We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Country B&B exceeded all of our expectations.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wine Country Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Holtwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine Country B&B exceeded all of our expectations.”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The friendly innkeepers were very accommodating with helpful tips to make this a wonderful vacation. The entire inn was spotless, comfortable, charming and welcoming. The beautifully presented breakfasts are deserving of a five star rating!!! If you like to bicycle, the innkeeper provides bikes that are in excellent condition to use in this bike friendly town. Cocktail hour and evening relaxation on the porch is a treat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoltwoodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
183
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

John & Jeff are great B&B owners with an in-depth knowledge of the area, wineries and restaurants. We have been staying with them for over five years and wouldn't even consider another property. We are always welcomed back as old friends. A 10 minute walk to all three theatres yet far enough from the main street to remain peaceful and a feeling of being in the country.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewhavenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend, and it is a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. The entire house is meticulously clean (I'm pretty specific when it comes to cleanliness, and I couldn't even see a speck of dust to complain about). We stayed in the Queenston Suite, which was nicely decorated and spacious, with a private balcony and a super-clean ensuite bathroom. John, our host there, was extremely friendly and personable, and more than willing to answer questions about the area and offer helpful suggestions. The best part of the stay must have been the breakfast, however. Fresh, tasty coffee, a strawberry smoothie, a delicious muffin-type starter, grilled breakfast sandwich with eggs, cheese, tomatoes and a small salad... all finished off with a coconut pudding-like dessert with whipped cream and whole fresh cherries. I'm not even doing the breakfast justice by trying to describe what John made, because each dish was much more complex than I'm giving it credit for.

Overall a fantastic experience, when we come back to this area we will definitely stay here again. If I could give the Service, Sleep Quality, Cleanliness, and Food more than the 5 stars TripAdvisor allows, I would.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LabMonkeyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Wine Country B&B in mid July and quite enjoyed it.
The room (Queenston) was spacious and clean. There was also a large, private balcony over the front porch.
The host, John, was very gracious and accommodating.
The house is located at the edge of the village (near the Pillar & Post), so it is quiet. It is a pleasant walk to Peller estates through the Butler Barracks park. (It allows a lovely stroll home after doing the Chef's menu with wine pairings.)
The breakfast on the front porch was wonderful. Happily John is willing to share his blueberry coconut muffin recipe. The eggs Benedict were cooked perfectly.
I would recommend staying here. Very good value.
Only one comment: sound does travel when other guests are in the hallway, but with only three guest rooms there wasn't a lot of traffic. It didn't impact our sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilinghendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at Wine Country B&B over the 4th of July/Canada Day weekend 2011. My wife and I along with my mother and her fiance occupied two of the three simply but elegantly decorated rooms. The surrounding landscaping is pristeen and artistic. The renovation to the house is modern and inviting. Jeff and John, the owners, are extrememly kind and warm people. John makes a hell of a breakfast too. We had wholesome banana oat muffins, decadent eggs Benedict with a pepper, squash, and mushroom salad and blueberry/cherry shortcake for dessert. The location is wonderful as well, only a couple of blocks from the downtown shoppes and nestled in the middle of the wineries. The rates are very affordable when you consider the wonderful atmosphere and service you receive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iudoc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Wine Country B&B. There are a number of reasons we keep returning. First and foremost is the excellent service and attention to detail that is lavished upon you by John & Jeff. The property is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are tastefully decorated with all the amenities. The location is ideal, a short beautiful walk and you in the heart of Niagara on the Lake and a short drive to the main road that leads to all the wineries. The best part of the stay is the amazingly over the top, delicious and decadent breakfasts that they served. A bonus is that they also make accommodations for dietary restrictions. We will continue to return once a year for an amazing get away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtechers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I have been married for 4 years and wanted to celebrate in Niagara on the lake. We had never been there before and we were quite overwhelmed with all the options (over 200!). We are very picky people and have high standards, We chose this bed and breakfast and honestly couldn't have been happier. The hosts john and jeff were incredibly welcoming and kind. The entire home was immaculate, I couldn't believe how much so. Food was amazing, perfectly prepared and soooo delicious. The only unfortunate thing about this B & B is that the bar has been set so high that I'll surely be disappointed elsewhere. Prior to our vist we told the hosts/owners that I had a bit of a lactose - intolerance... and they went out and bought lactose -free milk !

We would return in a heart beat. If you have the option, upgrade to the room with a balcony, so beautiful!

They also provide the use of mountain bikes for free.. which was such a great addition to our trip! A great way to travel the gorgeous niagara on the lake.

Thank you for such a great anniversary weekend, we will remember it always!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#39 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wine Country Bed & Breakfast
Address: 75 John Street W | PO Box 1789, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Bed & Breakfast is a fully restored twentieth century home situated in Old Town Niagara-on-the-Lake. Detailed moulded ceilings; wide plank pine floors and soft, rich colours and textures greet you as you enter our home. Our fireplace and comfy chairs are the perfect companions as you relax with a book or a glass of wine, you can also sit on our front veranda and enjoy the sunsets and our award winning garden. Our guest rooms are furnished with antique period pieces and each suite has an en-suite bathroom. The decor of each room shadows that of three different areas of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Conveniently located two doors from the Pillar & Post Spa, our home is a short 10 minute stroll from historic Queen Street shops and the Shaw Theatres. Catch-up on some much needed rest and relaxation at the Wine Country Bed & Breakfast in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. Our promise to you - warm hospitality, clean comfortable suites and a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing