We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATON LOCATION LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Toscana di Carlotta
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“LOCATON LOCATION LOCATION”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

La Toscana di Carlotta is perfectly located in Niagara on the Lake no matter how you want to spend your time (IF you actually can tear youself away from your wonderful hosts, their lovely garden, and the comfortable, elegant, yet HOMEY accommodations!). Whether you want to tour the wine country and the wonderful wineries surrounding Niagara on the Lake, stroll along the waterfront, attend the splendid Shaw Festival productions (one of the venues is just across a parking lot from La Toscana), shop. It is all there, most in easy walking distance. Nothing is a problem (not parking, not where to eat, not how to get a ticket, absolutely nothing).

We just came back from six days and five nights at Niagara on the Lake and already have our reservations for next year. It is hard not to begin counting the days until our next visit. We make it a point to try to stay in B & Bs around the country. This one is the best, mainly because of the wonderful welcome and company of the hosts, Kash and Carlotta (and her mother). It is like being in Florence, Italy and then stepping out into .... well ... whatever we feel like doing.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem, ask for the new - and lovely - Botticelli Room. However, I use a cane and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben050938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
386
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our visit to La Toscana di Carlotta was a must this summer, after we had first spent a delightful night there last summer. The rooms are very tastefully appointed and well equipped. The highlight of our stay, however, is always the warm welcome we receive form Carlotta, her husband Cash, and her mother. It is like visiting with close friends! To top it off, they serve a multi course gourmet Italian breakfast that is worth the experience!! We had stayed in numerous B/B's throughout Ontario and Ireland, and no other place comes close to the warmth and quality of our visits to La Toscana di Carlotta.

Room Tip: Make your reservations well in advance, as their rooms fill up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been coming to Niagara-on-the-Lake for at least 10 years, staying each time at a different bed and breakfast. La Toscana di Carlotta is by far the very best we've encountered so far, and we hope to return next season. The home is graciously and comfortably appointed, the room we stayed in, the Da Vinci, was clean sporting lovely linens a comfortable bed and thoughtful amenities like a coffee maker, fine toiletries from Italy, and good lighting. The breakfasts were excellent, imaginative, and prepared with love. Carlotta is a suburb chef, and Kash a gracious host who knows how to provide interesting morning conversation. The two obviously love what they do, and it shows in the kindness they show their guests. Minutes from all three theaters, La Toscana di Carlotta is the very best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daylilylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed with Carlotta and Kash for the third time, so obviously I find their hospitality wonderful. The house is extremely comfortable; the breakfasts are lavish and delicious, and the hosts are simply remarkable -- friendly, happy, and very generous and accommodating. And then there's Carlotta's mother, whose English is limited but whose kindness is not. And, of course, Maya, the delightful dog, completes the picture. La Toscana di Carlotta rivals the Shaw Festival for charm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is simply the best Bed and Breakfast that we have ever stayed at. Carlotta and Kash made us feel so welcome and were truly interested in who we were and what interested us. Breakfast was exceptional, a delicious 5 course meal and our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable with a nice outside patio where we enjoyed a bottle of wine which we bought.. There is parking available right at the B&B. The location was perfect, just a short walk to all of the theatres and to the main shopping street. We did some winetasting and La Toscana is just a short drive to most of the wineries. We definitely will return to La Toscana for another mini vacation. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronalda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There's not much I can add to all the raving reviews about La Toscana di Carlotta other than to confirm their truth. Last week my wife and I stayed for two memorable nights and were totally delighted not only by the warm welcome from Carlotta and Kash but also by the comfort of our room and the incredibly memorable breakfasts they served. When we return for another visit to Ontario's wine region we will definitely return to La Toscana for another delightful retreat from our hurried life back in Texas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay at La Toscana di Carlotta while visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake and we both agreed it was the best B&B that we ever stayed in. Most of the support for that opinion goes to the wonderful hosts, Carlotta and Kash, who made us feel very welcome and who served the most delicious 5 course Italian breakfast each morning. Breakfast began with fresh fruit and yogurt, followed by homemade bread with jam, followed by delicious Crustinis (small pieces of bread with various toppings), followed by frittatas (different fillings each day), followed by dessert. Incredible. Our room was also delightful and very comfortable. The B&B is located on King St, a short walk to all the shops on Queen St, and there is a great Irish Pub right across the street. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The two rooms that face King St have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toscana di Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toscana di Carlotta

Property: La Toscana di Carlotta
Address: 255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Toscana di Carlotta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Toscana di Carlotta is a Tuscan-themed B&B in the historic Burns House (Circa 1818) in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake. Enjoy fine Tuscany linen, bath amenities from Chianti, hearty Tuscany breakfast served in a part-buffet; part-service style; on our front porch weather permitting; enjoy fresh squeezed fruit juice, crostini, frittata (or Italian deli meats), other baked or cooked Italian dishes; home-made tort and cappuccinos/espressos. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, private balcony, coffee maker, flat panel TV, Wi-Fi and individual A/C units (fireplaces in the winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your La Toscana di Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing