We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The only place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

To truly enjoy the Niagara on the Lake experience this is the only place to stay. Right in town. Beautiful hotel with great rooms. Rooms are bigger than I expected. Parking right in the back . (no charge). You can walk to all the shops and most activities. Wonderful for a romantic weekend or a group of friends !

Room Tip: You must specify that you want to be in the main building . Some rooms are in adjacent buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCfromKCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    263
    126
    60
    15
See reviews for
206
957
14
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I were in Niagara- on -the -lake and stayed at the Prince of Wales this past weekend. We were celebrating my birthday and this was my Belated birthday gift. What an experience it was, and to say the least it was nothing short of amazing . Starting with reception friendly and courteous , valet service prompt and accommodating, Churchill lounge, breakfast and Sunday brunch. The servers were caring, informative and quite pleasant. The room was spotless , well taken care of and not missing anything. I will be going back at some point not sure when ??? Just for another couples get away and to be pampered.

Mary, Toronto

Room Tip: We were in the suite, part of the main building and we were quite happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cute inn in Niagara on the Lake, gorgeous in the winter with the hansom cabs outside, gorgeous flowers even in the dead of winter. Delicious afternoon tea (cream tea to boot -- fantastic clotted cream) with great sandwiches -- salmon and cucumber, both delicious. Nice spa, fantastic attendants. Unique salt water pool. A very special experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a one night stay at the Prince of Wales as a gift from our children. It included wine tasting during the day- dinner & breakfast the following morning. The hotel is grand with period furniture and old style charm. There were roses everywhere in vases - bowls throughout the lobby,restaurant and drawing room(s).The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.Our room was perfect with a fireplace - large washroom & very comfortable King sized bed.After an afternoon of wine tasting we arrived at our room to find chocolate & fruit- along with a card from the Manager - that was a nice touch. We had dinner at the Pillar & Post which was just a short shuttle ride away.The food there was wonderful -selection generous , as were the food portions.The service was impeccible.The following morning breakfast at the Prince of Wales was excellent. The glassed in breakfast room was a relaxing place to enjoy our meal.The service was good and the pancakes were delicious.Generous portions of fruit were also served.All is all it was a perfect experience .Niagara on the Lake is a Gem. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to the lake or touring the neighborhoods to enjoy the Fall colours. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The place is in all regards outstanding, but what stroke me most was the breakfast quality never seen before except home on a very special occasions. Salmon and sausages both being so delicious made my choice among them next to impossible and I had to have both.

Indoor salt water pool is great, SPA is great (had a fantastic massage with out of the therapists). Free of charge chattel between other vintage hotels comes handy. The inclusive branch on Sunday until 2pm is the most unexpected and appreciated thing. Really makes the price worth every dollar.

The only wish is for is for the management to be less greedy and hire more people to be available at the front. One person attending to 5 clients at the time is a bit too much. Gentlemen did world-class service, but there is a limit to what one person can do. Waiting 10-15 minutes each time just to ask a question is not acceptable for this level of hotel. I checked in after all, but had to run to get my credit card from the car (less than 1 min). Well, it cost me another 20 minutes of wait as other guests (company of 6 ladies) walked right in. If hotel is so busy and and flow of guests is non-stop, I believe extra pair of hands should be affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscarpmOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Prince of Wales for our Mini Honeymoon. We had a beautiful room with a stunning view. We did have a few issues with some charges to our card but everyone at the front desk jumped through hoops to handle everything for us promptly. Couldn't be happier with our stay! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at The Prince of Wales for our 25th Anniversary. We have stayed here before through a business venture so this was the first time we were paying for it ourselves. Let me preface this by saying Niagara-on-the-Lake is truly a town without time and this is why you are selecting this destination unlike any other. We were also upgraded to a nicer room because of our 25th Anniversary along with a nice bottle of wine, so Vintage Hotels does recognize and if possible, reward such significant events. Our bill for 2 nights was $750.00 and you get a free newspaper for it. When we checked in, there wasn't a doorman to open the door for us and we didn't get our bags taken up to our room, both of these things are normally present at The Prince of Wales. Even at these rediculously high prices, they charge you to park in the rear parking lot. You can expect to pay over $20/person just to get a simple breakfast of 2 eggs and toast. High Tea was one our favourites the first time we came, but again, we weren't footing the bill which is $32/person for some quartered sandwiches and a few squares. As crazy as this is, we had to book the Thursday and Friday nights because Saturday was completely sold out, so, people are willing to pay these prices to turn back the hands of time and stay in the heart of NOTL.
Just down the main street is a family restaurant which is great for breakfast.
Something we have never done before and now that we have, we strongly recommend it, is to rent e-skooters. Google it and do it...well worth the investment of $39.00 each for the 3 hours.
All in all, the 2 days in NOTL was almost $1500.00 with the room, 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts, 2 tickets at The Shaw and 4 bottles of wine. Do it once, but this same investment pays for a nice 4 or 5 day get-away in The Bahamas as well!!

Room Tip: The fans are very loud so ask for a room where the fan in the room is far more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing