We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ice House Winery

The Ice House Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.38*
and up
Private Winery Tour of Niagara-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come visit this small century old peach packing barn that has been refurbished into a cozy winery, that produces only Icewine and every visitor is welcomed like an old friend. Open daily from 11am to dusk from September to June and 10:30 to 7pm in July and August. Enjoy our famous N'Icewine Slushies and learn about the secrets of Icewine. Try 3 Northern Ice Premium Icewines for $10 paired with a snack and find out the secrets of how Icewine is made plus the Art of Blending Icewine into Cocktails. Located just past Queenston on the Niagara Parkway; a short distance from Niagara Falls on your way to Niagara on the Lake. This is a unconventional, must see destination when you visit Niagara Falls and the Niagara Wine Region!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The owners seer very willing to offer SAmples and explain the process of ice wine

Helpful?
2 Thank VickiHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    73
    19
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you're in NOTL for ice wine this is the place to go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Complimentary ice wine slushier upon arrive. If that doesn't get you how about almonds and chocolate with your tasting? Or buy a bottle get a bottle? See why this is the place? We bought three bottles which means we got six bottles total and carried them gingerly back to our B&B on bikes (with big smiles on our faces). And yes the ice wine was fabulous.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jc17oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ice wine slushies are amazing!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

A really quaint small winery, specializing only in Ice wine. Friendly informative tour and great food and ice wine tasting.
Ice wine slushies are to die for!!
Well worth a visit :)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Ice House Winery, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you so much for telling us how much you enjoyed theIcewine Slushies at The Ice House Winery! We were amazed how just adding ice to Northern Ice Vidal gave it such a different sensory impression. We love how it makes people smile and say "Wow!"

Cheers to you and visit often!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generous tasting of Ice Wine. Worth a stop.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stopped there due to the #1 ranking on tripadvisor. I was expecting something exciting, but it's just a very basic, small building that includes the equipment and sampling station. We were given a complimentary Ice Wine slushy right away, and then invited to sample the 2 kinds of ice wine they make. (they only make ice wine here). It was nice to have the chocolate and wasabi peas with the wine, and the staff was very friendly. We ended up buying a bottle of each kind. I'm not sure this deserves the #1 attraction in N.O.T.L., but if you like ice wine, then it's worth a stop!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank skirochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Different from the big vineyards - in a good way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you're tasting ice wines in the Niagara-on-the-Lake area, don't miss The Ice House, which makes Northern Ice wines. Allison was our hostess, and she was friendly and professional. (Note to the boss: she's a really great salesperson.) Icewine slushies are a fun alternative, especially on a hot day. Lots of fun, even without air conditioning. Ask your hotel for a coupon for a free tasting. If not, the tasting fee goes toward a purchase.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Aydenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Ice House Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing