We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for the second time at the end of July and everything was wonderful once again. We ended up getting a package which included breakfast each morning which was excellent, especially the Eggs Benedict! Service is great, they always try their best to help with any questions you have. The location is perfect for staying in Niagara on the Lake, which is a very nice alternative to staying at the falls, very laid back and relaxing. Lots of little shops and restaurants to explore and there really is a lake, all within walking distance. You can take the Niagara Parkway to get to the falls which by car is around a 20 - 30 minute drive, but a very nice one as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    266
    127
    61
    16
See reviews for
212
978
15
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a beautiful and elegant hotel. Our room was lovely with a great king size bed, excellent pillows and a fireplace. Very large bathroom, Spa and pool were very good. Location is excellent, right in the downtown on the main street...and just down the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burligton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Prince of Wales for the sept 27-29 weekend to celebrate my birthday! I booked a pet friendly room, which the hotel only has two of but luckily it was a beautiful, spacious suite complete with fireplace with access right off the sidewalk on the Main Street, almost like having your own apartment downtown niagara. Very friendly staff always willing to help, bringing ice and glasses when we needed in a timely fashion. We went for dinner at their sister hotel Pillar and Post and without realizing how far away it would have been to walk the bell boy kindly drove us to and from in the company shuttle! The only slight glitch with the room was the cable was frozen on 4 or 5 of the main channels, not that I was there to watch tv but after a long day a late night out its nice to catch up in front if the fireplace! So I'm not sure if the entire hotel is having problems with their cable or just certain rooms. We also bought the breakfast package which for the price is pretty decent, however they seemed to be severely understaffed the Sunday morning we went for breakfast. There was a 25 minute wait at the entrance of the hotel restaurant and the hostess seemed confused and really wasn't doing much to accommodate more guests as there were plenty of tables that could have been quickly bussed and reset. She avoided the hostess stand and seemed to be aimlessly wandering around the different dining areas. A bit dissapointing when your a hotel guest. Once seated our server was MIA the better part of 10 minutes, and once at the table had no real knowledge of the menu or items offered juice, entrees, breakfast cocktails - it was after 11am- however at the end he did tell us it was his first day, maybe some training is needed and menu and beverage tests taken before working any meal service! Overall it was a frustrating breakfast experience but not something that would stop me from returning. We didn't take part in the afternoon tea but was told it was something that many people thoroughly enjoyed, we were busy drinking wine and enjoyed the fall weather and sites that niagara has to offer!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchicky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a business conference, and it was very charming. I was in a room in the adjoining building, which worried me as I exited the main building, and following a circuitous set of hallways to the far reaches of the hotel. However, my concerns were alleviated when I saw the room. The beds were comfortable, clean, with high quality sheets and pillows, thick towels, clean carpets, and all the amenities you generally need (mini frig, TV, hairdryer, water, etc). It was silent at night, which is great for sleeping.
My only criticism is the deceptive "resort fee" that is tacked onto your bill at checkout. (I was charged $15.82 for the night in extra fees). I asked what the "resort fee" was and why the room wasn't just priced $15.82 higher so people know what the real cost is. I was told that the fee covers parking and internet -- which is interesting because they stated when I checked in that parking and internet are "free." This whole "resort fee' issue was annoying but, as I mentioned above, I give the hotel itself 5 stars for comfort and quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here for afternoon tea which was really good. There was plenty to eat, a good variety of cakes and sandwiches, delicious scones which although they were huge, were light as a feather. All extremely fresh. There was a choice of teas, I tried the vanilla Ceylon which was so good I bought some to take away!

The service was friendly and efficient and we didn't feel at all hurried.

Served beautifully in nice china. A really pleasant experience. Well worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeanyvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Prince of Wales Hotel is outstanding in every way! The property is pristine. The rooms are beautifully decorated and luxurious. Not a spot or dust bunny to be seen on furniture or in the bathroom. The Front Desk staff are accommodating and courteous. They will book reservations at any Vintages Hotel restaurant for you. We've stayed with our kids (ages 6 and 4) on three different occasions and felt welcomed. NOTL is mostly couples, but The Prince of Wales Hotel is very family-friendly. Location is fantastic...step outside and all the shops and restaurants await you. Across the street is a beautiful park, with play equipment, for the kids to enjoy. One of our favourite places to visit...again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_falco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for a two night fall get away to tour the wineries. The location was perfect, service was wonderful and our room was very clean. As it is an historic hotel, the décor was very traditional . We were able to ride our bikes to several wineries and walk to other restaurants close by. We had dinner here one evening. We took their recommendations on wine pairings with our various courses and found everything to be excellent. (We did not order their pairings menu as it seemed too much for us but they were happy to offer suggestions by the glass). My only complaint was the room was very dark despite two windows. The view was of the parking lot so not much to look at. If you want the larger bright rooms I think you have to be in the newer annex area and not the original hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing