We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Finlay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlay House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This charming bed & breakfast is simply the best at Niagara-on-the-Lake. Stephanie is just so personable and friendly, that my husband & I couldn't have been luckier to find this gem. Fair warning -- we will be back!!! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKO201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshyan, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Thanks MKO201 it was a pleasure meeting you both! and fair warning... we can't wait to see you back again...as long as you don't mind me nattering away again!! ;)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

We spent just one night at Finlay House and had an amazing time!
The B&B is located in a quiet street close to the heart of the village and the host was extremely kind, helpful and friendly. The room (we had the one with twin beds) was quite big and spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable, and the quiet location granted the best quality of sleep. Breakfast was very good.
The place also has wi-fi and a computer for guests - definitely a plus!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloud_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poshyan, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

thanks Cloud- Traveller we are so delighted that you had a great experience with us and that you enjoyed our comfy beds and quiet location! :) a bientot! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The owners were simply wonderful- very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and very nice. Our rooms were very spacious, spotless, and comfortable. The B&B is located on a quiet street, but is perfectly located to head downtown or out to the wineries. The breakfast is delicious too! We don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugghmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Finley House three times and Stephanie has been fantastic. The house is charming and the food is fantastic. Stephanie is very accommodating and sweet. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coldham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stephanie and Finlay House -a surprise last minute find -delightful. A trip to Niagara on the Lake for the Ice Wine Festival made even better with our stay here. Stephanies warmth and genuine engaging spirit ,delicious breakfast treats served with great attention and care, the setting most lovely . Absolutely one of the best B+ B's I have stayed at :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danzante0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I went to Niagara-on-the-Lake for our first time and stayed one night at the Finlay House. It was so great, we wished we had planned to stay longer. The breakfast was hot and delicious. Each guest room had their own table-for-two but you were still able to converse with the other guests if you liked. The house was very comfortable and the rooms were very spacious, updated and clean. Parking was easy and the Finlay House is a short and pleasant 3-5 minute walk down to King Street, the main shopping area. We are definitely planning to return and may make this an annual trip and stay at the Finlay House. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcs1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I took my mom to visit Niagara Falls and had heard that Niagara-on-the-Lake was a beautiful town...it is. But what made our stay a stellar experience was staying at the Finlay House. It is a lovely B&B - how lucky we were that they had space. There is a 1st floor bedroom with its own sparkling, almost new bath (perfect for my 83 year old mom), and two very nice BRs upstairs with flat scene TV, fireplace and private baths. Stephanie is an accomplished cook - breakfast was fantastic. Both Ben and Stephanie are warm, attentive hosts. You feel so comfortable anywhere inside or out (great wide porch). Located just a couple of blocks from Main Street, and next to a park with acres of soccer fields and tennis courts, it is a find. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufftuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#77 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#36 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#8 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paris Guest House
Paris Guest House
#118 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grace House Bed and Breakfast
Grace House Bed and Breakfast
#74 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay House

Address: 8 Nelles St. | PO Box 552, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $97 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay House is a charming B&B celebrating theatre and wine! Come and visit for a while. We are a short 2-3 minute stroll to Queen Street the heart of Niagara on the Lake, the prettiest town in Canada, 0.4Km to Town centre. The Shaw Festival Theatre is also only a couple of blocks away. Our rooms are bright and comfortable and come with all the "mod cons" - flat screen plasma TV's with satellite and HD channels, free WiFi internet, mini fridge, air conditioners (in summer), alarm clocks and hair dryers. We serve a delicious 2-3 course home cooked breakfast for you to enjoy. Free parking. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Finlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing