We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights stay at Finlay House”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Finlay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finlay House
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“2 nights stay at Finlay House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent two nights in Finlay House B&B. We chose it because of the good reviews and we were not disapointed. All that was written is true: good location, discreet but very nice and helpful owner,private bathroom, extra clean...
I highly recommand this place.
Corinne from Qatar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinneh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
116
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlefield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent our first time ever in a bed and breakfast after being a little "shy" and leery about them! As it turned out we had a very lovely stay. This was a clean and neat place and was very accommodating. The walk was a couple blocks from the main street which at times was a welcome change from the hustle and bustle. We enjoyed the walk to town as we passed some lovely little homes with beautiful gardens. The house has a comfortable wrap around porch where we sat after a busy afternoon to enjoy a bit of relaxing and our own beverage.. The room was fresh, clean and comfortable. There was not only an air conditioner but also a separate fan just in case we needed it cooler. The bathroom was attached and the room was cleaner and neater then many hotel rooms. Pam, our host, was adorable. She was sweet and helpful. Breakfast both of the days was served to us and included eggs, yogurt, fruit and fresh tomatoes. It was a great place to stay to enjoy the theatres and also the wineries. We plan to come back. Thanks for an enjoyable stay, Pam. You seem like a friend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in Niagara-on-the-Lake on Saturday in July 2013 and booked the Oscar Wilde room at the Finlay House B&B. The host, Pam, was very friendly and welcoming. The place was very clean and spacious with a private bathroom. It was a 5 min walk from the main street, but in a very quiet neighbourhood. I had proposed earlier in the night and worked with Pam to set up the room with flowers, champagne, and lighting for our return. Make sure to check in before visiting the wineries as they have coupons for complimentary tastings at many of the local vineyards. Great experience, will definitely come back on our next visit!
-H

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is an excellent B&B, short walk to theater, restaurants, and shopping. Quiet and clean, with all you will need. Plenty of parking, which is often a problem in town. Full breakfast included. We will be back...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean5303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Finlay House is a very comfortable B&B. Nicely furnished, spacious rooms, spotless baths. Breakfasts were well prepared and very tasty. Hostess Pam is most hospitable, dedicated to making our stay enjoyable. Location is excellent for attending the Shaw Festival.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with en suite baths are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent a terrific weekend in NOTL and were lucky to pick Finlay house for our accommodation and our first B&B. Pam was very cheerful and accommodating. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. The room was everything that we thought it would be. The house is nicely updated with lots of character and is in a great location - just a couple of blocks to Queen St with shopping and the Theatres. Book it and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela v, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Many thanks for your great review of Finlay House, very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Many thanks Pam! We had a great time & will definitely be back for more!! (Especially the eggs!) Location is great and Pam is so warm and welcoming we felt like we were at home with family, not meeting someone for the first time. Easy 5 minute (max) walk to downtown. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela v, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#35 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#45 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#73 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paris Guest House
Paris Guest House
#135 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay House

Property: Finlay House
Address: 8 Nelles St. | PO Box 552, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay House is a charming B&B celebrating theatre and wine! Come and visit for a while. We are a short 2-3 minute stroll to Queen Street the heart of Niagara on the Lake, the prettiest town in Canada, 0.4Km to Town centre. The Shaw Festival Theatre is also only a couple of blocks away. Our rooms are bright and comfortable and come with all the "mod cons" - flat screen plasma TV's with satellite and HD channels, free WiFi internet, mini fridge, air conditioners (in summer), alarm clocks and hair dryers. We serve a delicious 2-3 course home cooked breakfast for you to enjoy. Free parking. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Finlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing