room was nice, not extravagant but very comfortable and clean. Our dinner in the Tiara Restaurant was fabulous, the service and food were perfect. I cant remember the last time my husband and I sat at a dinner table for 3 hours, we had know idea how long we were there until we got up to leave. Our meals were 5star from starter to dessert! And our server Jill was the best we have ever had. She knew her wine and the menu very well, and she timed everything perfectly, never interupting our conversation and offering great advice on wine and food. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room and it was fine.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen796993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

I'm so glad you felt the food and service in Tiara were perfect! Happy anniversary and see you again soon!
Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We were so pleased with the service and attention we received. The food in Tiara was exquisite and beautifully presented. Everyone from the doorman to the desk and dining staff treated us as if we were their personal guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQueenslanding, General Manager at Queen's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the food and service in Tiara.
I hope you visit us again very soon!
Lily Kszan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Queen’s Landing for a night over the Family-Day weekend, and found it to be a gorgeous, luxurious hotel that nonetheless felt charming. It is, however, VERY expensive, and we were very happy to be paying way-off-season rates. I'm not sure we would have loved our stay as much had we paid full price ($450/night)!

Our room (with two double beds) was very spacious and well-appointed, and absolutely spotless from top to bottom. The beds had pristine linens, tons of pillows and a plush, cozy comforter. There was a large desk with ergonomic desk chair, and another occasional chair with ottoman near a reading lamp in the corner. The room had a nice view of the marina and the Niagara River. There was a big flat-screen TV with a full channel line-up, and a CD player/clock radio with its own (bright) night light.

The bathroom was also spotless, with lots of handy extras like a hair dryer, magnifying mirror, scale (!) and more night lights mounted under the large vanity. There was a large soaker tub, which was great for hot baths after a day of sightseeing in the surprisingly cold and blustery weather. Plenty of towels and accessories (shampoo, soap, mouthwash, shower cap, etc.), and even terry bathrobes (which we didn't use).

We used the library/business centre (which has six computers for guest use) to check email and look up local info, and it was always pleasantly empty.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Tiara) the following morning and found the food pretty good, if pricey. But that's par for the course in any hotel dining room, really.

Our only complaint, and it’s relatively minor, is that the hotel doesn’t seem to enforce its non-smoking policy, or fully inform its guests that smoking is prohibited in/on the entire property.

We were happy to discover this policy when we checked in (we asked about it, the info was not offered up on its own), as secondhand cigarette smoke is always a pet peeve when we stay at hotels. We were told the entire hotel was a non-smoking property.

Unfortunately, in the evening of our stay, we could smell cigarette smoke very strongly in the second-floor hallway, and it was drifting in under/around our room door. We put a towel along the bottom of the door and notified the front desk, but the young man on staff seemed to think it was residual smoke from an incident the prior night. We knew it wasn’t and said as much, since we’d been in the hallway several times throughout the day and hadn't smelled any smoke at all previously.

It persisted through the evening. We completely understand it's difficult to locate exactly which room is responsible for the smoking, but perhaps if guests were informed, very clearly, of the non-smoking policy at check-in, and penalized (i.e., charged an extra fee) if caught smoking, it would serve as a deterrent and this wouldn’t happen. The fact that the front-desk clerk said they'd had a similar problem the night before indicates this wasn't an isolated incident.

Overall, though, we very much enjoyed our stay, found the hotel very quiet and conveniently located, and only wish some of our fellow guests were a little better at following the (admittedly not-well-publicized) rules.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed at the Queen's Landing with my husband for a mini getaway. We were really happy with the accommodations. The staff was wonderful to us and since our room was ready, we were able to check in early. We did the trolley tour of the wineries. I highly recommend adding this to your trip. We ended up going to three wineries and the driver was great. The salt water pool and hot tub was really nice as well.

It is a short walk to the shops and the lake. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Niagara on the Lake in a frigid snowy January; remanents of the festive Christmas season still abound in decor, music; as if the entire resort town wishes to prolong the merriment and beauty of the holiday season in a near dormant by the lake/river resort town. Queens Landing represents a convenient, elegant and comfortable place to stay. I found, not shown on website, a useful fitness center with in ground basement pool, jacuzzi, and separate saunas in the mens and womens, as they say in Canada, change rooms, plus the modicum of exercize machines. Wi fi is not free but there is a library with free terminals for internet access and a real reading room. Strangely, it closes at 11 at night, reflecting perhaps the clientele of Niagara on the Lake being traditional early to bed types. Still, late night poker games are compatible with this location. Restaurants were elegant and exceptionally well served. Rooms, showing some recent upkeep and renovation, keep pace with modern amenities and conveniences (one difference is Wi Fi must be paid for) All in all an excellent property for a peaceful getaway to Niagara on the Lake. 3 blocks to the center of Niagara on the Lake, 2 blocks from Shaw Festival, adjacent a non emergency care hospital. Two blocks from the at this time of year ice choked Niagara River, disgorging the Great Lakes into an uncertain fate in Lake Ontario and beyond.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a very nice time here. The staff were uniformly excellent and friendly. The hotel decor is not really my taste but I can see how it would be popular and enjoyable.

The room service was unavailable at 10.15pm for some reason.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank liammovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,037 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Landing

Address: 155 Byron Street | P.O. Box 1180, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $196 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Georgian-style mansion overlooking the scenic Niagara River and Lake Ontario. #1 hotel in Ontario on Conde Nast Gold List 2010 and CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award for dining and accommodations. Conveniently located just a short walk from the town's main street and Shaw Festival. 140 elegant guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Landing Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Queens Landing Niagara Lake
Queens Landing Hotel
Hotel Queens Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing