We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zees Grill

Zees Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Zees Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Zees Grill at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is a Niagara-on-the-Lake hot spot, featuring classic nostalgic food updated with a whimsical twist. Across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and with the largest patio in Niagara, every detail of this exciting restaurant will surely tickle your senses and tantalize your taste buds. Our award-winning chef has created an array of dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive. At Zees, fine dining meets fun dining.
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am so mad that I can't remember the name of our wonderful server as she was part of what made this dinner so lovely before going to see some 'Shaw for the evening'. As pre-theatre..I've never had someone pace a dinner so it felt like it was the event of the night with plenty of time between courses and constantly paying attention and still getting you out at a comfortable time to get to your show for the evening. We would have dined outside but it was very still warm from the day and also very humid so we opted for the lovely sleek yet informal dining-room. Actually…that is what makes 'Zees' special. the quality of the food and the service is TOPS and yet it is very informal which is my personal preference. We had the house Sauvignon Blanc from the region in a carafe and it was delicious and I know a thing or too about wine spending a lot of the year in France. Excellent and reasonable. You must try the house salad which is chock full of local sourced vegetables including many unique surprises like yellow beets and root vegetables along with what you would expect. It was delicious. The bread was also made 'on premise' and very tasty. My partner had the fresh Salmon cooked with Quinoa, leeks and chick peas in a light vegetable sauce and he loved this dish. I had the special of whole wheat pasta with a fresh tomato sauce with basil and two giant ..i mean GIANT shrimp. We wanted to save room for ice cream after the theatre but if not….they all looked delicious as they passed our table. One of our favorite meals on this trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to share your experience at Zees with us. I am happy to hear you were not only enjoying the food but the service. We are lucky to have such an amazing knowledge staff. The salmon is a great summer dish, good choice! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Niagara on the Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    412
    176
    46
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Flys are every where”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went there and had lunch cuz we read the reviews. The food was expensive. My friend ordered a steak. It was literally 3 bites and it cost 20 dollars. We ate indoor, there were SO MANY FLYS flying around. We complained to a manager-like lady. She just said, she couldn't fix this. She thought they were annoying, too. And then she just left without any apology. If you want to spend money to eat your meals with bunch of flys... Go there. We had a very bad experience there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ho-Hsin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate all feedback and are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your lunch. We’re also sorry you were bothered by the flies. As one of the fruit capitals of the country, Niagara-on-the-Lake does tend to get quite a few fruit flies and other flying insects during the growing season and any open-air establishment in town like Zees faces similar issues. If you are sensitive to this, please consider joining us either earlier or later in the year as this is never an issue when fruit isn't on the vines and trees. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

On our weekend stay at Shaw Club Hotel we had one breakfast and a lunch at their restaurant Zees, both times seated outdoors on the covered patio. It's a lovely leafy setting this time of year. The service was truly outstanding; we interacted with several wait staff and the hostess, and they couldn't have been more warm or attentive, frequently checking in with us to make sure we were enjoying each dish. Such genuine smiles, too!

The food was well above average. For lunch my fiancée had their lobster poutine, which is a signature dish at celebrity chef Chuck Hughes' restaurant Garde Manger in our home town of Montreal, and both of us agreed Zees' take on this was superior. My main lunch course was the beef rib eye cap steak, well seared on the outside and still rare as ordered inside, and nicely complemented by truffled potato gratin, roasted cauliflower and crispy kale. I also recommend their strawberry and watermelon salad, perfect for a hot summer's day.

Portion sizes were ideal from our perspective, though I can imagine some guests used to super-sized meals might find them small. No complaints here about the prices, which seemed perfectly reasonable to me (e.g., $12 for the watermelon salad, $20 for the steak).

Note that this is a popular place right next to the Shaw Festival Theatre, so on show days you should definitely make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Theater outing lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Repeating a tradition, we ordered a lunch at Zee's prior to going to a Shaw Theater play. Seated outside only across from the theater, this location is perfect not to be hurried. We were promptly seated at a covered patio table we viewed and requested. Cold water and menu service was prompt and pleasant. Naan vegetarian pizza and a Thai pulled pork wrap, with a cauliflower soup side were selected as a light fare. Shared in a taste test between us, we gave high grades to presentation and flavor of the dishes. With the possibility of a thunderstorm, a continuing flow of customers were turned away from amply outside seating under umbrellas in case rain did come. We were spared the rain, but I saw how the management looked after their customers care over potential lunch revenues. And that is why we will be back, again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“excellent lunch, disappointing dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We went to Zees and had a great lunch, sitting out on the patio with a nice breeze blowing, and enjoying excellent service from a friendly and attentive waitress. We shared a delicious strawberry and watermelon salad and their excellent cheese tray, which included three different kinds of tasty cheese, several different and interesting toppings, toasted pecans, etc. It was all attractively presented. The fruit in the salad was very fresh and flavorful. The waitress checked back on us several times and answered all our questions. We came for dinner a few nights later with our two friends, and were happy to be so close to the Festival Theater where we were going to attend the evening play. Our experience for dinner was not a happy one. We were not greeted very cordially; all the servers seemed to be in a fluster and we had to search around for our friends on our own, although they had entered and told the people that we all had a reservation (in our name). Our waiter seemed indifferent to us from start to finish. We saw very little of him. My husband and I shared a salad and had to split it ourselves, so a few things made the table a little messy as we tried to divide it. But after we finished and waited for our dessert, no one wiped off our table. The drinks and desserts for three of us arrived, but the dessert for our other friend did not appear. No waiter was near by nor came to check. We finally flagged down a staff member and said our friend was still waiting for his dessert. The person looked flustered, left, and never reappeared. Finally our waiter happened to pass by and we were able to point out that our friend didn't have his dessert. The waiter finally brought it (after the rest of us had finished) with only a cursory apology. My dessert was a lemon something that was melting by the time I got it and not very tasty. My friend did enjoy her pasta dish. Generally, we were disappointed after the very good reviews we had read of Zees. Based on our lunch experience alone, I would however have rated the restaurant a 5, but I doubt we will return as I felt at dinner we were not very happily received by the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zees Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Zees Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing