We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arms and the man”

Shaw Festival Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shaw Festival – bringing great theatre to life in the heart of Niagara Wine Country. One of the world’s finest theatre companies, the Shaw Festival is celebrated for its vivid and exhilarating productions of plays by Bernard Shaw and his contemporaries (1856-1950), and plays about the period of Shaw’s lifetime. Join us for a compelling theatre experience with plays in four theatres from April to October in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Located between Toronto, ON and Buffalo, NY, near Niagara.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Arms and the man”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Loved it. Never thought Shaw was a comedy playwright. Enjoyed it immensely and the acting was superb. Took time before and after to visit shops and to do some wine tasting. This is a yearly trip that may turn into a repeat performance more than once this summer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawFestival, Marketing Coordinator at Shaw Festival Theatre, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Yes, please come again! We have a great line-up this season with a variety of productions. There’s something for everyone! And taking advantage of visiting the great little shops and wineries adds to the entire experience of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,468
    309
    68
    25
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pelham,Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabaret”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have been to a number of performances at Shaw over the years but Cabaret was the best ever! Why? The entire cast were perfect in appearance and execution of their roles. Every show has outstanding players but in my mind they were all perfect. The stage and props worked perfectly and were seamless . The makeup and costumes, as well were beautiful. We were fortunate to be 5 rows from the stage and in the centre. So we saw clearly how great they were. Do your self a favour and see this show and enjoy the music, the set and a awesome cast!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawFestival, Marketing Coordinator at Shaw Festival Theatre, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
“Outstanding”, “perfect” and “seamless” … thank you for this raving review and recommendation to others to see this fabulous show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cabaret was boring. We were disappointed with the play itself.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It would have been better with more dancing and excitement. The singers were not all that great. We felt the end was very weak.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethegreatviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arms and the Man”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed the performance of Arms & the Man last weekend. The characters were portrayed superbly and the play was very funny. My sixteen year old son said that the production was brilliant. The costumes were excellent and the stage backdrop, a cuckoo clock, was very apt. I would highly recommend this production to theatre goers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawFestival, Marketing Coordinator at Shaw Festival Theatre, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are so glad that you and your son enjoyed the performance - what a great family outing! Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate your recommendation to other theatre-goers to come see this show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Caberet - Thoughts”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The production was excellent but different to other versions of the play that I have been exposed. I feel that this production was as the author intended.

The depravity and quick rise of the Nazi Party showed clearly how evil can win and take over a society. The cast was perfectly matched to portray the characters. The "Master of Ceremonies " was tall, malevolent and made one feel vulnerable to harm throughout the production. When the play ended the audience felt drained and ill at ease as the possibility of an evil empire rising seemed easily within the realm of reality. One did not leave the theatre without feeling ill at ease at the horrors to come.

This is a play that should not be missed as it teaches as well as informs. It is much more than just entertainment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Stanley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Festival Theatre also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Shaw Festival Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing