We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Romantic Atmosphere”
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is our fourth stay at Prince of Wales. We come back for the excellent and friendly service, the historic victorian building and decor, the top quality restaurants, and comfortable, well-appointed room.

Room Tip: There are two corner executive suites with fireplace. Highly recommended if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our return to Prince of Wales was rewarding...the room was excellent and attention to detail was exceptional. The staff was very helpful and so was the overall service. For romantic get-a-way there is nothing better in NOTL. The location is great; you step out and are on the main street of the old town. With beautiful park across the street for early morning or late afternoon stroll the hotel is in a perfect location.

Room Tip: For good coffee and freshly baked croissants the Balzac's Cafe is just across the street. Good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterO709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had an awesome time. Your staff was amazing (Mitch, Bobbi...). We have never been teated so good anywhere before. My new wife felt like she was treated like a princess, which went right along with her wedding day feeling. The staff went beyond their duties to satisfy our needs. I had a very nasty allergic reaction to the horse and buggy ride. My eyes were closed shut. I had no medicine with me, My wife (I love her so) was exhausted....so "Mitch" offered to go to the drug store for us. Man, that just blew us away. Thank-you!!!

All the staff were sooo friendly & professional at everything they did for us & other guests.
We do plan on going back to The Prince of Wales for our 1st Anniversary, our 2nd, our 3rd, & so on. I miss the place already......

Trust me you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We only went once. The rooms facing Queen st. would be the ideal rooms. Balcony, morning coffee or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roboron7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Roboron7,

Congratulations on your wedding! I am so happy to know that my team made it extra special for you both on this momentous occasion. Thank you for highlighting the attentive and friendly service that you received from Bobbi and Mitch. I will be sure to share this post with them personally. We would be honoured to have you continue the tradition each year with us!
Have a great summer,
Michelle Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our was our first visit to NOTL and the Prince of Wales for our 10th wedding anniversary. ALL the staff were very welcoming, helpful, prompt & well informed. There was even a card from the manager wishing us happy anniversary! Nice touch. The hotel was beautiful and our King Suite was fabulous. We have never stayed in a more beautiful room. The bed was very comfortable and most importantly the room was very quiet. We had breakfast, dinner and high tea at the hotel. The food was delicious and the servers very skilled and friendly. The location was perfect - you are within walking distance to everything. Just park the car an enjoy. The pool and hot tub was relaxing and there were many towels available poolside. We highly recommend this hotel for a nice get away anytime. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My two sister friends and I celebrated our 50th Birthday and girls' weekend away. We had a wonderful stay in the lovely Prince of Wales. The staff and reception were friendly and helpful. Our premium room was very spacious with a small fridge, jacuzzi tub and spa products. However, we were situated at the back of the hotel, close to the pool and we could smell the chlorine. We were also presented with a rose every evening, chocolates and oranges. We had High Tea and enjoyed the sunny day overlooking Queen Street. I plan to go back for another weekend stay with my husband sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife surprised me with a night at the hotel for my birthday. Some of the main hotel rooms are a bit over stuffed (in the classic Victorian tradition) but the front desk--especialy Athena who was so very helpful--were great at selecting a perfect room. Was large, open suite with a balcony ion the Studio section and was very beautiful and tastefully decorated. A nice chocolate treat was delivered for my birthday, and a card, and the service was excellent. Staff carried our bag, arranged for a car to the restaurant etc. Breakfast was very good, warm friendly service.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk staff to make sure you get a room you like. It is an old property and while a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I booked a night at this hotel for my parents as a Mother's Day and Father's Day gift. They had the time of their life!! They said they had never been treated so well in any hotel, anywhere!! First of all, the room was gorgeous, tastefully decorated and cozy. The staff were all incredible!! They just could not do enough for you. When you phoned for something, they were knocking on your door almost before you hung up the phone, the front desk staff were so friendly and helpful and the dining room staff were also outstanding. The service and overall quality was definitely fit for a King or Queen!!! Absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geritoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

I am thrilled to know that we made you proud! It was a special gift for you to send your parents to Prince of Wales to celebrate Mother's Day and Father's Day. Thank you for sharing your story, Kind Regards, Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $184 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing