We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Finlay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finlay House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at Finlay House whilst touring through Canada. Pam was the perfect hostess - she really has thought of everything. We were served a wonderful breakfast - everything has the personal touch. The location was great as we were able to walk into Niagara On The Lake with it's many shops and restaurants, as well as to Peller Winery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Finlay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Findlay House for 3 nights in July 2013 (our second time there) because it's so well located that you can walk to all the theatres, and restaurants, as well as into town and to the lake front. No need for your car once you get to Niagra-on-the-Lake. It's a small, reasonably priced, personal B & B (only 3 guest rooms), in a private house. Very clean and quiet, serving a delicious breakfast prepared by Pam the owner. We'll return next year for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms have bathrooms en-suite, but one room's bathroom is down the hall.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEWMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very spacious and clean bedroom. Easy walking distance to main shops, theatres and tourist attractions. Pam was very flexible and accommodating to our needs. She respected our privacy but was always there if we needed her. Breakfast was tasty and filling, which meant we often did not need lunch which is atypical for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laji5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from our two night stay at Finlay House with our three teenage children and would strongly recommend this B&B. Pam was a welcoming and helpful host who provided an excellent healthy breakfast.
The location is less than 5 mins walk to the centre of town and in a lovely neighbourhood. The rooms were spacious, tasteful and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RutlandNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

July 2013, my wife and I stayed at the Finlay House for a weekend getaway. Excellent location, room, breakfast, host and price. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests. All three Shaw Festival venues are a short walk away. The "old town" main street (Queen Street) is 3 short blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Finlay House and would recommend it to friends and family. The breakfast each day was delicious and plentiful. Our room was the William Shakespeare on the first floor. Having a private bath instead of ensuite was not a problem. Cannot say enough about the location! If you enjoy walking, you can leave the car and walk to shops, restaurants, entertainment, and the lake. Pam was a great hostess.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent two nights in Finlay House B&B. We chose it because of the good reviews and we were not disapointed. All that was written is true: good location, discreet but very nice and helpful owner,private bathroom, extra clean...
I highly recommand this place.
Corinne from Qatar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinneh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#35 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#85 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#48 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#40 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay House

Address: 8 Nelles St. | PO Box 552, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $125 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay House is a charming B&B celebrating theatre and wine! Come and visit for a while. We are a short 2-3 minute stroll to Queen Street the heart of Niagara on the Lake, the prettiest town in Canada, 0.4Km to Town centre. The Shaw Festival Theatre is also only a couple of blocks away. Our rooms are bright and comfortable and come with all the "mod cons" - flat screen plasma TV's with satellite and HD channels, free WiFi internet, mini fridge, air conditioners (in summer), alarm clocks and hair dryers. We serve a delicious 2-3 course home cooked breakfast for you to enjoy. Free parking. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Finlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing