We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Stay at the Prince of Wales Niagara-on-the-Lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Stay at the Prince of Wales Niagara-on-the-Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My two sister friends and I celebrated our 50th Birthday and girls' weekend away. We had a wonderful stay in the lovely Prince of Wales. The staff and reception were friendly and helpful. Our premium room was very spacious with a small fridge, jacuzzi tub and spa products. However, we were situated at the back of the hotel, close to the pool and we could smell the chlorine. We were also presented with a rose every evening, chocolates and oranges. We had High Tea and enjoyed the sunny day overlooking Queen Street. I plan to go back for another weekend stay with my husband sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    263
    126
    60
    15
See reviews for
206
957
14
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife surprised me with a night at the hotel for my birthday. Some of the main hotel rooms are a bit over stuffed (in the classic Victorian tradition) but the front desk--especialy Athena who was so very helpful--were great at selecting a perfect room. Was large, open suite with a balcony ion the Studio section and was very beautiful and tastefully decorated. A nice chocolate treat was delivered for my birthday, and a card, and the service was excellent. Staff carried our bag, arranged for a car to the restaurant etc. Breakfast was very good, warm friendly service.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk staff to make sure you get a room you like. It is an old property and while a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I booked a night at this hotel for my parents as a Mother's Day and Father's Day gift. They had the time of their life!! They said they had never been treated so well in any hotel, anywhere!! First of all, the room was gorgeous, tastefully decorated and cozy. The staff were all incredible!! They just could not do enough for you. When you phoned for something, they were knocking on your door almost before you hung up the phone, the front desk staff were so friendly and helpful and the dining room staff were also outstanding. The service and overall quality was definitely fit for a King or Queen!!! Absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geritoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am thrilled to know that we made you proud! It was a special gift for you to send your parents to Prince of Wales to celebrate Mother's Day and Father's Day. Thank you for sharing your story, Kind Regards, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was a little hesitant about staying in a hotel more than 100 years old as usually the rooms are very small but I was pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi tub and king size canopy bed. There was a small fridge in the room as well. The staff was very friendly and attended to our every need in a timely manner. We had tea in the "Drawing Room" and it was very nice especially as we were able to enjoy it overlooking Queen St. on a beautiful spring day. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxurious get away.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking Queen St. and the park. The street is quiet so you won't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My Husband surprised me with a weekend getaway to celebrate my 40th Birthday, we both love Niagara on the Lake, but had never stayed at the Prince of Wales. We had a fabulous weekend and all of the staff were very attentive especially the Reception Manager who went that extra mile as my Husband had not informed the hotel that it was a surprise weekend for me, so once we arrived in our room we were presented with wine and chocolates to help our celebrations along.
The room was beautiful overlooking the front of the hotel with a large bathroom containing all of the spa amenities that you would require.
Both the restaurant and spa were awesome and well worth the extra money that you spend.
We would both go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Sonia K,
I am so pleased to learn that we helped to make your Birthday a special memory. Your husband did well! We look forward to having your return "in a heartbeat". All the best, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I had my wedding at this hotel and it was picture perfect. I won't go into general details of the lobby etc as a I know there are some great detailed reviews of the rooms here, but I used the Hampton Court, Three Feathers, and Prince Albert Ballroom for my wedding ceremonies and reception and all rooms were perfect to lend an intimate and romantic old-world atmosphere to my wedding, and it needed very little decoration. I am unbiased in this, I think, since all my guests agreed that this hotel is a most beautiful venue.

I had a suite for my wedding night and it was very spacious with wonderful Victorian touches to all the furnishings, including the large four poster bed, sitting area and desk, and large bathroom with a jetted tub in the corner. I've also been in a deluxe room which is less grandoise and spacious, but is just as charming and well equipped.

The Ambience sets this hotel apart from any other in the Niagara-on-the-Lake region. It's etherally old-world, elegant, and sophisticated. The hotel is iconic, and it's smack in the centre of town, steps away from great shops, shows, and great restaurants. The food in this hotel is pricey, but it's great, as is the service.

I'm not one to spend loads of money on a hotel, and this one is pricey, but I find the experience is worth it; for a special romantic occasion it's the perfect hotel.

To be unbiased, the front desk staff is nice and professional for the most part, but on some occasions I had experiernced an air of pretentiousness, and my wedding guests have mentioned this as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delineation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanty Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I wanted to surprise my wife with a special get-away weekend to celebrate 30 years since our first date (we've been dating ever since). We love Niagara on the Lake but had never stayed at the Prince of Wales before. I booked a two night getaway package that included two breakfasts and a dinner and opted for the Superior King room. My wife was thrilled on arrival. The room was richly appointed, had a great view across the main street to the park and was very quiet. I can't say enough about the service. From check-in to dining to check out we were treated like royalty. All of our dining experiences were wonderful due to the friendly and attentive servers. The atmosphere was relaxing and the food - top notch. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Superior King on the 2nd floor, main street side was very comfortable and well appointed, had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing