We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten free bread”

Willow Cakes & Pastries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is hard to say what pastry chef and proprietor Catherine O'Donnell is best known for - her incredible breads, decadent cakes, or her decidedly delicious pastries. Unquestionably, they are all worth the trip to Willow Cakes and Pastries in Niagara-on-the-Lake, christened "a place of pilgrimage for anyone with a sweet tooth" by James Chatto in the LCBO's Food and Drink magazine. Stepping into Willow Cakes and Pastries feels like a trip to the Continent and a European patisserie. Customers experience the feel of both a local bakery and an exquisite boutique - surveying the breads, chocolates, cakes and tarts in gleaming display cases, watching Catherine and her team at work through the viewing window or lingering over coffee and a newspaper. Whether you are in the market for a show stopping wedding cake, a dessert to impress your guests, a gift to be savoured, or a coffee and quick bite on the go, Willow Cakes and Pastries is truly a "must stop shop" in Niagara.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gluten free bread”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This bakery was a short walk from Abacot Hall and I was recommended the Gluten Free bread and Muffins by Ed and Irene. Both items were excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    55
    10
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sweet indulgence”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything I've eaten from the Willow has been excellent - too good in fact! Besides the fabulous pastries, including fresh croissants early each morning, the staff is the best!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I got my wedding cake here a year ago. It cost me $500, I was horrified when I got to my reception and found that it was completely wrong, it was the opposite of what I ordered. On top of that the center of my Calla lilys looked like male genitalia. I will NEVER recommend anyone here.. EVER!!

Jessica Z.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 157JessicaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowCakes, Manager at Willow Cakes & Pastries, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are very sorry that you were not happy with the cake that you received, but unfortunately we were not aware that you had a problem with it at the time. While it is hard to address a problem like this after so much time has passed, we can assure you that we would have done what we could to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gluten Free”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rarely have I found small towns with gluten free bakeries. None of the bakeries on the Queen Street strip seem to carry anything gluten free but Willow's gluten free carrot loaf is SUPERB. They also do gluten free muffins and bread--worth the three minute drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great place for a cup of coffee and a delicious baked good. One of the only places to buy a Birthday cake in NOTL. The aroma will draw you in.

Helpful?
Thank AMKCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Cakes & Pastries also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Willow Cakes & Pastries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing