We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb for group meetings”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Mars, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb for group meetings”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our 18-member CEO group held our annual retreat (including 14 spouses/significant others) at the Prince of Wales hotel. To a person, participants were delighted. Guest rooms/accommodations were excellent, as were our meeting rooms, breakfast, lunch, breaks/snacks, and dinner on the property. We also enjoyed local restaurants (Bistro Six-One and the Stone Road Grille to name two) along with the plays at the Shaw festival. At the hotel, my wife and I especially enjoyed the hot tub and the patio bar. We'll be back again, no doubt many times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    283
    132
    66
    17
See reviews for
221
1,030
17
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach,Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Prince of Wales. It's a wonderful hotel in the center of Niagara on the Lake which is an absolutely gorgeous town. The whole town is covered in flowers and hanging baskets. It's a great base for touring the local wineries and spending a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed and fabulously located hotel in the heart of the quaint, picturesque town of Niagara on the Lake. We stayed here one night on a trip to the Shaw festival that happens in the town. We booked the theatre package through the hotel which included tickets for one play as well as one night's stay (the cost was $225 per person plus tax). The package was costly but we were celebrating an occasion so we decided to splurge. The seats for the play were decent if a bit far from the stage.

The room we got was room 174, a "traditional" room which was actually *not* located in the main building and required a long, winding, and confusing trip which included exiting the building, going through two locked doors (that the room key opens), and going up and down several staircases. The corridor that led directly to the room was also accessible from the street so that was an easy way to enter or exit the room, avoiding the very circuitous path. While the room itself was comfortable and certainly beautifully decorated, much of the interior was old and faded. The wallpaper in the bathroom was on the verge of peeling, there were stains on the carpet by the bed.

But what I thought was the worst aspect of the room was its LOW CEILINGS! I felt like I was underground, in a basement room. And indeed it was a basement room with a view of the parking garage at the very back/end of the hotel. I suspect all the rooms on that floor were basement rooms but some would have had a view of the main street (which can be very loud and busy!) and some would have looked towards a back street. Even though the main building of the hotel was stunning and the staff were very welcoming, I wouldn't say that the room we stayed at was worth the steep price! The low ceilings, the faded interior, the basement location, and the lack of any kind of view were certainly unwelcome surprises.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is located in the main building or not. Many rooms are not and are difficult to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Niagara on the Lake is such a beautiful spot and the Prince of Wales is the best place to stay there. The accomodation is luxurious and peaceful. The staff is marvelous. Close to absolutely everything and free shuttles to vineyards for lunch or a tour.

Room Tip: Staying in a room in the main building is most convenient and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day trip to charming Niagara-on-the-Lake where we stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel. I'd always wanted to stay there as it's rich in history and looks amazing in pictures. I booked my husband and I in the hotel's Summer Lovin' promotion which included a king room in the main building, breakfast and a bottle of local wine each day plus tickets for complimentary wine tasting at a few wineries. It was fairly expensive but overall worth it. We enjoyed high tea the first day in the main drawing room and loved the small sandwiches, pastries and tea, all served in traditional silver while we sat at a perfect table that looked onto the busy main street.
Staff were warm and welcoming both on arrival and departure. Our room was always made up before our return each day and the turn down service at night was a lovely touch with a rose left upon our pillow and the music was turned on to play softly in the background.
Breakfast in their restaurant could be ordered from the menu but we stuck to the buffet each day and it was just fine, offering the usual fare plus nice inclusions like fresh salmon, exceptionally tasty roasted potatoes, eggs benedict and a selection of local jams.
We loved the relaxing salt water pool, sauna and hot tub - my hubby went every day!
Of course, the main attraction for me was to experience a 140 year old hotel and while I loved most of it, I definitely did not like the stuffiness and heat in our room. I can only imagine what it was like before air conditioning as even with it, we were still too warm. Overall glad we stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel and can cross it off my bucket list!

Room Tip: Hot and Stuffy in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim51960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were on the Spa escape and Summer lovin package. We had a room with a patio which overlooked the main street as well as the park in front. I wasn't sure at the time if I was really crazy about being on the main floor but it was not a problem at all. I would ask for the same room again (room 171).

The service was amazing! We arrived early but that wasn't a problem. They took our luggage and stored it until our room was ready and then delivered them to our room. I have never been at a hotel where they go out of there way to make you feel like you are the only one staying in that hotel. We booked an evening play at the Shaw Festival so by the time it was done all the restaurants were pretty much closed. I called front desk looking to see if they could suggest a pizza place. Not only did they suggest a tavern that was open, they asked us to place an order and they would go pick it up and deliver it to our room! I forgot some items at home and asked where I could get them. It wasn't a problem they shuttled me to the store. Exceptional service!

As part of our package we could pick three restaurants from the Vintage hotels and we choose the one at the Pillar and Post. It was good and the service was good. We had breakfast at the Prince of Wales because it was included in our package. It was good but we must have been there on a busy day. We waited in line but was worth it. High tea was fun and the fresh scones were amazing (not part of our package but well worth having).

So, if you are considering a hotel in Niagara that you park your car (actually, they park your car for free if you are staying there) and just enjoy the town this one is it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuganytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Accompanied my husband along with his co-workers and their spouses for an excellent retreat at the Prince of Wales. Great place, lots of character, great location and very accomadating to our big group! Honestly not one bad thing to say about this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacksonBlue76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
575 reviews
6.3 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing