We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

i was so excited to stay here, we visited Niagara on the lake for shopping and the room was not great in the newer part of hotel and had to walk a mile to get to it. Staff was not that friendly the only thing i really liked about the hotel was the horse and buggy outside. Dont waste your money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    264
    127
    61
    15
See reviews for
209
972
15
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff are really quite amazing here. Everyone from the front desk to cleaning personnel to serving staff were friendly and competent.
The hotel itself is very unique due to it's age. None of the rooms are the same and the only issue I had was that it was COLD! I was there in January during horrible weather and the rooms were drafty - even with the heat cranked, drafts came in along the floors, in the halls and especially the stairwells.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds are HUGE! (You may need the stool provided to get up on to the bed!) Food is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowboyUpAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Prince of Wales is by far one of the most beautiful, vintage hotels I've ever had the pleasure of seeing and staying in. To start off, Niagara on the Lake is such a wonderful small town.. and the Prince of Wales is right at the main corner of it all! Its so relaxing to walk out and take a stroll down the main street, whilst peering into all sorts of small shops. The hotel looks as though from another era- so well maintained and the detailing is so fine. Our reception was courteous, informative and humorous all at the same time. The room was such a delight and the bed so comfy! It was hard to get out of bed even :) I loved the decor and the furniture. We ordered breakfast to the balcony overlooking the street in the morning, and the lemon poppyseed pancakes were delicious. A 10/10 stay and a one of a kind hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My daughter and I had a Wine Festival pkg. which included a welcoming drink, cooking demo, and a dinner. The weather was poor (strong winds and snow) and we could easily have spent the weekend in the hotel as there was so much to do! We went to high tea, had a hot stone massage, used the salt water hot tub and pool, all in addition to the cooking demo and wine tastings. We braved the weather to take a short walk to an outstanding restaurant, Treadwells. I cannot say enough good things about this facility and its staff, right down to cheery Mike the maintenance man we met in the elevator. The hotel is gorgeous, onsite restaurant very good, and right dowtown close to shops. I really wanted to give it 5 stars, but is any place perfect?!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0se65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Prince Of Wales for an overnight during the IceWine Festival. Check in was a breeze and our room was ready when we got there at 1 p.m. We had a King Suite with a jetted tub and fireplace and it was lovely, clean, ready and inviting. Loved the oranges and water on the table. The hotel itself is charming with lots of vintage feeling wood. It has a great bar and we went for a night cap after dinner. Breakfast was good, and we purchased the 17 dollar breakfast package with our room. You can do that at check-in and I would recommend this! When we got our bill, it would have been $135.00 for four, but it cost us $34.00 for two. Ask at the front desk when you check in. We sat at a window seat and enjoyed watching the white out conditions. (It is January in Ontario!). Check out was fast, there was wine tasting in the lobby and newspapers at our door in the morning. I love this hotel and it will be the one I return to in the summer when we go back.

Room Tip: King Suites are nice! Look for a deal on-line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My mum and I stayed at the Prince of Wales between Christmas and New Year and had a fabulous time. The hotel is beautiful and the service was second to none. The guestroom was beautiful and had a fireplace which was much appreciated as the weather was very cold. The hotel was decorated for the holidays and the tone was very Victorian and so very tasteful. The restaurant was wonderful and we loved the bar too, Overall, i would recommend this hotel to everyone - it is a little on the pricey side but perfect for a special treat. The extra cost is worth it for the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redemma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This really was a pretty room with gas fireplace and a four poster king size bed. Each day we received a bottle of wine and chocolates.
Breakfast was included and we also ate all the other meals at the hotel. The meals were good,not spectacular. The service staff are wonderful, attentive not intrusive. Just right for my comfort level.
We treated ourselves to afternoon tea. I had to ask for a new cup as mine came with a lipstick stain. Apart from that glitch, the food and tea were delicious. I recommend the afternoon tea.
The indoor saltwater pool is so nice!
We were able to afford this hotel because "travelzoo" had a good deal.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor in the main building.The windows faced the park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muttilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing