We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zees Grill

Zees Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Zees Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Zees Grill at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is a Niagara-on-the-Lake hot spot, featuring classic nostalgic food updated with a whimsical twist. Across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and with the largest patio in Niagara, every detail of this exciting restaurant will surely tickle your senses and tantalize your taste buds. Our award-winning chef has created an array of dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive. At Zees, fine dining meets fun dining.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

One visit is not enough to enjoy all of the terrific dishes on the menu, so we are planning to come back next year! My husband had the Rib Eye Steak (med. rare) and reluctantly gave me a bite to try because he wanted to keep it all to himself! Make no mistake though, this was not a country style steak joint. It was served on a cauliflower puree, which he almost cried about, and he won't eat cauliflower at home! My meal was the butternut squash salad from the appetizers because I just wasn't that hungry, but I regret not ordering that and the steak for myself! It really is an appetizer size dish. The salad was a light mix of greens overtop sweet, roasted squash, with salty, crispy ham chunks (like a dry, thick bacon, but not chewy). The "I want to lick the plate" dressing, complimented all the ingredients. Service was impeccable; as I said, we will be back. Make reservations so you don't miss out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randallarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Wow, what a great review, thank you! I too think the rib eye is one of the most delicious dishes on our menu. Chef and his team never disappoint when it comes to unique flavors, the squash salad is a great choice. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    414
    177
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, cozy place with really good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice restaurant. I didn't have a reservation and wasn't able to eat on the patio (thanks to the Shaw Festival) but the inside was nice so I didn't mind. The place has ambiance. The lamb burger is very good. A little spicy for my taste but those with normal taste buds will love it. The wine was very good of course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review. The lamb burger does have a little kick so I was glad to hear you were able to enjoy some great local wines to accompany it! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Niagara on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner before the show.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at Zee's Grill as part of a recent visit to N-O-T-L. It was easy to make our reservation on line; it worked perfectly and we received confirmation and reminders. The service was impeccable and prompt. The food was delicious and nicely presented. Overall, although a bit pricey, Zee's is a place we would recommend for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaYaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and the wonderful compliments. Chef and his team at Zees pride themselves on serving the freshest local ingredients and making everything from scratch. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner and invite you to join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant near the Festival Theatre. Fortunately, this restaurant was very close and also had great food. The food was also great. It might have been a bit overpriced, but just a bit. The most important thing is that the food was top notch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben789789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner. Chef Jason Dobbie and his team create the most amazing dishes which are all made from scratch and fresh daily. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Zees and The Shaw Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“As good as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had another great experience. Cold wet night, however patio was very comfortable. Whitefish was delicious, service prompt and absolutely a great experience, again! Well done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank onthego802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Awesome review, thank you! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the white fish which is brand new from our fall dinner menu, it is amazing. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zees Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Zees Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing