We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Beautiful house, friendly helpful hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Perfect location for walking to all the Shaw Festival Theatres. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
172
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oneida, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Not only is it a truly beautiful property, but Yolanta and Howie were wonderful people. We felt like we were staying with friends. Did not expect all the extra perks: our own personal consierge service, free wine tasting tics, and fabulous breakfasts!

It is always nice to go somewhere where the 'locals' go and Yolanta and Howie gave us plenty of fantastic recommendations. We'll have to plan another trip because we didn't get time to do everything they suggested.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSorbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochranton, pa
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This B&B was fantastic! We stayed 2 wonderful nights. The owners (Jolanda & Howard)were very nice, and very helpful with planning our day. They even told us to call them if we had any problems. There was a very homelike atmosphere that made you feel as if you were visiting friends.. We missed our pets, so having theirs to pet made our trip a little easier. Breakfasts were amazing. Howard was a great chef ! Remembering the breakfasts will bring a smile to your face. They added personal touches for our convience in & near our rooms that added to our comfort. We could go on & on, but will end with, we can't wait to return & will be telling our friends & family that this is the place to stay in Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

After staying at Historic Lyons House for 10 days (yes, you read that correctly), we feel well-qualified to give the highest recommendation for this glorious B & B. The owners, Howard and Jolanta, listened to our interests and provided excellent insight into things to do, places to eat, and how to best enjoy the delightful town of Niagara-on-the Lake. What a friendly, welcoming couple! The commons areas and bedrooms were immaculate and tastefully appointed with historic furniture and beautiful (modern day) paintings. The central air worked well against the summer heat. Our room, Sir John, had a firm queen bed, a large, up-to-date ensuite bathroom, and a big HD flatscreen TV that we mainly used for its many music channels. In our room, we enjoyed reading in the sitting area which faced the fireplace. Breakfast, a highlight of our day, was served in the high-ceiling dining room. Delicious fresh fruit was always the first course, followed by a scrumptious entree that varied each day (amazing variety!). Howard and Jolanta did an incredible job accomodating our low-cholesterol needs, as well as taking care of other guests' dietary restrictions. All in all, HIstoric Lyons is a place not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B - adorable rooms, gracious hosts, and delicious breakfast in the morning! We would stay here again - and recommend it - in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ero8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Lyons House is the best B&B in Niagara!! The place is just Beautiful and the second you arrive you feel right at home. There is nothing else to do but just sit back and RELAX! The hospitality and cleanliness is Outstanding!!! When we stay here, we feel like we are part of the family. The morning Breakfast are amazing, you cannot wait to the next morning. The Innkeepers,Howard and Joanta are extremely knowledgeable and take care of any dining reservations and all their recommendations are always terrific!! This was our second trip to Niagara and the main reason we went back was because this place is so RELAXING for us. We are planning another trip in October and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Lyons B&B for a portion of our honeymoon. Howie & Yolanti were very well informed about the area & very friendly. They keep a clean house that is wonderfully decorated with artwork from a local artist. Each morning Howie makes an exquisite breakfast. We really enjoyed our

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lposch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#29 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Property: Historic Lyons House
Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing