We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Cape House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Cape House B&B was... well, amazing. We had the best experience and will definitely be coming back soon! It's spotless clean, tastefully decorated, and you get the best service in the world. The owners are incredible people who made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful with all sorts of information. The rooms are amazing, spacious and welcoming. Best beds you'll ever sleep on! Breakfast was more than we could eat and be sure to ask for the home-made Granola, you will never taste something better! Healthy food, beautiful house and amazing people! What more could you ask for! It's conveniently located withing walking distance of many things. The owners told us about a great Pub that's just a five minute walk from the house and serves amazing pizzas for a great price, oh, and they are open late!
All in all we had a wonderful time and will be coming back for our next visit to Niagara-on-the-lake! We only wish we had more time to share with this people in their beautiful home!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Merlot room but really all three rooms look amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review. John and I are so glad that you had a great Bed and Breakfast experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Phyllis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Thank you to John and Phyllis! From the moment we entered Cape House it felt like a 'welcome home'. I have enjoyed staying at B&Bs around the world and found Cape House to be at the top of the list. All the things you are hoping it will be or have were there! Spacious rooms with all the amenities; large ensuite, crisp linens, privacy that you value, yet availability of the hosts (they even ensured we had their personal cell phone number in case we were lost in town!). A short walk to the main street, a variety of restaurants and close to some of the best wineries. Breakfasts were gourmet yet wholesome and filling and were enjoyed by all! Definitely worth staying for just a night or longer for a weekend with friends or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Sue, thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. Hope to see you, your friends and other half's in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Amazing couple owned B&B, close to old town and all the things that you may want to do around Niagara on the lake. Very clean rooms with private washroom (shower/tub) + parking. Highly recommended...
Phyllis & John thanks again for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Cape House. What a beautiful place, even in the drab weather! We arrived and were greeted by Phyllis and John who welcomed us to their B&B. We had a lovely room and we were treated to a bottle of wine to celebrate my husband's birthday. Phyllis and John advised us of a great place to eat before attending a play. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious! They even mailed me and item that I had left behind. We are certainly recommending this B&B to our friends and co-workers.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed in Riesling room for 2 weekend nights, wonderful B&B - emphasis on Both "B"s. Following are the highlights:
- Very clean with charming decors
- Hostess & Host who are fun and professional with great knowledge of NOTL
- Room was great with a private shower, again really appreciate the cleanness
- Location's perfect as we were able to take leisure walk to town and enjoy the quietness
- Great value for the stay, its location, and of course the delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Lil, thanks for the great review. We work hard to make each stay for our guest memorable. Don't forget to check our calendar for your trip to NOTL with your girl friends - cant wait to have you back again. Phyllis & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a wonderful stay. The rooms are bright, beautiful and comfortable. Phyllis and John are a delight. Warm, friendly and incredible chefs. We all appreciated all the little extra touches that helped to make our stay feel like home. Thank you again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineybikergirlBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here with three girlfriends and we could not have been in a better location for our weekend in Niagara On The Lake. From Cape House we easily biked to main street, to several wineries, and to the Shaw theatre, and walked to dinner. Phyllis and John are lovely hosts whose attention to detail make for a very comfortable stay. We had the two rooms on the upper floor where the is also a lounge with comfy seating, fridge, kettle, assorted teas, bottled water, wine glasses and corkscrew. We also made use of the outdoor patio, also fully equipped with glasses, etc, as well as Phyllis' home made bits n bites. Delicious breakfasts, starting with fruit, yogurt and granola (again Phyllis' home made) and ending with a cooked breakfast. Then Phyllis gave us free wine tasting cards for the wineries we were visiting, and a little package of home made brownies one day and cookies the next. All nice details that make Cape House stand out as an excellent B&B.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Manager at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We were so pleased to have you as guests in our home and thank you for such a great review. I'm glad the weather co-operated for your visit and that you were able to get some biking in. Have a great summer and hope to see in again real soon. Phyllis & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape House B&B

Property: Cape House B&B
Address: 1895 Lakeshore Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape House is a beautiful and romantic Cape Cod style home, decorated with casual elegance and situated directly on the wine route in Old Town Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cape House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing