We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lady Windermere's Fan Thumbs Up”

Shaw Festival Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shaw Festival – bringing great theatre to life in the heart of Niagara Wine Country. One of the world’s finest theatre companies, the Shaw Festival is celebrated for its vivid and exhilarating productions of plays by Bernard Shaw and his contemporaries (1856-1950), and plays about the period of Shaw’s lifetime. Join us for a compelling theatre experience with plays in four theatres from April to October in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Located between Toronto, ON and Buffalo, NY, near Niagara.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lady Windermere's Fan Thumbs Up”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lady Windermere's Fan is a fantastic play to attend with family, friends or as a couple at the Shaw Festival Theatre. The play is entertaining, funny and very enjoyable. Although over 100 years old, Oscar Wilde's play captivates the audience with his humour and trickery. The theatre itself is great, but I would suggest sitting as close to the middle in order to enjoy the entire beauty of all the sets.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    305
    68
    24
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our second holiday in Niagara on the lake, we had to return to Shaw Theatre as it is such a good evening/afternoon entertainment. The cast are professional and the scenery is superb. We saw Our Betters and were blown away, it is worth every penny! Well done Shaw theatre - thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustJane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Guys and Dolls”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Superb! Brilliant! Bravo! We enjoyed last year's show and we will definitely be back in 2014. Thank you for a most enjoyable afternoon theatre!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
309 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We saw lady Windemere's Fan here yesterday. Decent play... a bit slow in the first act. The theatre is very attractive and modern. The parking lot ($10) is large and laid out well. Seats in the theatre are comfortable and have decent leg room. Tickets are pricey. I want to say they came to about $80 each. The theatre offers light dining before the show but we opted to eat in town instead. Had a great time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank setter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went to see Guys and Dolls there. What a superb musical. The festival theatre at Niagra-on-the-lake is gorgeous and has excellent acoustics inside.

We loved the experience. Highly recommended visit. Go and support this festival.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Festival Theatre also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Shaw Festival Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing