We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hostess, beautiful accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful hostess, beautiful accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake, and we were so happy that we booked at Copper Lane. We had a wonderful experience. Our hostess was so friendly and helpful, and a very good cook. She was also able to help with some dietary restrictions. We got great advice on activities and local hot spots (wineries). The B&B was in a heritage house that had been converted. It was cozy and charming, and exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: The Nutmeg Room on the second level has a full Jacuzzi ensuite. The Cocoa Bean room on the second l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Always great to meet new friends from our western provinces! so glad you enjoyed our recommendations and thanks for the cooking comment. Just to let you know, the Nutmeg room has a two person soaker tub in the ensuite, complete with bubble bath!

Hope you both can come for another visit soon, there's lots more activities to do, special events to experience, beautiful nature to enjoy. And one day we will get Edmonton way to enjoy your special community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was so fortunate to have booked the Copper Lane. It is close to the Main Streets of Niagara on the Lake. The look of the house attracted me when I booked. When I arrived, I was warmly welcomed by Maddy, the owner. The 1871 house was so well appointed and well maintained. The decorating was so very charming. The room was lovely. It had a pair of leather tub chairs. The one wall was all books. The bathroom was totally up to date.

Before supper I had asked for a recommendation about a great supper place. Not only did she recommend a place to eat which turned out to be fantastic, her husband Bill and 2 other guests accompanied us. The conversation was so lovely. After supper we were offered coffee and tea. The wonderful socializing lasted until about 11:30. The stories told by all, were so much fun. Maddy and Bill are so very gracious!

Maddy asked if there were any diet restrictions at the time of booking. The breakfast was one to remember in a very positive way. I recall that 4 out of 6 of us had diet restrictions. With the complications of the restrictions, Maddy did not skip a beat.

The experience at the Copper Lane will be blazed in my memory as an amazing experience.

I will be back!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobDyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Why thanks! we had a wonderful time at dinner, at the house after and thoroughly enjoyed your entire visit. It's so easy with such nice guests and that's what make running a B & B so great! I hope you do get to come back again soon, we'd love to see you again and catch up!

And so glad you like both the look and feel of the place, that's what made us fall in love with it as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Niagara-on-the-Lake is a trememndous weekend getaway for couples. Although my wife and I have visited Niagara Falls more than a dozen times, we had never ventured to this great little village. Boy, have we missed out. The village is filled with a great vibe of international flavor. What a great way to spend time by walking down the village streets holding hands and talking, walking in and out of shops. You really would never know that Niagara Falls is just 20-30 minutes away. If you're looking for big, chain hotels, you won't find them in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Most all accomodations are by way of Bed and Breakfast homes. We had never stayed at a B&B before, so this was a first for us. We couldn't have been luckier than to have selected Copper Lane. Maddie was a gracious host that made us feel at home. My wife and I were able to sit and relax on the veranda to talk and watch. Breakfast was phenomenal. Maddie served a fruit parfait then some stuffed French toast. And what breakfast isn't complete without cupcakes for dessert? The room was very well appointed with a comfortable bed and as well as very clean. In addition to our stay we also went on a wine tour through six wineries in the region. Maddie took care of booking the tour, we had to do nothing but wait for the van to pick us up at the front door. The tour included tastings at 5 different wineries then a complete winery tour at Pilleteri Wineries. We left Copper Lane feeling refreshed and wanting to come back next weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgs4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am always so glad when we are the selected accommodation for "newcomers" to the world of Bed & Breakfasts! We like to set the standard high so all our guests enjoy a wonderful experience. We're so glad you found NOTL and enjoyed your stay here! We'd love to have you back "next weekend" or anytime but be sure to book ahead as many times we are booked well in advance. Now you know how close we are for travelling we hope you make it back this way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As part of an anniversary getaway, we treated ourselves to a night at Copper Lane B&B. We stayed in the Nutmeg Room which was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and the bed luxurious! Maddie was a wealth of information and I was impressed at how she continues to research the resources of the area in order to give her guests informed recommendations. Breakfast was delicious, location was convenient, parking ample - couldn't have asked for more... except for maybe another day or two.

Room Tip: Something to consider: Vanilla Bean room is on main floor by front door. Other two rooms are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Glad you spent your anniversary with us! I do try to keep up with what's going on in town as we are such a busy community with the history, theatres and the wineries! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you make it at least an annual tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This is an all around wonderful place to stay. Maddie is a wonderful host and made our stay so pleasant. She makes a great breakfast and the presentation of the food makes you feel so special and at home all at the same time! Definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments! Next time I'll make you our stuffed, baked french toast with my home made applesauce and raspberries instead of the ricotta which you may prefer! I'm glad you decided to stay the extra night and have some peaceful relaxation instead of hitting the big city! Hope you did get to enjoy a ballgame, and if not, on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood ,Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights (Tues,Wed) at Copper Lane in the heart of Niagara on the Lake. It is less than a block from the main Street and only about 3 blocks from Lake Ontario. We rented the Cocoa Bean room with your private bathroom being directly across the hall. We saved a little by opting for that as opposed to the other 2 rooms which have their own attached en suite bathroom. Maddie is a very friendly, cheery, informative hostess sharing lots of tips on what to do while visiting the area. She provided business cards to use for complimentary wine tastings and shared information about each in addition to maps and pamphlets to help us in our travels. Her breakfasts are interesting and delicious with enough food to fill you til late afternoon. Dining options for your other meals are plentiful all with in easy walking distant and without reservations. (only drove truck to wineries and the falls) We took in the horse and buggy tour learning about some of the history of the area. We would gladly return to this establishment for its location, atmosphere and friendly hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for the review. Niagara-on-the-Lake is the premium escape in Southern Ontario and being an international destination it can be a little pricey! So glad you enjoyed your stay and if there is anything we can do to make your sleep quality perfect, pop me an email with your suggestions! Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed at many B&B's over the years at Niagara-on-the-Lake. This was the best experience! Fantastic location, a great hostess, and a wonderful room. It was so nice to come back at the end of our day and have some quiet time on Maddie's beautiful porch. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goaliemom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellor, Owner at Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks! We are not too far from you but it is great to have someplace close to home for a quiet get away.We love it when our guests enjoy the veranda as it is a beautiful spot! We were pleased that you chose us, enjoyed your stay at Copper Lane, and we hope you'll come back seasonally!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#62 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paris Guest House
Paris Guest House
#135 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#57 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#46 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luisa's Suite Retreat
Luisa's Suite Retreat
#90 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scarlet Tunic Bed and Breakfast
Scarlet Tunic Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 18 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast

Property: Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Address: 28 Johnson St | P.O. Box 1301, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada (Formerly Copper Lane Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Copper Dreams, in the heart of the Historic Old Town, in Niagara on the Lake. We strive to present a relaxing, comfortable home, rich in all things that life in this glorious region has to offer. Copper Dreams proposes a mix of the historic and the modern, as this historically significant home, circa 1870, fully renovated and restored in the last few years, blends seamlessly with modern furnishings, artwork, technology, and amenities. The guest rooms feature all new hypoallergenic pillow top plush mattresses, duvets and pillows. Televisions, fireplaces, robes, iOS compatible radios and seating areas are common to all rooms. Complimentary snacks and refreshments are available at all times. Whether you are looking for some fun with a kindred spirit, a romantic get away, or a cultural adventure (or all of the above), Copper Dreams is a great starting point for your activities. We are located within easy walking distance of the three Shaw theatres, one block from shopping, spas, galleries and museums, and surrounded by historic sites. All things culinary, from fine dining, to pubs, to coffee and gelato bars, and everything in between, is literally around the corner, and the lake is just a short stroll through the town. With ample free parking on site and wine tours stopping at our front door, use of your car is strictly discretionary. We are here to make this a relaxing, invigorating and memorable vacation, so let me know of any special needs or desires, and I will do my best to make your dreams come true! Please visit our web site for more details, and thank you. Robert Chapla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing