We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place So Perfect....”
Review of Finlay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlay House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

deserves more than 5 stars. Veteran travelers can always tell a well-run private lodging. Its the subtleties, the cleanliness and the quality of communication. Add the sense that all questions and concerns would addressed and well, Finlay House is just the place. Stephanie and Benoit provide outstanding breakfasts in a town full of B+Bs with great morning meals. Their location is mere minutes to the main drag and the Theatre. We stayed a couple nights and were able to lower our stress levels. Staying at Finlay House helped us to relax, chill and enjoy this picturesque area. We spent the next weekend in Stratford and were struck by how superior the level of service was in NOTL. Finlay House typifies this. It was ideal!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshyan, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Wow! Such high praise indeed! We are ever so pleased that you were able to 'chill and relax' here with us, it is always our pleasure! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

Pleasant decor, very clean, and excellent location. Breakfasts were very nice, with ample food. Stephanie was friendly and helpful but not false or overbearing. The room was nicely appointed with good quality furniture and linens, and the sitting area comfortable and inviting. Only cautions are I'd recommend the rooms with adjoining washrooms, and (oddly) the washroom did not have handsoap. Overall - good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLBawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshyan, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear MLBawn we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our ideally located B&B. It is lovely to hear that you also enjoyed our decor and high end furnishings and linens! I am very sorry that I forgot to put a bar of soap in the washroom! Had I known it was missing I would have gladly replaced it!! ;) Our Chattan room, where you stayed is probably our most popular room based on its affordable rates and ground level location! It is true though that if you prefer an en suite then this room is probably not for you, which is why I make it very clear on our website and confirmation emails that this room has a private bathroom but that it is not in the bedroom. This helps our guests to make informed decisions when booking one of our 3 great rooms!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Finlay house last week to celebrate our two-year anniversary. We had a great time in NOTL going to a play at the Shaw Festival, shopping on King Street, and going to a handful of wineries in the area. The Finlay house was very nice and the owner, Stephanie (sp?) was very kind to us and cooked a great breakfast! Breakfast for the first day included a poached pear with other warm fruit, pancakes, bacon, coffee, and juice. The second day was also good and included fresh granola and fruit with frozen yogurt and cream, eggs benedict, coffee, and juice. The house was within a half mile walk to the Shaw Festival theater and also to King Street where all of the shops are. The room (Stuart) was very clean and included a flat screen TV, king bed, two wine glasses, and a corkscrew. We will definitely return when back in NOTL! - Brian Z, Rochester, NY

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SightSeer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshyan, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear Sightseer25!
Thank you so much for visiting with us! It was a real pleasure to have you! We look forward to warmly welcoming you back!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Fabulous breakfasts, ultra clean room, friendly advice and recommendations, a pleasant 2 minute walk to downtown. We would recommend the Finlay House to anyone.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runoldmanrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very well located B&B - near main drag and within walk of theatres, but quiet and peaceful, with wonderful friendly owner. Beautifully decorated and up to date, and our room (Farquharson) nicely appointed. (I would suggest a reading lamp for reading in bed - this is a commonly missed extra in NOTL B&B's so bring your own book light.). Nice personal Scottish atmosphere with pics of Stephanie's family and Scottish memorabilia. Great breakfast. We'd definitely go again. I have been very impressed with B&B's and Hotels in NOTL (e.g.Davy House, Allison House, Old Bank House), and Finlay House is no exception, and value priced.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etobian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed for two nights and Finlay House and we were all blown away by the quality of our experience. Stephanie was so friendly and welcoming and our room (The Farquharson) was lovely. Big and clean with much needed aircon. The breakfasts were fresh and different using local fruit and it was perfectly located for walking into the main street and tourist area.

We travelled from Scotland, so we particularly enjoyed the Scottish theme throughout. As such we are unlikely to return, but thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshyan, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thanking you kindly Sir :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our two day stay at Findlay House was very enjoyable. The B&B has very nice rooms and Stephanie, the manager-owner, serves an excellent breakfast. The property is located on a quiet street only a few blocks from the theaters, restaurants and shopping. Prices are also reasonable for Niagara-on-the-Lake in peak season.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
600 reviews
6.6 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#42 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
The White House Boutique Bed & B...
#52 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay House

Address: 8 Nelles St. | PO Box 552, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $117 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay House is a charming B&B celebrating theatre and wine! Come and visit for a while. We are a short 2-3 minute stroll to Queen Street the heart of Niagara on the Lake, the prettiest town in Canada, 0.4Km to Town centre. The Shaw Festival Theatre is also only a couple of blocks away. Our rooms are bright and comfortable and come with all the "mod cons" - flat screen plasma TV's with satellite and HD channels, free WiFi internet, mini fridge, air conditioners (in summer), alarm clocks and hair dryers. We serve a delicious 2-3 course home cooked breakfast for you to enjoy. Free parking. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Finlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing