We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like about Shaw?”

Shaw Festival Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shaw Festival – bringing great theatre to life in the heart of Niagara Wine Country. One of the world’s finest theatre companies, the Shaw Festival is celebrated for its vivid and exhilarating productions of plays by Bernard Shaw and his contemporaries (1856-1950), and plays about the period of Shaw’s lifetime. Join us for a compelling theatre experience with plays in four theatres from April to October in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Located between Toronto, ON and Buffalo, NY, near Niagara.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What's not to like about Shaw?”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

George Bernard Shaw and his contemporaries wrote fantastic material to be seen over and over. This year's "Trouble in Tahiti" by Leonard Bernstein was a one-hour gem. And the town is a delight also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    305
    68
    24
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy a play”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We sat in the very last row of the theater and still enjoyed a great view and heard every word. We enjoyed the play, too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Redcrna”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We saw my girl friday and misalliance. Both plays were excellent. Both were a little slow in first half.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great performance”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Shaw festival was on and we saw a great performance of Ragtime. The food offering was very limited so best plan to eat elsewhere beforehand if attending a show. The theatre charged for parking for attending a show which in my opinion is a revenue generating scheme and unnecessary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Levelheaded32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired of the same old same old”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I wish the Shaw Theatre company would throw some classics back into their lineup of what seems to be 'alternative' pieces... My Fair Lady was such a fantastic show, I wonder why they dont put some classical musical theatre back into their programme.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank italianmama005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Festival Theatre also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Shaw Festival Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing