We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince of Wales
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shaw Club Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dallavalle(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charles Hotel(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
1,887 results
Traveler rating
1,337
317
142
71
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,337
317
142
71
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurchill loungeescabechehigh teadrawing roomtea roommain buildingbeautiful hotelthe salt water poolvintage hotelsmy husband and iturn down servicedeluxe roomhotel restaurantget awaytreated like royaltybottle of wineshaw festival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,211 - 1,216 of 1,887 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay here was just average -- mind you, it's still an overall good experience for NOTL. But you pay a premium in this town, and you expect a great experiene. Ours was just good.

We arrived at the hotel in the early evening, and our room was not yet ready (?!). It is very odd to not have the room ready well after the check-in time, but we were heading out to the theatre, so we stored our bags with the bellman and away we went. (Also, there was no doorman or valet out front, which was a [--]).

At any rate, when we got to our room, which was an upgraded room, it was nice, but not exceptional. I prefer the rooms at the Queen's Landing, Harbour House, Shaw Club, etc. Aside from the check-in, and so we didn't get to our room until after the theatre and dinner, which was 11pm.

The only way I'd go back to the PoW, given all the other options in NOTL, is with an exceptional rate. Which often doesn't happen. Shaw Club is the best bet for a great hotel with a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've been to the Prince of Wales several times, as overnight guests, and guests of their afternoon tea and the service and experience has been exceptional each time. We've been to afternoon tea at some high end hotels in London, and while those were very good, the Prince of Wales was better. Next time you're in the area, pop in for a spot of tea. Better to make reservations, but we were lucky to squeeze in without reservations this last time. You'll enjoy the ambience, the service, the food, the experience and of course, the tea!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Prince of Wales while touring Ontario. Initially we were booked for two nights, but extended to three we loved it so much. Top quality hotel and facilities with totally professional and friendly staff. They could not do enough for you.

Room were sumptuous and traditional. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and we loved having breakfast each morning in the glass conservatory at the front of the building.

The location is wonderful too. Niagra on the Lake is a lovely little town and a great touring location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimmer6403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary this past weekend, and I can't begin to tell you how disappointed we were after looking so forward to it for months. Our room completely lacked any type of charm or Victorian "look" (room 215). It was supposed to be a superior room but there was absolutely nothing special about it. As well, we had afternoon tea before we checked into our room and again, it was lackluster. We also had breakfast the next day (already paid for, otherwise we would not have eaten there again) and it was quite unacceptable. The buffet items were sparse and I believe the eggs benedict had spoiled (the sauce seemed sour), as I was quite unwell a couple of hours after eating them. I cannot begin to tell you how upsetting our hotel experirence was - I would never stay at that hotel again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First off if you want to stay in the 'hotel' make sure that is where your room is. Whenever I visit Niagara on the Lake I always thought it would be nice to try this hotel. So we did. and we ended up with a room in something they call the courtyard or courthouse which is not attached to the main building. It is next to the main building. For the price I'm not sure what to think. The rooms are kinda cool, very clean and classy. Its like being in an old castle but I was looking forward to being in the 'Hotel' not the very expensive 'motel like' addition. Our room looked into the back of a house. Not that I needed a grand view. Our first night we couldn't sleep because of a problem with a a/c. It sounded like a burst pipe all night and day. We did get moved to what they classify as a better room. I was surprised they charge over $400/night. The room was nice like an old lawyer office, clean and quiet but still not in the main hotel. The front staff were very nice and helpful and in the end made us happy with the out come.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be inn the main hotel building. Its not worth the money to be in their addition next to the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WigglyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews