We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were looking for a last minute place to stay for the Jazz festival and I can't believe this little treasure was still available. I am generally not a huge fan of B&B's and instead prefer something a little more private, at Rangers Retreat though we enjoyed the hospitality of Brian and Jan who made us feel completely at home while still helping us with everything we needed. The rooms were quiet, the pool was bliss and the breakfast was outstanding. The added touches like bottles of water at the door are thoughtful and memorable. We will be back for the blues festival thanks to this great find.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_in_Canada_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Brian and Jan make an incredible impression as soon as you pull up in the driveway. The landscaping is gorgeous (wait until you see the back yard). And the home is so inviting. You can tell that they have put a lot of work into making it a place that you would love to come back to. Our room was clean and very comfortablel. The pool is welcoming on a hot summer day (they were experiencing a heat wave while we were there, so I was glad to have picked a place with a pool). And the breakfasts...FANTASTIC! Brian is an exceptional cook. Each morning we were offered a cheese plate (18 varieties), several types of fresh fruit, many kinds of fresh baked breads, and a hot dish. One morning it was eggs Benedict and the next we had French toast and maple sausage. It is a two mile walk into the main shopping area, but a very pleasant walk or bike ride. We will definitely be staying here if/when we return to this wonderful little town.

Room Tip: All of the bedrooms looked great, but the shower in our room was out of this world! The colonel'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Alaina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My sweetie and I were in Niagara on the Lake for Canada Day. We got a tip from a friend that Ranger's Retreat would be a good place to stay. Probably one of the nicest places we've ever stayed at. Brian was a very gracious host. Our room was top notch and the yard was immaculate. The pool was a little warm for my liking but refreshing none the less. The Breakfast was exceptional. The table was full of fresh cheeses, fresh breads, homemade jams and tons of fresh fruits.The topper was the fresh eggs benedict as the main course. A Breakfast like this would cost at least $25.00 per person in any hotel and would surely not be as fresh. I would definately recommend Ranger's Retreat to any and all who want a great place to stay at a very reasonable price. Great job Brian.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I'm a student from France and I live in Kingston for several months
I went to Niagara on the Lake to travel and the "ranger's retreat" was just the perfect location to stay !
A perfect reception, the owners are very friendly and hospitable
Room very beautiful, with perfect decorations and colors, and carefully prepared for the confort of the guests

The best is the breakfast, quality, quantity, diversity, taste... Just PERFECT
Thank you !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Brian welcomed us with a welcoming smile.He made us feel at home immediately. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated with gorgeous rugs and antiques. The garden is perfectly manicured and the pool(heated) is to die for.
Our room and bathroom were superb;comfortable beds and a great bathroom.Our deck overlooked the garden and pool,with mature trees and lots of birds....It is perfection !!
The breakfast really is to die for...a cheese plate that would feed 20,fresh squeezed O.J. dishes of fresh fruit,home made breads and a main dish of omelettes, Eggs Benedict etc.He also makes many of the Jams and chutnies
Brian is a retired European chef and everything was top notch. We were so happy to find a 'gold plated' B & B just a few minutes from town.We felt so "at home", it was difficult to leave each morning and accomplish the reasons for coming to Ontario !!
We both hope that we can return to Rangers Retreat in Niagara on the Lake, one day soon....
Thank you Brian...the Best Host ever !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Brian was a wonderful top notch host. The rooms are open and airy, each with an ensuite. We were in the Twins and took advantage of the balcony with a wonderful view of the garden and the pool. The beds were extremely confortable and Brian seems to have thought of everything that a guest might need.

In the evening Brian welcomed us into his family room as the tv was bigger. Very coimfortable evening with Brian cooking away in the kitchen and us relaxing in the family room.

The icing on the cake is the breakfast! Brian was a restaurant chef in a previous life and obviously has not lost any of those skills. The breakfast was abundant and every item was tasty and wonderfully prepared.

Loved our stay and would recommend Rangers Retreat to anyone staying in Niagar on the Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have stayed at B&B's before, this time was the first with a 1+ year old. Often B&Bs (understandably) have space reserved for the owners to escape. While Brian and Jan certainly enjoy their privacy - they welcomed our family but many of the other guests to enjoy their home equally during their stay.

The rooms, decor, living and kitchen environments were as immaculate and welcoming as the exterlor landscaping and pool. Perfection and warmth...

The hosts, Brian and Jan were no different. The breakfasts were impeccable. Main dish of Eggs Benedict, finest of cheeses, fresh baked breads and fruit. Brian is a 'retired' chef having owned and operated with Jan a top Dutch (Netherlands) restaurant ... The eggs benedict is to die for as is their warmth and hospitality.

Overall, the atmosphere was one best described as a "retreat" -- often with a 15 month old we dined in and enjoyed the patio or a movie from their tremendous library. (I hate to share this with the world at risk of never being able to book again... but hate not to share this wonderful find 2 min from Downtown Niagra-on-the-Lake)

**just one note - while a retreat and that we felt welcome to enjoy the entire day there** I think it is important to stress that it is a B&B (someone's home as well..easy to forget with Brian and Jan's warmth and hospitality)

*second note: It is apparent that I (we) left deeply enjoying our experience. The last few nights there we had a full house. I dare say it felt like a 'hostel' for adults. Everyone relaxed and enjoying wonderful conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itlnparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.5 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#40 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Blanca Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Blanca Boutique Bed & Break...
#65 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
30 reviews
2.4 mi away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#56 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
298 reviews
6.6 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#15 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
140 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Colonel Butler Cres | (Garisson Village), Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $151 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranger's Retreat is a 40 year old Tutor style home located in an older residental area just a 5 minute drive from the center of "old Town" Niagara on the Lake and a 15 minute drive to the Niagara waterfalls and the Border.It's also just minutes from many of the Niagara wineries and the famous George Benard Shaw theature Festival.Totally renovated, it offers 3 large bedrooms, each with en suite bathrooms, individual climate control, WiFi, Lounge area with TV,a large terras area in the gardens and a Salt water swiming pool.The room price includes a full warm and cold breakfast (owner is a retired chef), and coffee, tea and soft beverages during your stay.Bike rental is a 5 minute walk and this historic area offers many biking routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing