We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not exactly what I expected”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Fallsview Embassy Suites
Ranked #25 of 553 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $101
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not exactly what I expected”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not exactly what I expected. Food was ok. Service could be better. Busy place and understaffed. Can't blame the servers as they seem trying their best to keep up. You don't go to a restaurant for food only, but for an experience. I think that was compromised in this visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Preethbi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,775
    1,224
    580
    253
    141
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and service”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Keg has a great menu. Service was friendly and attentive. We did not need to wait for anything. The food was well prepared and presented.
Totally satisfied.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazee4trains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not completely satisfied”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have eaten here a few times a year since it opened, and we always have the same complaint....you never get seated upon arrival. They do not accept reservations on weekends, so it goes without saying you must be patient and expect to wait for a table. However when I make a reservation for a special occasion during the week, and I have to wait any where from 15 to 30 min. for the table I reserved, I am not a happy camper. This has happened every single time I have been to this restaurant, whether it is a table for 4 or 10 people. When finally seated we are offered a free appetizer for our inconvenience, however, I would have much preferred to have been seated at the reserved time, instead of standing in the lobby..It really tarnishes the start of the evening.
As far as the steak goes, it is tasty and well presented, but no better than any other steak house in Ottawa for the money.
I will only return here when I have to attend as a guest of someone else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Overrated. Steak at Arthur's is a lot better.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Paying more than CAD$100 per order is overrated for a kind of steak that I dream to eat. It would have been better if just bought the triple A steak at Costco and cook it at home.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank monsiserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Steak”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited the Keg in October so I suspect the crowd was less that it would be in June-September. My wife and I have two different cuts of steak and both were pretty darn good. Not the best I have ever had in my life but pretty darn good. I do travel frequently for business so I probably get more opportunities to taste good steaks than the average tourist traveler.

Some would consider the Keg to be expensive. Prices were what I expected. As with all the dining places in this area, plan ahead, make a reservation or plan on waiting for some time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyFishing4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Fallsview Embassy Suites also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Fallsview Embassy Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing