We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and best value in NOTL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Pillow and Toast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Pillow and Toast
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and best value in NOTL”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night and have nothing but positive things to say about our stay. Our host was welcoming, informative, friendly and an excellent cook. There were many information brochures in our room and Mike has compiled a list of NOTL restaurants with their menus and prices which proved very handy.
The King room had a very comfortable king-sized bed, good closet space and en-suite bathroom with shower. All were very clean. Breakfast was delicious.
The lay-out of this family home is suited to a B&B because it gives owners and guests complete privacy if they wish. As guests, we felt welcome and did not feel we were intruding into the family's space. The home is well-decorated with lovely gardens back and front. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood about 3km from The Shaw Festival Theatre so is very convenient if you plan on seeing a play or two.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Pillow and Toast for one night.The rooms are very cosy and beautifully designed. Nothing fancy but I had the feeling that I am in my grandma's home. The entire place, including bathrooms was spotless! The mattress was definitely of very high quality. We had a great night sleep and woke up to fresh smell of coffee and healthy and meticulously prepared breakfast. In particular, Mihail offered usa home made peach jam that was phenomenal! I spent the rest of the day trying to find a similar jam in the local store, alas! none of them looked like the jam at A Pillow and Toast!

Room Tip: The king room has a bathroom inside. The bathroom for one of the single rooms is outside. But both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golchehreh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Niagara on the Lake is an idyllic little town, like in a fairy tale. Me and my friends were really impressed by it and our impressions of the town wouldn’t have been so wonderful if we didn’t have chosen the most perfect bed and breakfast! “A pillow and a toast” is more than one can expect: nice, cozy, clean rooms, delicious breakfast, a family atmosphere. The lovely couple who owns it make the difference! They make you feel like home (or better :) ).
You feel in an instant welcome. They are marvellous hosts! Unbelievable how friendly, helpful, obliging, funny and pleasant. I will definitely visit Mike and Nicoleta again!
I strongly recommend this excellent bed and breakfast! It’s more than a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great place, away from the bustle closer to the Falls. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a friendly town with nice restaurants and at least one perfect B&B: a Pillow and Toast is run by Mihail who is a very friendly, easygoing, helpful host. We (my wife and I and our 2 sons) occupied 2 of the three rooms. These rooms were nicely decorated and each had their own bathroom. The beds were nice and breakfast was superb ! All freshly prepared by Mihail himself who only insists that you eat at least one toast....
We'll be back sometime !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurbolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

One might think that a B&B is merely a business - not this one! When you see the hosts' big smile, feel their passion for what they're doing and feel like family, you can't wait to come back.
The home is very easy to find, the area is wonderful and the beds and pillows are perfect. My husband said he hadn't slept so well in weeks!
Breakfast is prepared at the guests' leisure, with various herbs from their garden, yummie, the jam is home-made and everything is prepared and presented with love. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed here after reading reviews on trip advisor and shopping for a good price. we were given the perfect amount of interaction with our hosts which we thought was great... they were very helpful with suggestions and wine passes, served excellent breakfasts and let us have our own time without bothering. Couldn't of asked for better amount of face time.
The house was nice and we enjoyed the tasteful art items (empty picture frame in front of a flower etc.).
Overall we enjoyed our 2 nights stay.
For constructive critism the bathroom fan in non ensuite bathroom needs replacement as it's really really loud (shot) and the TV is quite smaller then we're use to but served it's purpose (Niagra on the Lake shuts down it's shops fairly early).
Once again it's great value, great hosts and we will likely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halligan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I returned home today from a trip to Niagara on the Lake.
After one night's accommodation
I'm so glad I chose this place,
Place is beautiful and decorated, gives a feeling of home away from home.
The rooms are clean, large bed and very comfortable.
Breakfast being prepared especially for you (very tasty!!!! it should be noted) ..
But most importantly, it's the people, the owner is kind, always smiling. Helped me a lot.
Great price ... worth every penny ...
PS .. If you arrive without a car, worth taking a cab from downtown, travel cheap
(about 10 $)...
Enjoy....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
Dorchester House Bed and Breakfast
Dorchester House Bed and Breakfa...
#99 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#58 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
85 reviews
4.4 mi away
As You Like It B&B
As You Like It B&B
#67 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#63 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
21 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Pillow and Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Pillow and Toast

Property: A Pillow and Toast
Address: 8 Garrison Village Dr, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet neighborhood part of the historic old town. Close to major attractions, family oriented, open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Pillow and Toast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing