We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Inn”
Review of Canterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Inn”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Inn was a good value for your money but we experienced a very strange encounter with strange noises in the late hours that was very upsetting and when we tried to call the night desk we were ignored. There is definitely something odd going on there...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinswins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Canterbury Inn for two nights with our two sons (25 and 31). The location of this hotel is ideal, very easy walking distance from the town where there are numerous good restuarants.
We found the accommodation excellent. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Beautiful garden too!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwards72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over the Labor day weekend.

Service: The Lady at that worked the front desk was really nice and helpful and did little things that stood out. (ex. Put out a plate of cookies at night). She laid out a light breakfast in the morning though we did not take advantage as we had other plans.

Rooms: The room we had was a room with two double beds (because it was the only one left) It was fine. The room and bathroom was spotless. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were soft. There was a ceiling fan to keep you cool if needed. It doesn't have all the frills and gimmicks (like a flat panel TV) you would get in the big chain hotels, but this is not something we cared about. Its also cheaper that the other hotels in the area.

Grounds: The Hotel has a large garden in the back which is well kept and quite beautiful. There is a rock set up with a waterfall. Really nice to sit and relax. There is parking at the front and back, and its free.

Location: The Hotel is not located on the main street. It is about a 10 minute or so walk or a 1 minute drive. We drove and parked the car on a side street for free which was no big deal. This also means though you are away from all the hustle and bustle and traffic which I preferred. It is located next to a little strip mall that also contains the best 'tripadvisor' voted restaurant in the area which is convenient if you are a foodie. There is also a Tim Hortons within a short walking distance if you want a morning coffee.

The only thing I could say about this at all that was bad would be that if you are not physical mobile you would need to get a room on the bottom floor as this is an Inn. No elevators.

Definitely will go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The inn was very nice, clean and quiet! The staff was friendly, the rooms were pretty big and there was no typical "hotel sheet" smell that some beds have! Washrooms were clean and everything seemed well maintained. There seemed to be enough parking for all the guests, and it was a very short drive into the village, to some of the wineries, or to the Falls. The garden was beautiful and guests are free to take their breakfast there.

If you are looking to walk from the Inn to town just be aware that it would take a bit longer than 10 minutes, and after a day of walking around the village or taking a wine tour, MORE walking is something you might not be looking for. But the prices are fair and correspond to the distance it is away from the heart of the village.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iGeorge25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Our group (10 couples) has taken over the Inn at the same time of year for the last 8 years and we couldn't be happier. The men golf or go to the Casino, the women shop, we get together for a matinee play, then dinner, some wine tasting, then a euchre tournament at the Inn...perfect weekend for our group! Katie looks after us every year and is more friend than staff. Looking forward to next year already!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

A lovely Inn. It is spotless, rooms are large and cleaned daily. The decor is welcoming and warm. The garden in the back is gorgeous and guests are welcome to sit in the garden.

The continental breakfast includes pasteries, assortment of breads, muffins, juice, fruit and excellent coffee.

It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to town but you walk by historical houses and beautifully landscaped houses.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We have stayed at the Canterbury Inn every year for the past 10 years. Very nice and cozy. The owners are wonderful.. and Katie at the reception desk and for breakfast is charming and has become like family to us. The Inn is always meticulous... It's a very easy walk to town. If you're looking for simple, clean and reasonable... I would high suggest the Canterbury Inn.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiniCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#42 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
225 reviews
4.2 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paris Guest House
Paris Guest House
#135 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#60 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Inn

Property: Canterbury Inn
Address: 170 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing