We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in a wonderful little town”
Review of Canterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in a wonderful little town”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. We received a warm welcome from Julie and were more than pleased with the lovely room we had. The Inn is about 3/4 mile from the town centre and we were able to take a stroll down there every day. It was unusually warm for mid-October, enabling us to relax in the garden and enjoy the sunshine. Hope we get to make it back there soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but this is certainly not a noisy neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kettleby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Canterbury for a three day visit every year for the past 16 Years. It is the perfect getaway location for us. Good location, clean and well maintained, friendly and knowledgeable owners and staff. It doesn't get any better. We fully appreciate all their efforts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the second time we have been back to the Canterbury Inn and we love it! Nestled in a residential neighborhood, the country inn has very nice rooms at a reasonable rate, with a continental breakfast included. Only a short walk to the center of town. The proprietors are very helpful with suggestions for dining, etc. We will be back again for sure! Steve & Kathy, Rochester, NY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Canterbury Inn is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Niagara on the Lake. It is off the beaten path a bit, but very walkable to the main theatre and shopping areas. They also allow pets (one of few places in the area which does). I have stayed there twice now and was never disturbed by others' pets.

The breakfast is light, but nice. I encourage you to have a crumpet - especially if you haven't before. There is also a beautiful garden area behind the inn where you can enjoy a quiet place to read or talk, take your breakfast or have a picnic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLB768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Five of us spent 3 days in the lovely Canterbury Inn. Perfect location in a lovely setting, easy walk to the centre of Niagara on the Lake, beautiful backyard garden for enjoying a glass of wine after a day of theatre, shopping,etc. Innkeeper Julie and her husband made a point of making sure our stay was perfect. Excellent continental breakfast. Our one request for a future visit would be a coffee maker in the rooms.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Canterbury Inn in NOTL is the best place to stay while in NOTL. The staff is very friendly and can recommend good places to eat. The owners Julie & Bud are the best. We have been staying there for over 10 years when we make our trip north to Canada to the Shaw. We highly recommend this quaint inn.

Kathy & Joe Webster,NY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place is a short walk away from the busy street, and offers charming rooms, a beautiful garden/fountain in the back, and a spacious room to play pool. Breakfast is simple in the morning - various items to toast, juice, coffee, tea, yogurt - but honestly, there are so many great restaurants in the region, you probably want to save yourself for lunch at a winery. Beds were comfortable, and the wifi was free. Parking in the back too. All in all, a great little inn that is well managed.

Room Tip: There are rooms with fireplaces and rooms with patios. Ours had a patio facing the back and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#42 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paris Guest House
Paris Guest House
#134 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#60 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Inn

Property: Canterbury Inn
Address: 170 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing