We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zees Grill

Zees Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Zees Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Zees Grill at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is a Niagara-on-the-Lake hot spot, featuring classic nostalgic food updated with a whimsical twist. Across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and with the largest patio in Niagara, every detail of this exciting restaurant will surely tickle your senses and tantalize your taste buds. Our award-winning chef has created an array of dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive. At Zees, fine dining meets fun dining.
Lancashire,England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely food. Nice terrace to sit out. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices. Close to the Shaw Theatre and the main town area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morph65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Awesome review, thank you from the Zees Grill staff! I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    412
    177
    46
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
354 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice patio - good food choices ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Shaw Club hotel and decided to eat at the restaurant attached called Zees. The service was good and the food came quickly. The lobster poutine was good yet very rich. They had many other options for people who like meat as well as vegetarians/vegans. All in all a good choice when in the NOTL area.

Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I ate here. We made a reservation as we heard it gets very busy on the weekend. We sat partially outdoors on their veranda which was really nice. The food was excellent and so was the service.
We shared the cheese platter and the caesar salad to start. Cheese platter was really good - the jellies and spreads next to each cheese really complemented each one. I have to say that was one of the best ceasers - the dressing was delicious, and they made it so unique - there was deep fried balls of roasted garlic, and beer battered anchovies! I have never liked an anchovy but I can't say that now.
My husband had the burger and really enjoyed it. I had the tuna loin - this is something I order a lot in restaurants, and this was one of the best I've ever had. There is a lot of flavour and items on the plate, but it all balanced and tasted so great together.
The prices aren't cheap but they aren't crazy either - I think it is very reasonable considering the quality of food. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good, not great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is one of those restaurants that's frustratingly close to great. We show up with five people and they try to seat us at a crowded table when a larger one is available.... but graciously seat us at the larger one when we point it out. The seared albacore tuna in nori was fantastic both visually and in terms of taste, but atop so many ingredients and sauces that you didn't know how they really wanted you to eat it. The lobster putine (their calling card) is good, but the cheese curds are not the best and the fries tasted like they were only once (rather than twice) fried. Little things separate good from great; this is very good, but could be better with a little more care about the standards it seeks to achieve.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on reviews. The service and atmosphere were good, but in our opinions the food quality didn't meet our expectations and the value wasn't there.

We had dinner on the patio and were accommodated without reservations. The service was attentive and we enjoyed the patio.

The food was ok, but we found the soba noodle dish (I forget the actual name...) to be quite salty. We weren't expecting outstanding food quality, but for the quality & quantity served we thought the prices were a bit high.

Overall it wasn't a bad experience, but next time we're in Niagara we'll try a different place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zees Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Zees Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing