We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Lackawanna, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I were married in our home, and stayed at the Mary Street Bed and Breakfast for two nights on our honeymoon. The owners, Jamie and John, were the most wonderful hosts possible.
Their place was immaculate, and our room could not have been better. Jamie's breakfasts were absolutely magnificent. Deborah and I both thought the rates were more than reasonable, and we plan on staying there again this coming summer.

We would highly recommend the Mary Street Bed and Breakfast to anyone who wishes to enjoy the Niagara-On-The-Lake experience.

Room Tip: Every room has its own individual charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
151
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just spent a fabulous weekend in NOTL for my husband's 50th birthday. On a friend's recommendation I booked a 2 night stay at Mary Street. A newly opened & operated B&B - with our Hosts Jamie & John - who greeted us warmly on late Friday night. We were promptly invited into the home's common living room space. A bookcase filled with all sorts of books was available, a comfy sofa in the room as well with a Keurig coffee maker with fresh banana bread was available to us any time of the day or night. The hot tub with towels was also a great way to start our night. Our room the Amaryliss Room was large & a super, super comfy bed. The bathroom has a large soaker tub as well as a separate shower. The room is tastefully decorated & bring. Oh & did I mention the fireplace as well - which was especially romantic while sharing a bottle of wine. Our hosts also allowed us use of the fridge drawer to store some wine & cheese as well as getting ice for other beverages.

The property is located appox 3 blocks from the main street of NOTL - & would be a beautiful walk in the good weather.

Our breakfast each morning was freshly prepare fritata & eggs benedict, plus those yummy scones with homemade jellies. (don't pass on these).

Rooms look exactly as they do on their website even down to the clock on the bedside table.
We look forward to our return to Mary Street in the future.

Thanks Jamie & John - it was a pleasure

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magnificient7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at several B&Bs and our experiences have been consistently positive. That being said, I cannot fault this B&B for location, decor, or facilities. The hosts, to our surprise, were not particularly warm or welcoming to us, however. This was the case upon our arrival, during which one of the hosts, John, did not say hello or even acknowledge us. This was also the case during breakfast and checkout during which Jamie was very brief and did not offer any suggestions or the wine-tasting vouchers that we read about on this site. We found this striking because we read such glowing reviews of their hospitality and because we overheard them being very friendly with other guests. The only conclusion that we can think of is that we belong to a visible minority group. Given that our interaction had been nothing but polite, there was no reason for them to behave any differently toward us compared to the other guests.

That being said, the room was relatively clean and we enjoyed use of the Jacuzzi. The decor was pleasant and the room was spacious. The best part of the breakfast was Jamie's homemade jams that went well with the fresh scones. The rest of the breakfast was nothing special, in my opinion. Fritatta was very basic with a bit of fruit and toast on the side.

To be fair, John did offer assistance when we found some insects in our room. Additionally, their email correspondence was very prompt, they were accommodating with a change in our check-in time, and were polite in the brief interactions we had with them.

All in all, the B & B was fine and the price was reasonable. We just feel disappointed based on the other reviews we read for this place and based on our observations of the interactions with other guests. It seems we did not have the same experience and did not feel as welcome. To me, hospitality is part of the B&B experience, and this is the reason for the rating above. I would have given it 2.5 if I could have.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramelitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamier_9, Owner at Mary Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Sorry to have to respond to this most recent review, but Jamie and I could not let it pass without comment. We apologize to the couple if they did not enjoy their stay, and apologize for the ladybug that somehow snuck into their room. As hosts, we do everything we can to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are naturally open and friendly and welcome conversation with all our guests, and go to great lengths to be helpful and informative so that they may experience all of what Niagara-on-the-Lake has to offer.
We take exception to the comment that they believe we were not attentive, or hospitable to them because they were visible minorities. That quite simply was, and is, not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely wonderful from start to finish. My husband and me, my parents and my sister stayed here for two nights. We had the entire house to ourselves. The rooms are immaculately clean, and comfortable. Jamie is wonderful and made us feel right at home. She said to use the fridge in the kitchen so we could store cold drinks and dessert we had purchased. She gave us lots of tasting coupons for the wineries, her recommendation for Zee's Grill was great (lovely food!), freshly baked banana bread left wrapped up in the main area as an afternoon snack for us. Her breakfasts - absolutely wonderful. One morning fritatas, the next eggs benedict. All with fresh fruit. And scones - and homemade jams that (again) were amazing.

I have stayed in different places during several visits to Niagara on the Lake - and this is the best by far. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephK613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was the first time since our four year old was born that my wife and I spent a night away with just the two of us. Our stay at the Mary Street Bed and Breakfast with our hosts Jamie and John could not have been more perfect. They were extremely accommodating from the very beginning by making everything so easy. We came up early on the Saturday, with our bikes, as we planned to tour some of the local wineries. Jamie helped us plan out our bike route and provided us with coupons for free samples or tasting at the wineries we were visiting. We stayed in the Casablanca room which was absolutely lovely. Its huge balcony/deck which stretches along the front of the entire house was a real gem and the large jacuzzi tub all made for a very romantic evening for us. In addition, the rooms are all quite separate from each other (not like most bed and breakfasts) that gave us our own deep sense of privacy and intimacy.

In addition to hosts friendliness and hospitality, Jamie also makes the most amazing homemade jams. Who knew Jam could taste like fresh baked apple pie.

Thank-you Jamie and John for making our weekend the absolute best!

Love!
Bryan and Bonnie
Toronto, Ontario

Room Tip: The Casablanca Room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very nice place and friendly staff. A nice location with a walking distance to everything (mind you, Niagara on the Lake is a really small).

Highly recommended if someone wishes to have a quiet holiday and be taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a wonderful B and B, very clean, well appointed rooms. Loved the Casablanca with the large balcony. Food was fantastic and the hosts were very kind and informative. Close to town a few minute walk or bike ride. Can't wait to go back. You have to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 179 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a short walk to Old Town Niagara where you will find Theatres, Shops, Restaurants and many boutique one of a kind shops to suite everyone. All within minutes of the finest wineries, golf clubs that Niagara has to offer.All of our rooms are on their own floor for complete privacy. All furnished with brand new mattresses and updated furniture. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mary Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing