We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little taste of italy in Canada!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Toscana di Carlotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Toscana di Carlotta
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of italy in Canada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are looking to find a host couple that will welcome you into their home, make you feel comfortable the minute you walk into the door, feed you the most amazing breakfasts, and entertain you with their great stories and conversations.... this is the place to go!
This was my first experience at a B & B... and will now definitely not be my last. My best friend and I celebrated our 40th Birthdays, and were soo happy that we chose this place to stay. What a great few days! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
374
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hosts are three of the kindest and warmest individuals you can hope to meet. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, as well as taking you back in time. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and imaginative.

Love to all!!

Gord & Lorraine

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the perfect weekend get-away from the delicious five course breakfasts to the relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. We stayed in the Botticelli Room and loved it! This B&B is a great location, convenient to walking to all the shops and restaurants in the area. By far the best thing about the place is the wonderful owners (Carlotta & Kash), they made us feel so welcome it was like visiting special friends. Hope we can go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was the first time staying in Niagara-on-the-Lake for my wife and I. Thanks to the other reviews that I had read, we booked our room at La Toscana di Carlotta.
The building is a beautiful historic house from the 1700's; but it is what they have
done with the decor that makes it special. The sitting room and dining area are
decorated with wonderful antiques. We were fortunate to book the Botticelli Room on the main floor, which has its own outdoor access, and is decorated beautifully. The location is great...just a couple of blocks from the main street.
The best parts of our stay though, were our hosts ( Kash & Carlotta) and their
great breakfasts and warm personalities. We've enjoyed some great food at B&B's over the years, but theirs is certainly one of the best....must be Carlotta's recipes from Tuscany. Her husband, Kash, helped with serving breakfast and making everyone feel at home. Their warmth and the decor make this a gem. If we go back to NOTL we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We looked at the upstairs rooms, and while they are very nice also (especially the outdoor balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was in town for a friends Birthday party dinner, at a nearby winery. I had a fabulous stay at La Toscana di Carlotta. I stayed in their newest/nicest Villa-like room on the ground floor and it was unlike anything I have experienced.

I truly felt that I was staying a villa suite, somewhere in Italy or in southern Europe. The finishes of the room, compare to many 5-star hotels that I have stayed at. My favorite features of the room included, the roaring gas fireplace and the spa-like bathroom (with a amazing powerful shower and of course an authentic deep soaking claw-foot tub. Its truly a heavenly space to spend some quality time in. You can even hear the faint clock tower bell chimes, and truly feel like you could be near a piazza somewhere in Tuscany or in southern Europe.

But the best thing about La Toscana di Carlotta is the people that work their. From the hosts (Carlotta & Kash) to Carlotta's beloved mother and Beverly, the housekeeper. All of them, are truly kind, down-to-earth people. Carlotta and Kash are very welcoming and will do anything to make your stay and time in N.O.T.L extra special. Carlotta, was so kind to take me to a local winery and back to her B&B. They both truly go-above-and beyond for their guests (even some 5-star hotels, I have been too, could learn a thing or two about Carlotta's service standards). Nothing is ever too much to ask of them. The gourmet 5-course breakfast is truly authentic and tasty and you will not leave hungry.

I am not a big B&B fan, as I have had many "hit" and "miss" experiences, but this place is truly special, unlike any "B&B" out their, and was totally worth taking the risk of staying at another B&B.

I hope to return to N.O.T.L in late December and will I do, I will only stay at the this hidden gem. This is by far the best place to stay, while in N.O.T.L. Happy travel while in N.O.T.L!

Room Tip: Get the room on the ground floor, with the fireplace and spa-like bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate to spend another weekend at this special place called, La Toscana di Carlotta. During our 3rd trip to this jewel in Niagara on the Lake, we had the pleasure of experiencing the Botticcelli room- Carlotta's newest addition to her B&B. This large, ground floor room with private en-suite bathroom reminded us of our trip to Tuscany in 2010. The Botticcelli room, with a private patio and roaring fireplace, was filled with antique furniture, highlighted by an Italian bed from the 1700s. Botticcelli exudes warmth, romance, and nostaglia with many modern conveniences including a large glass-enclosed shower, claw-foot bath tub, and a towel warmer. We have been visiting NOTL for nearly 20 years, and have stayed at many places including the Queen's Landing and other B&B's. Carlotta and her husband give us many reasons for never staying anywhere else but at their Italian piece of heaven. We have already booked 2 return trips there for 2013. The location is superb (Queen and King st), next to the Irish Harp, yet quiet and convenient to all that NOTL has to offer its lucky visitors. Be ready to enjoy an authentic, multi-course breakfast served with fresh cappuccino every morning. Mille Grazie Carlotta and Kash!!

Room Tip: We have personally stayed in Botticcelli and Brunelleschi. Botticcelli is large and full of special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Monmouth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned after spending 4 nights at La Toscana di Carlotta. This was like home away from home. Carlotta and her husband make their guests feel so welcome. Our room was bright and very comfortable, especially the bed. The B&B is located just off the main street which makes it very easy to get around town on foot. Carlotta's breakfast was wonderful, it kept us full for most of the day. My husband and I really enjoyed talking to Kash and Carlotta and the other guests staying at the time. They seem to attract interesting guests from all over. All I can say is that they are really doing something right. We would love to go back. Tripadvisor was on the money with this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toscana di Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toscana di Carlotta

Property: La Toscana di Carlotta
Address: 255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Toscana di Carlotta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Toscana di Carlotta is a Tuscan-themed B&B in the historic Burns House (Circa 1818) in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake. Enjoy fine Tuscany linen, bath amenities from Chianti, hearty Tuscany breakfast in original Faenza crockery on our front porch; enjoy fresh squeezed fruit juice, crostini, frittata (or Italian deli meats), home-made tort and cappuccinos galore. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, private balcony, coffee maker, flat panel TV, Wi-Fi and individual A/C units (fireplaces in the winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Toscana di Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing