We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

The Ice House Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.42*
and up
Private Winery Tour of Niagara-on-the-Lake
More Info
$21.64*
and up
Niagara Ice House Winery Ice Wine Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come visit this small century old peach packing barn that has been refurbished into a cozy winery, that produces only Icewine and every visitor is welcomed like an old friend. Open daily from 11am to dusk from September to June and 10:30 to 7pm in July and August. Enjoy our famous N'Icewine Slushies and learn about the secrets of Icewine. Try 3 Northern Ice Premium Icewines for $10 paired with a snack and find out the secrets of how Icewine is made plus the Art of Blending Icewine into Cocktails. Located just past Queenston on the Niagara Parkway; a short distance from Niagara Falls on your way to Niagara on the Lake. This is a unconventional, must see destination when you visit Niagara Falls and the Niagara Wine Region!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On the way back to Niagara Falls from touring Lake Ontario, we spied a sign announcing "Ice Wine Slushies". We wheeled right in, and are so glad we did! We were met by one of the owners, Kathy, a former food scientist. She started us off with sample ice wine slushies, and we were hooked. We then opted for the wine tasting, which was paired with different foods. She was so entertaining and informative. The only drawback was we couldn't take any home with us because we travel too lightly--we don't check any bags. We also can't have it shipped to the states--darn those federal and state laws! So, I guess we'll just have to come back! Well worth the visit.

Thank NanceR329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for The Ice House Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 333 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Drove to this winery on recommendation from another winery, beccause I love ice wine and this is ALL they do. Got there just in time for a wine tasting with a bunch of guys from Holland. Very indepth tasting. Probably 7-8 tastings paired with different foods. Great price. Bought a reisling and even my wife loved it. Great hospitality and the slushy is free for walking in the door. :-)

Thank supermanmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karenicehouse, Owner at The Ice House Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We enjoyed having you visit us and we are glad you enjoyed the Icewine Tastings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We finally stopped here after several trips to NOTL. Awesome old building, tasting was $12 and included snacks with the wine. Very informal and friendly, really nice. We had to leave quickly because our son was with us and was sick. We did get 2 bottles of the delicious Vidal and are looking forward to returning in June to get a slushy ( it was snowing and windy on April 20, just couldn't do it!) definitely check it out, I thought the ice wine was as good, if not better, than Inniskillin.

Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our second visit to the Ice House Winery.

Our first visit was about four years ago when Ice wine was just hitting the markets.
Ice House winery was the best back then and still is today.
Karen was excellent, informative and friendly. The ice wine and food pairing were perfect.
We were travelling with kids and she was attentive even to the boys.
I can't wait to make ice wine slushies!
A must do on a visit to on your visit to Niagara wineries.

1  Thank Iratherbetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karenicehouse, Owner at The Ice House Winery, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It was great fun to meet your family, your sons were perfect gentlemen! Thank you so much for your kind words, we know sincere comments like yours do make a difference! We look forward to seeing you again and your sons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

James, the winemaker, and Deb made us feel at home. The delicious tasting was a bonus. Ice wine slushies, wasabi crackers, chili dark chocolate, laughs and more ice wine! Even if you don't care for sweet ice wine the drive there is so beautiful,definitely worth it.

Thank MichiganTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karenicehouse, Owner at The Ice House Winery, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Ice House. Both Deb and Jamie enjoyed having you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Ice House Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing