We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent accommodations, meeting space and service at the Prince...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations, meeting space and service at the Prince...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just returned from a four day offsite meeting in Niagara on the Lake and wanted to thank the entire staff for an amazing stay. The rooms are some of the best we have stayed in and the ambiance and old world charm the hotel offers is second to none.

We had dinner each night at the Prince and it's sister facilities - the Kings Landing and the Pillar and the Post - and all three times the food and the service was excellent. Highly recommend it for any and all business meetings. Special thanks to Sharon Barton and Heather Wilson for making our stay so comfortable.

Jay Traynor - Director of HR, ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks Americas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jay,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your experience at the Prince of Wales Hotel. I will pass on all of your wonderful comments to the staff, as this is what inspires them everyday to provide the best service possible. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed dining at our sister properties and found the experience very positive as well!. I trust your meetings were successful and hope you will consider us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kelly Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    225
    105
    55
    13
See reviews for
160
818
10
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had heard a lot about this hotel and was not able to stay there in earlier trips as it was booked up. Well, this time I got a room and was a little disappointed. Although the architecture outside is charming the decor inside was overloaded with "fake" paintings and lacked warmth. Strangely for a hotel of this stature, the sheets did not fit the mattress such that part of the bed was bare. Rooms were large and comfortable but the decor was unimaginative and tried to get the period feeling cheaply. I did not like the very high beds but that is a matter of personal taste. Overall a little disappointing especially given that I had stayed in many other charming inns.

Room Tip: Do not know enough to provide guidance. Our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a weekend at the Prince of Wales. The first evening we had a group dinner. The meal was lovely & the staff were fantastic. Ryan, Matt & Brandon couldn't do enough for us.

The room was nice & clean & well located. Even though we faced on to the Main Street we didn't here that much street noise.

The breakfast had a lot of choices & was plentiful.

All in all I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel, every member of staff was big on eye contact and greetings from house keeping to restaurant/bar staff. It's definitely worth a stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsk1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was a lovely place to stay, in a lovely tourist town. It is an old, classic building with a nice pool close to the lobby. My room was pretty, spotless and very comfortable. Even though it was in the front, on the main road overlooking the entrance it wasn't noisy. There was a bowl of fresh oranges when I checked in and every day I was given a couple of bottles of water. The restaurant was fine and so was the comfortable bar. (The ladies room off the bar demands a special visit--it is gorgeous.) A fresh rose was delivered every day. The desk staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful. A real gem.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better access from the elevator than others so be sure to inquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurell203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. The staff is courteous and very quick to respond to any requests we had. The air conditioning was a little loud through the night but you can't expect perfection in an older building.
The bed was lovely and comfortable and the evening offer of turndown service and a rose was a nice touch. A nice bottle of local wine in our room each evening was a treat.
Breakfast in their beautiful sunny dining room was included each day so it was a great way to start our day in a nice relaxing atmosphere. We had dinner one evening and the meal was exceptional as was the service. We will be back again.

Room Tip: we had a room in the second building on the third floor. It was nice and quiet (except for the a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Prince of Wales for 4 night on a romantic child-less getaway! The location is ideal with everything within walking distance. The rooms are beautifully decorated in the victorian style and the beds were so comfortable! Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful! We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here three nights. The hotel was gorgeous with superb staff. We had a package that included breakfast each morning. Buffet was very good with plenty of selections. The afternoon tea in the Drawing Room was extremely nice. Everything in our room was in working order and very clean. We stayed on the third floor in the original building in a king size suite. Living room has fireplace and bathroom had jacuzzi. Coffee maker and Bose radio were added amenities. Small refrigerator and safe in room. Turn down service each evening was very special. There were several wedding at the hotel but it still remained very quiet. From the moment we arrived we felt special. I would highly recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Ma30474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing