We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal weekend stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Bees Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I just had the most wonderfully accomodating long weekend stay. It was at Two Bees Bed and Breakfast as the guests of Lori and Al Bisback, right in the historic district of Niagra-on-the-lake. We were treated to a gracious home and served gourmet (and I mean gourmet!) breakfasts on the front veranda each morning. We were within walking distance of the theatres for the Shaw Festival, as well as for everything else that this charming town has to offer, including wineries. We felt as though we were visiting friends, as both Lori and Al even spent time chatting and laughing with us. Our visit was a mixure of relaxation and fun!

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms to accomodate guests' needs.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Two Bees Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

From the moment we arrived until our departure two days later, our stay at Two Bees was extremely pleasant. Al and Lori make you feel very welcomed and are knowledgeable on the local restaurants and wineries. Our bed in the Dickinson Suite was very comfortable and the whirlpool bath was a sight for sore eyes (and aching muscles) after our seven hour road trip. Breakfast each morning was delicious with Lori's creative touch leaving us full until dinnertime. Their location is perfectly situated near the shops, restaurants, etc. of NOTL, yet quiet and relaxing. Their front porch is a wonderful spot for a glass of wine and good conversation while enjoying the gardens. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-WestChesterPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Last year, my friend and I passed the Two Bees while on a stroll and stopped to admire the lovely gardens. The host, Al, promptly invited us to come in, tour the garden and enjoy the flowers as long as we liked. We knew then that this was a place that offered true hospitality, and resolved to stay there on our next visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

We were not disappointed. Our room was ready when we arrived early in the afternoon. The hosts welcomed us personally, and gave us "the tour" of their beautiful home. There was a very comfortable sitting room, with fireplace, for guest use. Our room was beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. They provided a wide selection of hot and cold beverages, available anytime, as well as snacks . Long-distance calls in North America were toll-free. They lent books (just mail them back when you're done!), maps, and umbrellas. There were many thoughtful details, like a tiny flashlight hung behind the room door. I cannot think of anything that was wanted or needed during our stay that was not available or immediately provided.

Breakfast, which we ate on the wraparound porch overlooking the garden, was delicious. WE were served fresh fruit, juices, fresh-baked pastries, egg dishes, peameal bacon...we certainly didn't need to eat lunch.

The hosts were always available with pleasant conversation and helpful restaurant suggestions. When we left, we received directions, a hearfelt goodbye, and a small bottle of honey to take home.

We will certainly be going back next year.

Room Tip: There are three guest rooms, all wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have stayed at several B&B's in NOTL and found Two Bees to be exceptional. Our room was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. We thoroughly enjoyed starting our day by eating Lori's delicious breakfast on the front porch, and ending our day relaxing on the front porch. Al was very helpful with suggesting activities, restaurants, and sites to see in the area. Staying at Two Bees is a must if you are visiting Niagara on the Lake!

Room Tip: The front room is the largest with a beautiful bathroom suite. It is also very quiet and comfortabl...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We called Two Bees to send a special surprise to our friends for their 25th Anniversary stay at the B & B. We missed each other on the initial call, however Lori called back three times to connect with us to help us out. She offered suggestions of wine to flowers, from restaurant to theatre tickets. Further she offered to pick up, wrap & attach a card for any of the above without any compensation for her time or materials. Our entire conversation was pleasant and professional and it was very evident that her concern was only for her patrons to have the most special time at their facilities. Thank you so much Lori.
We tried to book this for our Anniversary on 2 separate recommendations from friends and discovered it was booked. With the testimonies our friends gave and the stellar customer service it was no surprise they were . Will plan ahead next time to bask in their B&B hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Lisa768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This review is long overdue. My husband and I have stayed in NOTL many times for anniversaries, birthdays, festivals etc, and we've always stayed in one of the fancy hotels - but this stay in June was FAR superior to anything we've ever experienced before. Lori and Al are the epitome of hospitality. They are the perfect hosts in every way and put those large hotels to shame.
They say ‘the devil’s in the details’ and if that’s so, then Al and Lori have hit every one. Their house and grounds are absolutely stunning. Charming, rustic and well maintained - it truly felt as if we were coming home. It is also within walking distance of the lake, the parks, the golf course and Queen St. (the main street in NOTL).
Lori is an excellent cook. She makes a delicious breakfast every morning and manages to do so while keeping the fare healthy and light. (No soggy muffins here!!) Everything is made from scratch - from the biscuits to the granola to the crepes - no detail is overlooked, and Lori even strives to make sure that no breakfast is ever repeated for any guest! (What a challenge!)
If the weather is nice, breakfast is taken on the veranda overlooking the street and beautiful gardens, and almost everything they serve is locally grown, raised or produced.
The rooms are luxurious and sumptuous, and even the room decor changes by the season! (The bedspread, decorative pillows etc are changed. Obviously linens are changed regularly).
Al is a phenomenal homeowner and host. You can tell he takes pride in his work. I accidently broke something in the room, and was completely mortified. But Al handled the situation with a quiet dignity and refused to let me cover the cost of the little mishap, even though I insisted.
It should be noted that my husband and I are both 28, and even though the average demographic of this small town tends to be a little older, Al and Lori fit in with every age group, without feeling like parents! hahaha
Lori and Al are so knowledgeable about everything in the area. They are so down to earth and REAL, and we felt like after talking to them for a few hours that we had known them our whole lives, ha! They strive to make sure you have a fantastic experience and are always there with suggestions, advice or ideas on how to make your trip even more memorable. But they are just as ready to hang back and let you be if you prefer to be left to yourself.
This B&B is simply wonderful. But honestly it’s not the gorgeous gardens, luxurious rooms or fabulous food that makes this place spectacular, it’s the hosts. You really are hard pressed to find people more open and friendly than Al and Lori. This is honestly and without a doubt one of the best places we have ever stayed. Kudos to Al and Lori for their fabulously relaxing home away from home!

Room Tip: Book early! or Call well in advance
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_S27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lori and Al are the best hosts ever! They have a charming, clean, comfortable home in a very convenient location. However, they just beat any other B&B hosts we have ever had in 7 years of visiting NOTL. They are the most friendly, informative, and helpful hosts. They are also comfortable to let you do random things without advice, if that is your choice. One activity can be just to sit on the veranda read books (Lori has a huge library if you forgot one to read, and she will loan her copy!) or watch birds as you admire the gardens. Not to go without mention, they serve delightful breakfasts, on the lovely veranda, with agreeable weather! These bees are full of honey and do not sting... LOVED it!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcmx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#85 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakewinds Country Manor
Lakewinds Country Manor
#16 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#12 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace House Bed and Breakfast
Grace House Bed and Breakfast
#67 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Bees Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Bees Bed & Breakfast

Address: 169 Gate Street | PO Box 1966, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $118 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olde Towne Niagara on the Lake, Queen Anne style home, wrap around porch, gourmet breakfast, close to theatre and wineries,on the carriage route, parking on site and walk everywhere.WiFi through out property included with off street parking. Luxury in an historic setting!Niagara on the Lake has been named "Canadas #1 Food & Wine destination", 'Trip Advisor 2011'.Two Bees has also been awarded 2012,2013 and 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence.Two Bees is proud to be included on the list of the Top 25 Bed and Breakfasts in Canada and recently received the prestigious 'Trip Advisor 2013 Travellers' Choice 'award. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing