We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Winter Birthday Getaway”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Romantic Winter Birthday Getaway”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked here again because of our previous experience. Wanting to see Niagara on the Lake during Christmas time (I had heard it was absolutely beautiful) and do a little Christmas shopping. We were not disappointed. The room was beautiful and we were greeted by the staff in a friendly manner wishing us both a Happy Birthday. Our room had fresh roses and wine on ice, a nice touch my husband had ordered but well worth it. I think there was also some fresh fruit if my memory serves me correctly. The room was beautifully decorated, stunning bathroom with jacuzzi tub and it was nice and quiet. The food was excellent as usual but for dinners we opted to visit outside of the hotel and try some new things. Be sure to visit Zee's Grill - Lobster Poutine, everything we ordered was so good we left a thank you note and an enormous tip. Everything was top notch. Back to the hotel - we had a couples massage and our massage therapists were great! Much improved from our last visit.

The linens in our room were soft, bed was cozy, television in working order and having the music on and playing softly was a nice touch upon our arrival.

The staff is always friendly and welcoming, the valet is professional and always on time. The carriage ride this time was a little chilly (no cozy blanket) but our guide was friendly and gave us information we did not receive on our previous visit.

The surrounding shops and boutiques are really quite lovely. It happened to be the day of their Santa Clause parade so we got to enjoy that as well.

Never a disappointing trip and we will shortly be booking our wedding anniversary there as well. No matter what time of year this location does not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spagirlforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    266
    127
    61
    16
See reviews for
212
978
15
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I recently planned a board meeting for our company for 21 guests at The Prince of Wales. The compliments are still coming in from our group members. They had a great time and were especially pleased with the service and amenities of the hotel. The staff was exceptional and were quick to respond to the needs of the group. Even the most seasoned travellers in the group were impressed with the arrangements that had been made. I want to thank Kaitlyn Lepp and her staff for the job well done! This is a place they will definately revisit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We are staying regularly at this property and we love it anytime of the season. The hotel (the rooms, the pool, the restaurant) is beautifully appointed and unveils so much character and old charm. I love the Tiffany’s style lamps and the bed decoration in King Suites we’ve stayed in. Deluxe room usually has the fireplace but slightly lacks the romantic French décor style. If you plan to visit this property during summer months make sure to make reservation well in advance. Also during summer months I recommend driving 20 minutes towards Niagara Falls to enjoy 99 acres of gorgeous Niagara Parks' Botanical Gardens.

The main restaurant of the hotel is lovely, the food and service is excellent. There is also afternoon tea served from noon until 6 pm I believe. However, Sunday breakfast served as a buffet is not the best I’ve had due to rather poor selection. For instance, the only meat choice is pork. There is also no tea provided in the room but if you ask it will be delivered right away.

To sum up this is a beautiful hotel located in a picture-perfect setting with vibrant Shaw festival, wineries and small boutique shops. There is no doubt we will be back many more times.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the main building are more desirable if you wish to use the swimming pool facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My lady became very sick just when we were about to leave as a result of eating contaminated shell fish (not from the hotel). The POW staff could not have been more helpful, re-programing our room key and allowing us to stay a little longer and sending up a complimentary Ginger ale and paper napkins until her sickness had passed and we could go home, all without any additional charge. They could not have been more helpful just when you most need it. I could hug them all, thank you.

Room Tip: Look for the special offers off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting The Prince of Wales. I do hope that you are feeling much better! I am so pleased to hear how the team responded to you in your time of need...exceptional! I will be sure to share your kind words with the team.
Enjoy your summer,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Went with a large group and we each had other activities to do throughout the day.

We waited more than 2 hours and then well past the check in time to get a room.

Many others in the group that could not check in (needed a late check in) actually checked in early. We waited and waited.

No ability nor willingness to swap a room for us. They were nice and attentive about not having a room ready ... But at a point that is salt in a wound and inappropriate.

It was touch and go on if we would actually stay. Because we were with the group we did, otherwise we would have walked out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daupher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I am disappointed to learn that we failed to meet expectations regarding your arrival and room access. It would be most helpful to me to learn when this occurred so that I can appropriately and correctly address the situation with my team. We do pride ourselves in guest service and I apologize for the inconvenience of the late check-in; however, I do hope that you found the time to enjoy the facilities and our beautiful town. You can reach me at 905-468-6081 or m.miller@vintage-hotels.com
Kindest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Accommodations and service were outstanding. Received great advise about shows and other activities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corning6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshiremackat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Overall, we were very pleased with our recent visit to the Prince of Wales. If you are looking for a nice weekend away, do not hesitate to stay here.

To begin, our room was very spacious and well appointed, but the colours and fabrics were a little tired. The room was well maintained, but it was showing some age. Perhaps it was just our room, but the colour scheme was all wrong - dark colours and earth tones. Now, in no way would this impact your visit to the hotel - but management should consider giving the rooms a little refresh.

Similarly, the rooms are kept quite clean. The only time we noticed dust in the room was when we had to fish for a power cord behind a dresser (the charger had fallen behind the dresser) and we found a farm of dust bunnies. A good spring cleaning was needed - but otherwise, the room was spiffy clean.

A very nice and romantic touch was the daily rose placed on our bed. My fiancee loved it. Nice touch.

We did visit the spa on the property, and enjoyed a massage. It was quite enjoyable, and we would recommend the spa services.

We also ate at two restaurants on the property and fully enjoyed our meals. Again, we would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshiremackat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing