We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Visit”

Cattail Creek Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cattail Creek Estate Winery is the cumulation of three generations of grape growing in Niagara on the Lake. Born from a passion for growing quality grapes and making great wines, Cattail Creek focuses on producing hand crafted wines.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I stopped for our anniversary and we had a super friendly hostess and she was very pleasant and informative. The Catastrophe wine is very delicious. Samples are 1 or 2 dollars a sample but waived if you purchase a bottle.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My friends and I were visiting NOTL for our own wine tasting weekend getaway. We really excited when we found a winery off the beaten path that we had never heard of before. Upon entering the winery we discovered the boutique was very outdated. The displays and wines were very dusty. The service was mediocre at its best. The people next to us at the tasting bar were even experiencing the same mediocre service. The wines that we sampled were quite tasty however the overall ambience of the place lacked character. Will this be place we will return? Likely not.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place needs to advertise more!

We come to this region frequently but our discovery of this winery was more by luck than by design.

We read about a neat experience they offer, the "Picnic in the Vineyard" so we arrived, picked our picnic lunch from a menu, selected a delicious Reisling and proceeded out to one of the vine rows and waited.

After just a few minutes the staff member appeared with our basket, full of fresh bread, delicious anitpasto, along with out selected meats and cheeses. These were not grocery store variety items either, the double-cream brie was among the best I've had anywhere, and the asiago was not far behind.

What an amazing experience, sitting in a vineyard, on a blanket, enjoying delicious food, drinking a fine bottle of wine. I strongly recommend it. Think of it as Tuscany withouy the airfare!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ganieda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great staff and great wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that Cattail Creek makes my favourite off-dry Riesling. There hasn't been a year that it hasn't been delicious! This wine isn't available in the LCBO so if you like it like we do be sure to pick up a few more bottles then you normally would or be prepare to order it.

We were celebrating a milestone birthday for my husband and planned our own wine tours. We planned to stop at about 8 different vineyards during the day with Cattail Creek being one of the stops. We stopped there to have lunch as well and they really kindly moved the picnic tables under the cover they have on the porch and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and at home. Everyone had an amazing time and loved the wine!! There wasn't a single person in our group of ten that didn't leave without at least a couple bottles of their wine.

To summarize, the wine is delicious and the people are fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Got there at 4:55p, five minutes before closing(which we were unaware of) and were turned away.
Would have appreciated a little better customer service as a Limo was leaving the parking lot as we were turned away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattail Creek Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Cattail Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing