We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful b&b”

The Grange at Stag Hollow
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange at Stag Hollow
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Beautiful private house on the lake. Romantic and relaxing. Breakfast at the b&b was very delicious. The host Phillipe was very helpful: lots of useful info and advice about the area, best places to eat, wineries, things to do, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife & I stayed for 1 night while visiting the area for wine tours. Very clean & quaint with gorgeous views of the Lake. Weather didn't allow for us to sit outside, but if it had, would've been spectacular. Had a wonderful breakfast the next morning; we always find it interesting to chat with other couples about where they've been and what they've eaten/visited. Would actually be very fun to rent all 3 rooms with couples you know. Philip is very gracious & is a great cook. The grounds are quite nice, although weather again didn't allow for us to explore very much.

Not exactly "cheap" but good value for the money when you include personal touch & breakfast.

Room Tip: The room on the main floor has a walkout and small patio. Nice for a cheese plate late in the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rico44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spent a long weekend enjoying the gracious surroundings, wonderful and varied breakfasts, and delightful comforts of this exceptional B & B. No detail was overlooked to make our stay personal and memorable. The host is a wonderful chef and great source of knowledge about local sights, theatre, wineries, and dining. The spacious tree-filled grounds invite you to settle into a lakefront Muskoka chair to enjoy the long sunsets before returning to your most comfortable rooms and shared sitting room inside. We have travelled extensively and can say that this rare "oasis" is even more beautiful than its website reveals!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank villager25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Beautiful architecture, but the setting right on the lake was lovely at sunset. Decor was professionally done with only first class amenities; reminded us of French Country. Host was very accommodating and breakfasts were lovely and unique, such as home made yogurt, eggs nestled on pinneaple, scones and great coffee!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittenKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We wanted a special place to take family visiting from out of town and Stag Hollow was the perfect place. We had booked the Blue Room and the Red Room which are both located on the second floor with an adjacent sitting area where we could catch up on events. The rooms were bright, superbly decorated and welcoming. The French doors opened onto Juliet balconies with a view of the grounds and partial view of Lake Ontario. The sound of the lake pounding the shoreline lulled us to sleep when we opened our doors. The pictures on their website are accurate.

If you are looking for a place within walking distance to NOTL, then this is not the place for you. However NOTL is only a short drive away. Take a bottle of one the fine wines you have bought at one of the wineries and enjoy some time in the Muskoka chairs on the lawn and watch the sun set. Philip is very informative and helpful.

This B&B is worth the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noseworthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

This is one of the most delightful B&B's we have every stayed in. So incredibly immaculate in presentation, care and attentiveness. A wonderful interior to relax in, a most pleasing setting right on the lake and delightfully quiet and peaceful. We chose the blue room but all others were equally as divine and the beds and linens are first class for comfort and quality. Phillip is the consumate host and is so egalitarian in his selection of local wineries and restaurants to visit. The local community should treasure his "selling" of this delightful area. Well worth a few nights stay. Make sure your appetite is good to go for breakfast...they are imaginative and carefully selected with local produce and served with great care and attention.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful getaway, right on the lake with beautiful views, great breakfasts, and lots to do (if you want to) or not (if you just want to relax). We flew to Buffalo from Boston, rented a car, and went to Niagara Falls on our way there, toured a vineyard and ate at excellent restaurants that were not far from The Grange. Phil is an incredible host, attending to every detail, and cooking a marvelous breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara02021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
6.0 mi away
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
#5 of 23 in St. Catharines
33 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tigh-na-Mara Bed and Breakfast
Tigh-na-Mara Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 23 in St. Catharines
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Porch and Pillow
The Porch and Pillow
#13 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
105 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfas...
#56 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
91 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#10 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange at Stag Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange at Stag Hollow

Address: 50 Firelane 11a, RR3, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private, vintage, 2 acre lakefront estate with 21st century amenities located amidst the vineyards, restaurants, theaters and sights of Historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada: the only B&B on Lake Ontario. Luxury and gourmet breakfasts combine with a cozy lakeside setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing