We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room for 2 nights, Hot breakfast for 1 morning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kellar House Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful room for 2 nights, Hot breakfast for 1 morning”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overall had a good experience staying at Kellar House. The room is beautiful and spotless. The bed is incredibly comfortable. The fireplace next to the Jacuzzi tub was a lot of fun. Having our own entrance was great to come and go from town without bothering anyone. Only one disappointment during the entire stay. We had read many reviews about the amazing breakfasts brought up to the room each morning and on our first morning were eagerly anticipating this. When it became later and later we weren't sure what to do and so we went down to the front door and knocked only to wake up Ed who then told us that when they have guests for 2 nights that they do a continental breakfast the first morning and a hot breakfast the second morning. Embarrassed, we apologized and headed back to the room where day old pastries, cold cereal, yogurt and orange juice awaited us. Nothing on the website or in the room alerted us to this "first morning continental breakfast". The following morning we did have a delicious hot breakfast with croissants and frittata. In the end we thought the room was fantastic but the confusion over the breakfasts will prevent us from wanting to return. However, if a continental breakfast at a B&B doesn't bother you, then for all other reasons this place is truly special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acastle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We would like to thank our hosts (Rhonda & Ed) for making our stay at Kellar House the best romantic getaway we have ever had! It was very relaxing & comfortable. The rooms have everything you need & are spotlessly clean. We loved having our own entrance & found the king bed extremely comfortable. Kudos to the chef! The breakfast quiches were delicious & having everything brought up to the room was very nice. We found our hosts to be very friendly & accommodating. They made some excellent recommendations on where to go & eat, and even suggested a couple of tours that some of their other guests had recommended. All in all, it was one of the best long weekends we have ever had! (We highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay when you're in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We intend to make our way back again in the new year.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaRa_Mo0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

As one said "Home is where the Heart is" and my heart is in the the Kellar House. The owners, Ed & Rhonda are gracious hospitable hosts. They made feel like a "Petit Prince". They have a uniquely beautiful place. The rooms are cozy, comfortably decorated and immaculately clean. The super comfy king-size bed with the fine linens gave me few extra hours of rest. I also spent two hours soaking in the private jaccuzzi.
"La cerise sur le gateau" was the exquisite and delicious breakfast including some butter croissant, egg fritata with hot french toast spread with some salted french butter. All served with a glass of fresh and 100% natural orange juice. Rhonda is a "Grand Chef"!
Ed & Rhonda delighted me with this amazing customer experience. As a world traveler and a demanding customer, not only do I recommend the Kellar House to anyone but I will go again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Jacques_14580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here recently and found this B&B to be very accommodating and exceeded our expectations. The owners were friendly and catered to all our needs. The room was well setup and found the jacuzzi and fireplace the perfect romantic setting to re-quaint ourselves. The breakfast was delicious hot out of the oven delivered to our room. Looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have to say this is one of our best getaways we have ever experienced and we owe a lot to this lovely B&B. The accommodations were perfect as it had everything and more than we expected. Hats off to the chef as the crepes we had brought to our room was delicious. Our hosts Rhonda and Ed were very helpful in helping us find some great restaurants and wine tours to try. We also on their recommendation tried walking trails and had a great trek through the parks and trails of Niagara. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We would like to thank our hosts for making our stay at Kellar House the perfect romantic getaway we have ever stayed in. It was very relaxing and comfortable. The rooms have everything you need and are spotlessly clean. We loved having our own entrance and found the king bed was very comfortable. Hats off to the chef! The breakfast was delicious and having it bed was very nice. We found our hosts were friendly and accommodating. They made some excellent recommendations on where to go and eat. Our stay went by so fast but we will have to return back soon again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose to stay at Kellar House, after considering many other places in the area, and we're so glad we made this choice. The room is super comfortable and private. Ed and Rhonda were so thoughtful - accommodating our vegan diet with the most delicious alternative options. They were also very accessible if we had any questions or concerns. We had come there to spend some quality time together, and relax - and everything about Kellar House made that possible. Highly recommend the place to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Via Veneto
Via Veneto
#42 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#36 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#74 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
DownHome Bed and Breakfast
DownHome Bed and Breakfast
#143 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellar House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellar House Guest House

Property: Kellar House Guest House
Address: 90 Mary St | PO Box 1962, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kellar House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kellar House Bed And Breakfast Offers Guests Elegant Accommodations with an Emphasis On Romance and The Privacy of a Hotel. The perfect B&B for celebrating any occasion. Each suites offers Separate and Private Guest Entrances. Beautiful Jacuzzi Tub for Two. Romantic thermostat controlled Gas Fireplace. Comfortable King Size Bed. Quiet In room self controlled ductless air conditioning. Hot Delicious Breakfast provided in the privacy of your room. 32 inch LCD TV with cable, DVD movies and wireless internet.Full private, en-suite bath with plush bathrobes.In room Kitchenette with fridge, coffee maker, microwave. Outdoor deck for lounging.Just a 10 minute walk to Downtown Queen Street. Drive or walk to all the nearby Shaw Festival theaters, World renown Wineries and Vineyards, Top rated hiking and bike trails or take a spectacular horse drawn carriage ride through Canada's prettiest town. For added excitement Niagara Falls Main Attractions are only a 30 minute drive from here. Whatever your plans your Hosts, Rhonda and Ed will do their best to ensure that your stay will be comfortable as well as memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Kellar House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing