We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Grill on King

Grill on King
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill on King is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and the food superb. This place is worth every bite. if the lambshank is available, it is not to be missed. the grilled calamari appetizer is the best we have EVER eaten.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank swedecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    190
    99
    45
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice meal- menu a bit limited. Great service all staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliverross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big Mistake”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to a restaurant with such appalling service! We stood at the entrance for 10 minutes trying to get someone's attention to ask if they had a spare table. There were 5+ servers and a young girl clearing tables. Finally the girl came over and told us to come back in 15 minutes which we did. We then stood waiting another 10 mins and were shown to table and given menus! More than 30 minutes later and 2 attempts to get our order taken - we walked out! What a shocker! We went to the Irish Pub next door and had great service and a good meal!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank regretnothing1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The kindness of strangers”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My friend and I were caught in a thunderstorm and ran into the Grill on King to ask to use the phone. They were closed, but they kindly called for a cab, which turned out to be unavailable. But then, a young man, an employee of the restaurant, got his car and gave us a ride to our B and B. Well, after that kindness, we just had to eat at the Grill on King the next evening. What a find! Her salad with salmon looked delicious, and my two appetizers -- those of you who are familiar with my reviews will know that's how I eat -- were superb. I had the crab cakes, beautifully presented, with an awesome flavor, and grilled calamari, which was one of the best I've had of this dish. All because of a thunderstorm and the kindness of strangers. Go there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Indifferent service, oily food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A large group of us had a family dinner. The servers were friendly but indifferent: we had to ask for water glasses to be refilled, they did not top up our wine glasses, took forever with the cocktails, they forgot one of the meals, chastised someone for switching seats, and neglected to realize that one person was absent during the ordering (he stepped out for a smoke).
The meals actually caused two of our party to have stomach trouble and nausea due to the oiliness of the food, and the meal served late was cold. On top of all that, it was expensive!
Won't go back. This was our second time there, and while better the first time, still wasn't great even then.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DharmamamaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill on King also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Grill on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing