We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable Honeymoon Experience”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The first second you arrive at the door you will experience their heart warming welcome and well prepared check in process. You will be stunned by the royalty aura from every single inch of this place.... Especially the decoration of the corador and rooms.

Staffs at the hotel will assist you in every tiny espects, lobby staffs,and resturant staffs with no hesitation to make your stay a very memmorable stay there...

Very Classy Resturant, and Fine dinning, excellent wine list, PLEASE don't miss out the chance of having breakfast, lunch, high tea, dinner and drink in the lounge in this hotel.... Every single location has it own unique atmosphere.

I even brought two drawings of the hotel to celebrate my so memorable honeymoon before leaving......

I SURELY WILL VISIT AGAIN ON MY ANNIVERSARY NEXT YEAR.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCRH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,663 - 1,669 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

We were told this is THE place to stay, so we did!! We bought the package which included a bottle of wine each night, strawberries dipped in chocolate and a rose(rather tired one though that wouldn't last more than 1 evening) nice thought though and a nice suprise. This cost us 560 Candian dollars a night , yes I did say that price. It is a Victorian building and the flower baskets are fantastic outside, BUT it is expensive. The rooms because of it's era are not big and 2 people in the bathroom nere on impossible!!

Breakfast was included in this package or you can pay a hefty price when you buy a room only deal, which is very good and lots on offer, but again, expensive when you add it onto your budget and you have a family with you.

It is situated on the main street and is not noisy and the staff are very friendly. We had a lovely stay and just splashed out a little on this trip. For over 560 CDollars , I found it too much and wouldn't pay that again, but the Hotel was by no means empty, so folks if you ahve the cash and don't mind a really small bathroom, which was rather a shock after a suite at other hotels before then!! Oldie worldie decor which was in keeping with the building.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenniscrumoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We made our reservations direct with the front desk and asked for assistance in acquiring tickets for the Shaw Festival plays. Korey went out of his way to have all the tickets waiting for us at check-in. The seats were excellent. Beautiful little town! The service, from the main desk to the maid service was outstanding. We took advantage of the shuttle service to all the plays and the drivers were friendly and knowledgeable. We plan on makeing this a yearly excursion. My only regret was not purchasing some of the wonderful tea we had in the Drawing Room for high tea and not purchasing their wonderful pillows. P. M. Cook

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at the Prince of Wale for four nights. It was a very charming hotel and the room was very nice but not very big for the price. We booked a deluxe room. The hotel has a nice dining room and bar area. The location in town is perfect. I am really glad we stayed at Prince of Wales but if we returned to Niagara on the Lake, would probably try something different. Maybe Pillar and Post down the road. It is a sister hotel to Prince of Wales and we ate there and liked the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

An unusually lovely hotel with beutifully furnished rooms and lobby. The staff was extremely courteous and went out of their way to make you feel valued and comfortable. There is an excellent indoor pool and whirlpool. This hotel also offers free shuttle service to the theaters so that you don't have to use your car and worry about parking. The food was excellent also.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sues_3_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Imagine for a moment you're in one of Jane Austen's lovely stories. You're sitting in one of the most luxurious drawing rooms you've ever seen. The surroundings are right out of a turn-of-the-century novel. It reflects elegance, dignity, refinement, British etiquette and manners! It's High Afternoon Tea at the Prince of Wales in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and you are welcomed and treated by its staff as though you were royalty. I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel. I have had the pleasure of sharing High Tea in several different hotel/restaurants, but nothing comes close to the wonderful experience that Prince of Wales offers. It excels in every area. You have a choice of being seated in either the main lounge area or at a table with a lovely street view. This overlooks the vast array of colourful flowers that have been planted along the sidewalks and fill numerous hanging baskets. Every now and then an enchanting horse drawn carriage will clipclop by.
For about $32.00 (the "traditional" tea) you can choose from a tasty selection of teas, which they will serve you in the most beautiful floral china. And enough can't be said on the lovely presentation of food, consisting of an assortment of savory finger sandwiches, warm scones (I love them with melted butter and clotted cream!) and delectable little desserts (all quite filling). So take your time and enjoy. Thanks to our amazing waitor "Michael" who we've had serve us on almost every POW excursion for being an absolute gem; attentive and charming. Trust me, after taking in this luxurious experience, you will want to return again and again. Take it from someone who's already returned 7 times! So if you're visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake, give yourself an afternoon pampering and treat your inner aristocrat to a Prince of Wales English High Afternoon Tea!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharaiBlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I spent a long weekend stay at the POW for a short honeymoon style getaway. I booked the weekend through the switchboard for the Vintage Hotels group of inns and spas. From first to last, every person that we encountered was helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. We booked a deluxe room with fireplace, balcony. This room was paired in a package for us that included two nights of four diamond dinning and breakfasts each morning. It also included the Vintage Trolly wine tour.

The meals alone were were well worth the package. I believe they were somewhere around $110.00 a day for the pair of us, and our dinners alone were well past that coming in closer to $180.00 dollars a night had we not had the package!

The package allowed us to dine at any of the fine dinning venues in the triad of hotels associated with the POW. We had only to pay for our alcohol. We also chose to dine on our balcony both mornings and were treated to a fine gourmet breakfast each time. I would recommend this far above a buffet!

My husband and I are lucky enough to frequently dine in very fine restaurants and found each of our meals above par.

We also chose to participate in High Tea on one of our afternoons and were particularly impressed with the superior work of our server as well as her knowledge of the teas and 'ceremony' surrounding her post.

Though there was a slight level of wear in our room. The service was outstanding. They aim to please and do it well... and I consider myself very tough to please.

There is no doubt that this is a higher end hotel with a steep price, but value for dollar is very much present especially if you take advantage of their many packages. I will gladly return anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveThisLife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $206 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing